We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly memorable experience that will stay will me forever, can't wait to go back there” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caballo Blanco Trekking Centre

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lanjaron
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caballo Blanco Trekking Centre
Save
You added Caballo Blanco Trekking Centre to your Saves list
Cortijo La Chaparra, Aptdo - 17, | Lista De Correos, Lanjaron, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Truly memorable experience that will stay will me forever, can't wait to go back there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

I would like to say that I had the most amazing 2 weeks of my life at Caballo Blanco, the horses and animals were lovely and well cared for, accommodation is basic but contrary to another reviewer, i can categorically say that the IS a toilet block at the centre. In addition to this, if you are booking a trekking holiday surely you don't expect to have 'toilet facilities' when camping in a forest on the side of a mountain?! I can wholeheartly recommend Caballo Blanco to anyone who is a horse lover and guarantee a fantastic experience to which I didnt want to return home to England afterwards. I booked my 2nd visit within a week of coming home.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    4
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
5
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
maidstone
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

This is a really beautiful place to stay up in the mountains. I only spent a week here, but already felt at home with the really friendly owners and their kids. I'd hardly ridden before, so it was great to be able to go out on a few different horses, and get a lesson from sarah. The work is fun and varied, i came back to england feeling very healthy, tanned and a bit slimmer! Highly recommended to anyone who wants to ride or just spend some time in the outdoors.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

Riding for 7 days on the Alpujarra Trail up to 2,300 metres has been one of the best highs we've ever had. & we've travelled world-wide. The horses are beautiful, sensitive to the rider and willing. The Centre is capably managed by Sarah Veresy extremely experienced horsewoman and wonderful guide. All food and accommofdation was seamlessly provided. We stayed in whitewashed 'cassitas' , one with swimming pool, all with hot showers, kitchens, soft beds, wood heaters and excellent cuisine, much local & organic, topped off with tres quaffable vino tinto! From the minute we were collected from Grandada airport till we delivered back to our hotel, we were happy. The blues set in when we had to turn homeward! By the way, the new throne (toilet) is 5 star. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

When you visit the Caballo Blanco Trekking Centre you go there to enjoy the nature, horses, dogs, cats and lovely people. I agree the location is remote and basic, but that makes the holiday experience even more charming! Its nice to be away from the hectic life most people live at home and to realise you don’t need many luxuries to enjoy your holiday! Anyway......most importantly the horse riding is amazing and the horses are extremely fit (unbelievable how steep they can go up and down the mountain!). The surroundings are fantastic and the staff is lovely and makes you feel very welcome!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sitting room
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

We went for a weeks ride with Sarah at Caballo Blanco and what a week.

It’s an overused cliché but that part of Spain is breathtaking and I cant imagine a better way to see it and breathe it in than on horseback.

Sarah arranged our accommodation with Anne at Casa del Viento and it was lovely. A perfect place to lay a weary, but happy head. And Anne can really cook!!

As an ex-trail guide myself I had very high expectations and they were surpassed by Sarah. She has an understanding with her much-loved horses that is rare and refreshing. It’s a real treat for a seasoned rider to be able to enjoy Sarah’s beautifully schooled horses and as such I was a little nervous in case it was less fun for my non-rider husband. Not so, Sarah exudes confidence to learner riders as do her well-behaved horses. As a result my non-rider husband is a convert (and a bit of a cowboy!). Well done Sarah!

Sarah is obviously an imposter because horse-women of her calibre aren’t supposed to be that friendly and socialised!!

We’ve been back several times and will continue to do so to enjoy the beautiful mountains on her responsive, surefooted and trustworthy horses.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nijmegen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

i had a great experience at Caballo Blanco trekking centre. The horses are in great condition and there is a horse to suit every riders needs. the view from the mountain is great. it is a basic accomodation but if you prefer horses it will be no problem. the owner, Sarah, is really nice she tries to help you as good as possible. she works very hard to make sure that guests are having a good time i think that is more important than the toilet or the accomodation, . i am a volunteer at the ranch and i really like to be there.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

I stayed at Caballo Blanco for three weeks as part of a working holiday and loved every minute of it. It is not designed as luxury hotel sit-on-your-backside holiday but instead you take part in every aspect of looking after the horses and you live the same way the owners do. They make you feel part of their family and essentially invite you into their home for the time you are there and getting that involved really helps you make the most of your experience. You share facilities with the family so you have everything you could need for your stay. Everything is run in the most environmenally friendly way possible hence the organic compost loo which as far as I'm concerned is brilliant, completely hygienic and not many toilets could boast such an impressive view of the valley!

The people I met, both Sarah, the Caballo Blanco family and other working holiday participants became good friends within a short space of time. The many animals they had were all so friendly and provided an endless source of entertainment, especially RIngo, the fetch-obsessed Alsatian.

The rides you go on are really enjoyable, with a large selection of horses, each with their own character, meaning you will always get a good match for your level of ability. They have a variety of routes you can do around the mountain, each with it's own amazing view.

The stables are in an isloated location which is exactly what I loved, being back with nature and the best way to get such incredible views of the surrounding area by being so high up! However, it is not too isolated to allow you to enjoy trips to Granada, Orgiva and Malaga if you want, all of which I did.

Staying at Caballa Blanco for a working holiday is a unique experience and the more you put into it the more you will get out of it. I am already planning to go back!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caballo Blanco Trekking Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caballo Blanco Trekking Centre

Address: Cortijo La Chaparra, Aptdo - 17, | Lista De Correos, Lanjaron, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Lanjaron
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Lanjaron
Number of rooms: 18

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caballo Blanco Trekking Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.