We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rural retreat, memorable stay, will return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa del Viento

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lanjaron
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Casa del Viento
Save
You added La Casa del Viento to your Saves list
Lanjaron, 18420 Lanjaron, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Rural retreat, memorable stay, will return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

If you ask my two daughters (7 and 10 years) their favourite part of our recent 6 week european vacation they say without hesitation "the Spanish Farm". Ann made us feel so welcome for our 8 night stay and we loved every minute of it. The views from our rooms were breathtaking and all of Ann's suggestions for day trips were most enjoyable. The girls loved coming home each afternoon to be greeted by the resident dogs and cats. The entertainment provided by the animals as well as the meandering paths and gardens gave them plenty to explore giving my husband and I ample time to relax and read one of the many books on the shelves in our room. Ann's meals were generous, delicious and hearty and her suggestions of eateries in Lanyaron were also enjoyable. Hope to return many times in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
2
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Great views, beautiful landscape, fantastic food and friendly people.
Ann is warm and welcoming, and made our stay very special.
We had some lovely afternoons cooling down in the pool.
We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, uk
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Stayed in the Jardin studio for one week with my husband. electrical problems and no door to the bathroom, but in general the accomodation is clean, cool and appropriate to the rustic setting, My in-laws stayed in the adjacent one bedroom 'house' with a view over the pool. We were well looked after, especially by caretaker hosts Emma and Nigel. We enjoyed an excellent BBQ around the pool on Sunday, to which many local Ex-pats regularly attend. The pool was just the right temperature, though as a non-swimmer it is too deep to stand up in. 2-3 dogs on site very friendly. Fresh oranges and cherries from the on-site trees for breakfast. Sitauted half way up the 'mountain' above Lanjaron so you need a good hire car to access, but this is more than repayed by the amazing views, and the peace and quiet! Would definately visit again.

Room Tip: Le Jardin is perfect for a young couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

A beautiful property with lovely views, very peaceful and a nice pool. Best of all, Ann takes very good care of you and cooks a mean dinner : ) Would recommend La Casa del Viento and Lanjaron generally.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

We were pointed in the direction of La Casa del Viento (LCdV) by the Caballo Blanco Trekking Centre, where we did three days of trekking. Our accommodation included all food and drinks.

After a day of trekking across the Sierra Nevada, heading back to LCdV for a swim and a beer was heaven. Anne fed us fantastically, and looked after every request that we had. We stayed in a little cottage, which, whilst not a five-star facility, was perfect - clean and the perfect getaway from the city. You quickly become part of the family - adopted by Anne and her staff, plus the menagerie of cats and dogs that live with her (and as a Brit, Anne has the bleeding heart attitude towards animals, not the Spanish disdain of them).

The view from the terrace each morning was spectacular - watching the sun move across the sleepy town below. The free wireless Internet was an added bonus, and was nothing that I had expected to find here.

Anybody looking to stay in this area cannot go past LCdV. I'll be back one day.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

We were looking for a charismatic rural farm cottage, self-catering, within walking distance to a town for bars and restaurants, and this seemed like the perfect option and within budget. However, it went far beyond our expectations. All of it is very pretty, very typical and very well laid out. We chose to stay in La Rosa which was lovely with its 2 grilled windows, crazy tree trunk beamed ceilings, curtained archways for doors in the stone walls (some of the walls are really thick). There are many nooks and crannies all over the place which are stuffed with character and surprises, that come across much better in real life than in the photos on the websites (it all looks smaller in the pictures than it actually is). From our kitchen, we got a great view of the valley, and through a stable door too - it is litterally on the doorstep, which we never tired of.
We found the view of Lanjaron mesmerising at all times of the day and found there were many options for sitting in the sun or in shade on the various private patios looking at it, as well as lounging round the pool in the sun or under the olive trees or grapes.
Anne looked after us wonderfully - after meeting us in the town at midnight to take us up the mountain track (which we would never have found) she put breakfast things in our kitchen and sat us down on our patio with a bottle of wine. She makes her own country wine, which we sampled another night, and produces olives and olive oil too. During the holiday we were invited to share food and drinks evenings with her friends, other guests, and wwoofers (workers for food and lodgings) which made us feel very at home, although we didn't feel obliged.
The whole 10 days was so relaxing that it was difficult at times to tear ourselves away for something like a drive to Orgiva or the white villages high up in the mountains, or the coast, and we completely missed Granada out, as didn't want the stress of a city after being so chilled. The 15 minute scramble down the mule track to town was steeper than we had imagined, and was an interesting experience in flip flops, but we learned not to come back up it in the heat of the day, preferring to wait until it got cooler in the evening, or getting a taxi. As most of the bars do free tapas in the evening, we had to make the journey several times to get to know the best ones, which are exceptional (Noah's Ark, which is a delicatessen with a bar at the back, where the local 'Costa' wine is served chilled from a barrel and really special, Bar Health, and El Club were our favourites).
We hired a car from Granada airport which was easy and although we didn't use it much it was well worth having. A riding centre further up the mountain took me out on a 2 hour ride (arranged by Ann) which was another fantastic way to take in some great mountain views.
While we were there, several couples came for one or two nights, and all of them said that they wished they had booked for longer, as they hadn't realised how lovely it was. One couple who had just done a couple of days riding and were staying only one night were off to a 5 star hotel upcountry and didn't want to leave, saying they would definitely be back.
We hope to go again (with a more comprehensive Spanish phrase book, ours was tiny and totally inadequate) and we would highly recommend this as a home-from-home rustic idyll.

  • Liked — rustic cottage feel, atmosphere, location and situation
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2008

La Casa del Viento is hidden away on the mountain side just outside of the town of Lanjaron (in the Alpujarra Mountains), which is an hours drive from Granada. I stayed here for two weeks last summer, and absolutely loved it!

I stayed in El Jardin (the casita by the pool) which is fully self contained- with an open plan bedroom (for 2), living area and kitchen, and a separate bathroom (including a bath, shower and toilet). This is one of four casita's which are all lovely white washed traditional houses, which all have amazing views!

This is a perfect place to relax, with a lovely pool area which I spent many afternoons reading my book under the shade of the grape vine covered gazebo and of course going for many swims to cool off! When I was feeling more active I went on one of the many walking tracks up and down the mountain side. I also drove further afield to explore the small Spanish villages in the area and also to visit the beach which is less than an hours drive away.

The hostess, Ann offers very reasonably priced two course meals in the evening, which on the nights I joined her was around by the pool. The local town (Lanjaron) also has many bars and restaurants to enjoy some local Spanish fare.

I highly recommend La Casa del Viento to people of any age (singles, couples or families) who are wanting a slower paced holiday where they can experience some of the less touristy aspects of southern Spain.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casa del Viento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Viento

Address: Lanjaron, 18420 Lanjaron, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Lanjaron
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Lanjaron
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa del Viento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.