We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my secret gem in the Alpujarra” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alcadima Hotel Granada

Save Saved
You added Alcadima Hotel Granada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alcadima Hotel Granada
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Francisco Tarrega, 3, 18420 Lanjaron, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Lanjaron
birmingham
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“my secret gem in the Alpujarra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

what a place to find after a 2+ hour transfer from Malaga.
The night porter escorted me to my room
Along with the advertised wine, they had plated me a lovely salad
The room was well laid out and the air conditioning modern and functioning.
I awoke in the morning to see a very beautiful and well laid out hotel and grounds with delightful courtyards and well tended flower beds; there was a complete air of calm and tranquillity about the place. The owner and his family are complete hands on and really do care about their clientele. This was proved on the Tuesday when I was out walking and twisted my ankle. In broken Spanish, I managed to call the hotel who called me back and they sent out someone to pick me up. They then continued to check I was ok on my return and when in the evening my ankle had swollen quite badly, rallied around for anti inflammatory to ease my suffering. The next morning they even took me up to the doctors and stayed with me and helped in the translation. In effect they really did take care of me. It was then a pleasant surprise to find a bottle of Cava in the room on my last evening, a gesture I think from them as I had been ‘hotel bound’ for the whole of my stay.
Let me please just mention the food. It was stunning. From the well presented and varied buffet breakfast to the presentation and flavour of the lunch/evening meals and the well trained staff, I could not have wished for better from a 5 star hotel. This hotel is a complete gem.

I will not hesitate to stay here again and will recommend the Alcadema to anyone who will listen

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    27
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
53
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

Lanjaron - Hotel Alcadima 1/6/2009
HOTEL- Fantastic oldy worldy comfy gem overlooking the Sierra Nevada Mountains, incredible views, beautiful flowery courtyards surrounding great outdoor pool [has indoor pool but did not use ] bring own towels for sunbeds or buy one at reception for 5 Eu.
Library, reading room, internet, tennis court, childrens pool & play area slide etc, soft sunbeds/deckchairs/umbrellas.
ROOM - Cupboards & drawer space plentiful, hairdryer safe,, tea/coffee facilities, TV - BBC fuzzy picture but great for getting news from home. Comfy bed, sofa, balcony with table/chairs overlooking pool. Shower over hip bath, clean towels daily.
FOOD - Wonderful, we were half board, breakfast - cereals, fresh melon/pineapple/kiwifruit, tinned peaches,fruit cocktail. Fruit juices, lovely coffee,fresh bread rolls,pates, jams,honey, cakes etc. Scrambled egg,chipolata sausage, beans,tomatoes, mushrooms,bacon. Cheeses & ham. - Dinner - Great choices & delicious. Restaurant available for lunches & snacks.
WATER - Can boil Hotel tap water for drinks but not advisable to drink, this is a Spa town and there are many drinkable tap areas to top up water bottles around town, POTABLE sign means OK.
STAFF - Very freindly & helpful, mainly Spanish speaking but with enough English to get us by.
LOCAL AMENITIES - A main street with usual shops selling pottery, shoes, clothes etc. Check out the SPAR shop which sells everything we had forgotten to bring plus great wines etc.
Wander through the backstreets partic near the church square & view the cannon gun, take the walk through the forest to the old castle and experience the waterfalls & views, Info in folder in room or at reception. This felt like a very safe enclosed family freindly environment with cafes & restaurants aplenty for its size.
I would def rcommend it for Families, Honeymooners and all who love walking & scenery. For further info contact me, Holl.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

We have recently returned from a walking holiday with Page & Moy based in the Alcadima hotel. The holiday was wonderful, the hotel was perfectly situated and the staff friendly, efficient and helpful. However the hotel is let down by the standard of the rooms which if they are all like ours need urgent refurbishment.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2008

There are many things I like about the hotel and I'd stayed several times in the past. The views are fantastic, nice clean pool and food is good. Some rooms - the more expensive doubles - are fine, but the economic doubles are very dark and dingy. However, my main problem with the hotel is that staff are cordial and stiffly polite but quite obviously don't really want guests! There is one exception, a young woman on reception called Cathy, is very welcoming, helpful and friendly. So I wouldn't want her classified with the rest.

  • Liked — Food and pool are good, location is very beautiful.
  • Disliked — Cheaper rooms are small and dark.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

I had booked this holiday without seeing the reviews on your website. When I did I became quite concerned that the Hotel would not be up to our expectations. I had booked through Thomsons and it had rated 100% in all of their three categories. When we arrived we had a welcome tray of a small bottle of wine and nibbles. I understand that guests who arrived in the early hours of the morning had also received welcome platters. When we looked around the hotel prior to going down to dinner we were extremely pleased. The Hotel is clean, well maintained and the setting at the rear where the pool and bar area is is attractive with small courtyards going off that you could wander around in. The hotel staff were very, very helpful bearing in mind we spoke no Spanish except for Ola and buenos dios! The Hotel and its staff certainly made our holiday and we would not hesitate to recommend it to our friends.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

I think the website gives a very fair portrayal of the place. I get the impression that many rooms have been refurbished and that, possibly, earlier reviewers did not have this advantage.
I travelled with a nine-year-old and we had a delightful, relaxing time. Our large double room comprised twin beds, new and very comfortable, a pristine new bathroom, with bath, shower over, hairdryer, etc., armchairs, fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, TV with digital channels (including BBC1 & 2) and a large balcony with stupendous views of the Sierra Nevada. Some rooms are a little smaller, overlooking just the pool. There are stairs, but there is also a lift and ramps to facilitate access to most areas. There seemed to be endless outdoor and indoor spaces, including a gym, paddle-ball court (like mini-tennis) and various entertaining areas, with free use of the Internet. The pools were clean, if a little strong on chemicals, when we were there.
The restaurant is of a good standard, one of the best places to eat in the town, if not the area, and the set dinners included three choices of starters and four of main course (two fish, two meat, usually two grilled, two with a sauce) and extensive desserts. The first two courses varied each evening. It is also possible to eat a la carte. The waitresses did, occasionally, get a little flustered or muddled, but were always happy to rectify any problems. Only one of the management team spoke much English and this is truly a regional hotel with an authentic Spanish flavour.
It is slightly set back from the main thoroughfare through the town and this gives a feeling of seclusion. The 'main road' that runs behind the hotel is neither noisy nor particularly busy.
All in all, we had a really good holiday.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2007

Warm Place, welcoming atmosphere, beautiful surroundings, great walking, would love to stay here again sometime.

  • Liked — The warm atmosphere and the friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing , it is really lovely
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alcadima Hotel Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcadima Hotel Granada

Address: C/ Francisco Tarrega, 3, 18420 Lanjaron, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Lanjaron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Lanjaron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcadima Hotel Granada 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Venere and Otel so you can book your Alcadima Hotel Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alcadima Hotel Granada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.