We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cortijo Canada del Reguero

This property has multiple rentals:
Solar Heated Pool and Terrace
Solar Heated Pool and Terrace
Solar Heated Pool and Terrace
The cortijo and pool
Cortijo lounge with wood burning stove
Breakfast on one of the terraces with amazing views
Dining room
Capileira
|
Rental Home – 
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tom H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Magnifico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 for a stay in July 2012

Our stay in this sumptuous villa was absolutely spell binding. The views over the Sierra Nevada mountain range are impressive and the location is so high up that some in our group were even able to see Morocco across the sun-kissed Mediterranean as we splashed about in the pool. The purple cushions were also a welcome addition.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The view of Morocco
Liked least: Ben Rutledge
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
RuttersRu...
Phnom Penh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic canada del reguero”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2013

I have twice stayed at the canada del reguero with friends and had a fantastic time on both occasions. Capileira is a lovely little town with some great places to eat. The house provides easy access to the rest of the Sierra Nevada National Park - we really enjoyed the climb up Mulhacen whilst lazier members of the group stayed relaxing by the pool. The house itself is very homely and comfy and has amazing views over the coast line. Highly recommended! Great escape.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2014
Thank you for you lovely comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Ted789
London
1 review
“Charming atmospheric cortijo in a great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 for a stay in September 2013

Warm informal place with lots of charm perched above Capilera. Nice pool and great walks and horseriding in the Sierra Nevada. Good eating options in the village and great place to escape and relax. Apparently on a clear day you can see Morocco. Highly recommended

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
JonB2015
1 review
“So good we went back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 for a stay in September 2013

Stunning views and a lovely location make this an incredibly peaceful retreat for a small group. Would definitely recommend

5 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
GingerFox...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Paradise in the mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2013

Breakfast on the terrace over looking the mountains, swimming the afternoon away in the pool, drinking wine on the veranda into the evening... this was utter luxury! Came here with a group of friends - loads of room for everyone, great kitchen facilities, and it felt like a real home away from home. We loved walking in the hills nearby, visiting nearby beaches, and walking into town for delicious dinners - but mostly we just lapped up the luxury of our villa. Highly recommended!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: the views and homely feel
Liked least: that i don't live here!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2014
Thank you for your great review for our cortijo, Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
peb747
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“First class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We stayed at the cortijo for 2 weeks and the weather was very good throughout. The cortijo is really very good, was nice and clean (thankyou Lynn) and has all the facilities you might need. And the location is wonderful with views down the valley, of the mountains and even the Med. Photos on the websites for the cortijo are accurate!! Plenty of walks of varying difficulties in the area, saw 30+ different birds. Nearby village Capilliera and within walking distance (builds leg muscles!!) and has various shops, etc. Altogether a really good time was had by both of us.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location + facilities
Liked least: Nothing really
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
aju_uk
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best villas we've ever stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Mountain Cortijo is easily one of the best villas myself and my wife have ever stayed in on the Spanish mainland. The combination of sun, mountains and absolute isolation is to be savoured; the silence except for the birds and insects is just sublime.

The villa is situated higher than anywhere in the UK and just viewing the stars in the darkness of the night is an experience to behold. We never realised just how many stars there are in the sky (shame the camera was not up to photographing it). The darkness took a bit of getting used to as the moon was not visible at the time we were there, but thankfully the torches provided prevented us from injuring ourselves.

The path up to the villa was a bit tricky with our little corsa hire car but we made it in the end. The fact there were a few holes in the road made us stay at the villa and only venture into the village once. Just eating and drink the spanish way is to be recommended. Fortunately we got supplies at el campo in Motril on our way up the mountain so the cellar was not dry.

All in all the Mountain Cortijo, and Capileira lived up to expectations and then some.

A big thanks must got to Mike and Lucy for allowing us to stay in this wonderful place.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Has to be the view of the stars at night, never seen anything quite like it before
Liked least: The road up to the villa was interested to say the least. Thankfully it wasn't raining
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$1,967
/ Week
Make Inquiry
this property has payment protection
Owner
Lucy H
Speaks English, Spanish
Listed since : Feb 2007
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing