We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, food,rooms and spa right on the slopes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Lodge

Save Saved
You added El Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Lodge
C. Maribel 8, 18196 Sierra Nevada National Park, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Excellent service, food,rooms and spa right on the slopes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

El Lodge us a superior hotel thas has made every effort to make a fantastic ski holiday. The staff were excellent and nothing was too much for them. The fondue and ski in terrace for lunch is superb. The decor is excellent and the spa very enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed with my husband for four nights beginning of February 2013. From the very beginning we were treated wonderfully. The staff and the service in general is fantastic, which for me is the main criteria to evaluate a 5* hotel. The design of the hotel is great, they achieve the romantic mountain flair, while keeping it modern and cool. The food is incredible, the hot chocolate one of the best I ever had. Another big plus is the fact that you can ski right away from the hotel on to the Maribel slope. A ski rental is right in front of the hotel. You can leave your car at arrival and don't need it anymore until you leave. If you want a dinner out, they have their own shuttle service using luxury cars to bring you wherever you want and pick you up. I also loved the sun terrace with lounge music, which we used to have lunch on our skibreaks. They have an indoor and outdoor spa area and we almost never crossed other people, which is one of the advantages in staying in a small resort; it gives you the notion of exclusivity. In the end, a fantastic experience. We will be back!
On the down side, the only thing I can say is that our room was very small. It was compensated by a fairly spacious bathroom and the fact that we had the outdoor sauna, jacuzzi, swimming pool just in front of our room, which we used extensively. But if you come with kids, make sure to ask for a bigger room.

Room Tip: Just make sure you ask for a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at the hotel with 2 adults and 2 young boys. The best part of the hotel is the service - all the staff were great. And they went beyond to make our stay as good as possible - especially the shuttly staff - the receptionists - and also the restaurant sstaff for catering for our two young boys and their dinner wishes. The hotel has many great features and it is hard to single one out
the amazing terrace for lunch right on the slopes
the ski room which is great
the jacuzzi which is large
the view from the room - and the general furnishings of the room are very good

In all we had a great week - the hotel is great especially for experienced skiers who can ski in and out from the hotel. Thank you to all the staff of the hotel who made our stay great and we definately hope to back next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at el lodge just after christmas for a relaxing weekend with my younger brother and from the very first minute they treated us very well, the room we had was very cozy and the facilities were far ahead our expectations, we were very impressed. The porters are very close to guests needs and wants and since my point of view a key of the success of this superb Hotel. The fact that they come and pick you up within 10 minutes after you give them a call when you are done with the skiing to take you to the Hotel it´s great.

I will highly recomend this Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is what Sierra Nevada needed, a big change, it is a lovely hotel situated in a very good location, the team working in the hotel are all very young and very nice, they treat their clients at the very best, the food was very good and new years eve dinner was amazing and great fun! i deffinately recommend the hotel to anyone that wants a luxurious experience in the skiing station Sierra Nevada. Congratulations again to the team.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This exquisite twenty room hotel belongs now to the famous Marbella Club Group, bought last year, we were told, and totally refurbished and refitted between April and November this year. Since the opening of the first hotel in this ski resort In the mid-sixties, there have unfortunately never been any really top class hotels...that is, until now. A staff of over thirty look after the guests. The rooms are sumptuous, there is an enormous heated pool, spa, exercise room, direct access to one of the pistas, and the restaurant is undoubtedly the best in this resort, and every bit as good as the Grill Room in Marbella, albeit a shorter menu. For someone looking for the best, this is where to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012 via mobile

This is a fabulous hotel. The location is excellent. The hotel is under new ownership and the staff were very attentive. The terrace is absolutely the best. The food and service was excellent.
I've booked again for mid March.
The building is a log cabin style, it's cosy and warm. The hotel shuttle bus takes you up and down to the village as often as you like and at any time of day or night at no extra charge.
I loved it and so did my family. My two teenage children had ski classes arranged by the hotel and you can ski off from the hotel terrace. Storage of skis etc is easy too.
The new owners are true professionals.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Lodge

Address: C. Maribel 8, 18196 Sierra Nevada National Park, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Sierra Nevada National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 hotels in Sierra Nevada National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your El Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.