We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as the website suggests...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alcadima Hotel Granada

Save Saved
You added Alcadima Hotel Granada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alcadima Hotel Granada
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Francisco Tarrega, 3, 18420 Lanjaron, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Lanjaron
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just as the website suggests...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

I think the website gives a very fair portrayal of the place. I get the impression that many rooms have been refurbished and that, possibly, earlier reviewers did not have this advantage.
I travelled with a nine-year-old and we had a delightful, relaxing time. Our large double room comprised twin beds, new and very comfortable, a pristine new bathroom, with bath, shower over, hairdryer, etc., armchairs, fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, TV with digital channels (including BBC1 & 2) and a large balcony with stupendous views of the Sierra Nevada. Some rooms are a little smaller, overlooking just the pool. There are stairs, but there is also a lift and ramps to facilitate access to most areas. There seemed to be endless outdoor and indoor spaces, including a gym, paddle-ball court (like mini-tennis) and various entertaining areas, with free use of the Internet. The pools were clean, if a little strong on chemicals, when we were there.
The restaurant is of a good standard, one of the best places to eat in the town, if not the area, and the set dinners included three choices of starters and four of main course (two fish, two meat, usually two grilled, two with a sauce) and extensive desserts. The first two courses varied each evening. It is also possible to eat a la carte. The waitresses did, occasionally, get a little flustered or muddled, but were always happy to rectify any problems. Only one of the management team spoke much English and this is truly a regional hotel with an authentic Spanish flavour.
It is slightly set back from the main thoroughfare through the town and this gives a feeling of seclusion. The 'main road' that runs behind the hotel is neither noisy nor particularly busy.
All in all, we had a really good holiday.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    27
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
53
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2007

Warm Place, welcoming atmosphere, beautiful surroundings, great walking, would love to stay here again sometime.

  • Liked — The warm atmosphere and the friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing , it is really lovely
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2007

We booked this through a travel company again, having been there several years earlier. This time we went with our 20 month daughter. For us, this was our perfect holiday, having been to a gite in France the year before. If you want real Spain, and a quiet place then go to the Alcadima. We spent our time in the children's and main pool, speaking to the Spanish in our very poor Spanish. The staff could not have been any more friendly and helpful. We were half-board and loved the food, but could see that if you were the English type of person looking for English food, you probably wouldn't go for it. A relaxing holiday with a small child. How many people get that?!!

  • Liked — large room with fridge
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria UK
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2006

Set way down a narrow side street off the main road in Lanjaron - no access for a tour bus. Overlooking some excellent views depending on your room! (This is a series of several buildings bolted together / making one named unit). The main block hosts some quite nice rooms with excellent views, overlooking the pool, but beware, the lower rooms (122-131) are on a par with Butlins c.1960 - very poor and close to the lower main road, so also noisy! and you will know that you have carried your bags there as it is a LONG way from reception to the rooms. These particular rooms would better be described as poor chalets, NOT hotel rooms. Even the nice one's we saw were not those shown on internet photo's !! So how many like the internet (photo) ones ??
The bar / staff were in the main fine, but did decline to serve lunch to two others of our group one day because they had two coach parties booked in for lunch that day and were too busy to serve them? Not that we were thrilled with the quality / quantity of food anyway - enjoyed eating out !
Not good for anyone with limited walking issues as this place is all stairs and distance. (The lift broke down on our arrival). Renovation is ongoing so it may change in the future !!

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alcadima Hotel Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcadima Hotel Granada

Address: C/ Francisco Tarrega, 3, 18420 Lanjaron, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Lanjaron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Lanjaron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcadima Hotel Granada 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Alcadima Hotel Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alcadima Hotel Granada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.