We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Almunia del Valle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Almunia del Valle to your Saves list
La Almunia del Valle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino de la Umbria s/n, 18193 Monachil, Sierra Nevada National Park, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Monachil
Oxshott, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We recently spent two nights in this beautiful and peaceful retreat - it wasn't enough! It is hard to believe that the bustling city of Granada is only a 20 minute drive away. The views are breath taking, the air is clear and the night sky is magical. We had one meal cooked by Patricia which was exquisite. As a non red meat eater she more than accommodated my dietary needs. The five course menu was delicious and the wines were equally enjoyable. The bedrooms are tasteful and comfortable. We were also struck by the attention to detail in both the bedroom and the bathroom, down to the pretty and artistic plugs for the sink and bath! The swimming pool and garden area offered a cool respite during the hottest part of the day and lunch can be taken by the pool. We will return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    30
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
148
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights in room seven, with balcony and just wonderful views. As many have already said this hotel is about 1200m up a small and steep single track road. It's no issue and allows the property to benefit from some of the best views of any hotel I have ever stayed.
The hotel itself is small but the service is so attentive and friendly without ever being overbearing.
The hotel is a real mountain retreat, very calming and relaxing and it's hard not to be taken with both the owners, staff and overall ambience.
We ate two nights and there is no reason to go anywhere else although we did have a nice meal in the village. The food is wonderful home cooked, varied and off the highest quality. My partner is vegetarian and had no issues.
Overall one of the most special places we have stayed, go relax and enjoy!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

La Almunia Del Valle is a place that I will remember forever. I spent 2 days there in September and had a wonderful experience. The owners are very kind and are happy to help make your stay even better by providing information for shops and interesting places to see in Granada. The 35 Euro (per person) dinner is absolutely worth it. The owner, Patricia, truly has a passion for cooking. You will be served a delicious 5 course meal (different every night). I was dreaming about those dinners long after we left! The room we had was on the second level and over looked the gorgeous valley. The view was truly breathtaking. The room was spacious and new with a very nice shower/deep tub enclosed in glass that looked out to the room, and if you left the curtains open, the valley. Breakfast was included and was very extensive. There were different breads, pastries, cakes, cereals, cookies, meats, cheeses, fruits, yogurts, and fresh jams (ie. homemade fig jam, made from the figs that grow on the property). There is a pool that overlooks the valley and many spots to lay down, relax and enjoy the outdoors. This place is truly magical and I will definitely go back one day.

Room Tip: Our room was on the upper level and had a private terrace with a beautiful view of the valley. Well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coxwold, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights here and were so pleased that we did. Ten minutes drive from Granada, it was the perfect base for us to enjoy the local area. Peaceful and relaxing, with stunning views of the Sierra Nevada this small hotel offered everything we needed. Delightful staff, lovely food (we had the set menu on 2 nights and couldn't fault it) and stylish accommodation. We tried a few of the local bars in Monachil and founds the locals to be just as welcoming. Thank you to all at La Almunia for a lovely few days.........

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I went on trip advisors reviews and stayed at this hotel. It was a little difficult to find, a sat nav is a must. The road up to the hotel is a little difficult to navigate but don't leave that put you off. On arrival we were warmly greeted by our wonderful host Maria who immediately made us feel at home. Our room was at the end of the building and had a terrace. It was very comfortable and had great mountain views as all the rooms do. It is about a 20min drive to granada and a very nice place to return to after the end of the day and the hustle of the city. We also dined at the hotel which I can highly recommend. I would gladly return there for another trip and probably will

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here as the third destination of a 5 stop road trip and the experience was memorable to say the least. The owners Manuel & Patricia have thought about every fine detail and have excelled themselves as top star B&B owners. The setting is picture-perfect, from the moment of checking in to leaving, the hosts are readily available around the clock and provide a 5 star service. We opted for one of the Superior rooms with large terrace and it was great - set next to the breakfast bar/terrace, with stunning views over the Sierra Nevada from our beds. The village is pretty desolate and isolated, so we opted to eat in the hotel on the second night. The food was restaurant quality (cooked by Patricia) and especially as a vegetarian knowing that Spanish cuisine doesn't always favour my culinary choices, I must say that I was extremely impressed. 5 course meal for 35euros. Breakfast too was a great selection, and Maria Jose rustled up a nice salad for lunch one day when we got a bit peckish. Overall a great experience - will definitely be returning - thank you Manuel, Patricia, Maria Jose and everyone else!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed here at the end of our road trip around Andalusia and it was just what we needed.
Very welcoming staff,beautiful setting.Stayed in superior room number 7 with end balcony-sun all day and lovely views.Kids stayed in standard room that was also lovely but no balcony.Bathrooms fantastic-great showers with complimentary toiletries(big dispensers with shampoo,conditioner,shower gel,moisturiser and all smelled divine.
Gorgeous views from the terrace-where we went for wifi as none in room.
Breakfast had everything you would want but the five course evening meal was the best food of our trip!We ate in 2 nights out of 3 and would have on the 3rd night but they don't do food on Sunday.We felt it was good value at €35 for quality and quantity.House wine was also excellent and reasonably priced.We also ordered food from the pool snack menu and it was again delicious-pizza and goats cheese tart.
Only drawback is the narrow windy road up from Monachil that we wouldn't like to drive up in the dark so arrive early!Also air conditioning was OK but not as good as other places we stayed.
Would love to go back again for a few lazy days with wonderful food!Would also consider trying a Sierra Nevada ski trip and stay here.

Room Tip: If going in Summer room 7 on first floor with end balcony is fab.Some rooms with terrace are ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Almunia del Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Almunia del Valle

Address: Camino de la Umbria s/n, 18193 Monachil, Sierra Nevada National Park, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Sierra Nevada National Park > Monachil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Monachil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Almunia del Valle 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Almunia del Valle is a boutique hotel, distinguished with the Q for Turistic Quality. We are situated in one of the most beautiful spots in the Sierra Nevada Natural Park located in the municipality of Monachil, Granada. At just 8 kilometers form downtown Granada, the hotel gives the visitor the luxury to be able to enjoy a natural setting of the valley, surrounded by the high picks, and crossed by the river that gives its name to the village Monachil where light and silence claim our senses. The owners Jose Manuel Plana & Patricia Merino supervise daily and personally every detail, the high level of attention given to our guest by the hotel staff makes the stay in La Almunia an unforgettable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Almunia del Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Almunia Del Valle Hotel Monachil
La Almunia Del Valle Monachil
La Almunia Del Valle Province Of Granada/Sierra Nevada National Park - Monachil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Almunia del Valle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.