We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic mountains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Alpujarras

Las Alpujarras
Sierra Nevada National Park, Spain
Improve this listing
Visit Las Alpujarras like an insider
Private Tour
$54*
and up
Private Tour: Sierra Nevada Day Trip from Granada
Activities: Walking, Horseback riding, Mountain biking, Hiking, Driving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Andalusia's mountainous Alpujarra region features Spain's highest peak, Mulhacén, rising to a height of 3,478 meters. It provides perhaps the best walking and hiking country in Andalucia and boasts many picturesque villages for the less adventurous traveler.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The scenery is amazing. We walked the GR7 around to the villages after staying in a yurt in Orgiva. A slightly challenging walk but breathtaking scenery passing lots of different fruit trees.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    35
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
“Friendly and Welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Having never seriously hiked before we feel incredibly lucky to have found Jeremy and WalkAlpujarra. He met us on arrival in a small town in the hills and took us through very patiently all we needed to know. Considering the price the accommodation was great and the detail of the walk information impressive. I would highly recommend this small company with a personal touch.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place for hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

During our stay in Granada we made a day-trip to Las Alpujarras. We took the bus to Capileira, from their we walked downhill to Pampaneira, where we took the bus back. The surrounding is absolutely beautiful, with wonderful views and lovely little white villages.

In Capileira, the bus dropped us next to the Tourist Office, where they had a map of the village, unfortunately not of the surrounding. From there we made a small walk through the village, and to the viewpoint, a bit west of it, from where you can see the Mulhacén. Back at the Tourist Office, we started our walk down to Pampaneira. It's relatively easy to find the walking trail. Take the stairs down behind the building. At the bottom, turn left, and pass a small fountain. After this the real path starts on the right. On the way down there are many photo opportunities of the beautiful valley. It's also nice to see the white villages in front and behind you. After about 1-1,5 hour, you reach the village of Bubion.

Just before reaching Bubion, the path connects to the main road. Bubion is a logical stop for a drink or a meal. In this place, the path to Pampaneira starts next to the church. There is a sign that says 'Pampaneira 1 KM', and although it's possible to see the village immediately, it takes about an hour via the winding trail to get there.

It's a relatively easy walk to do, as it's always going down. But it's good to have some experience in the mountains, as the path is sometimes very steep and not always well-maintained. It's also crossing some waterfalls and little rivers. But it's a great experience, so I would certainly recommend to do it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich - Uk
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Region To Walk In”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This end of the Sierra Nevada is away from the tourists and a great place to walk. We went to the fiesta in Valor and only spotted two other tourists, which was nice. Driving in the mountains can be a bit scary to start but you are soon driving like a local!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The scenery and charm of the villages with plenty of good places to stay and eat at reasonable prices with good roads.
Sign posting could at times be better but it is difficult to get lost. I found it difficult to obtain good guide books in English, although for walkers there are a few very good ones.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeremy R, Hiking consultant & holiday organiser at walkAlpujarra at Las Alpujarras, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
There are 2 main walking guides to the area: one is "34 Alpujarras walks" published by Discovery guides and easily found for sale on the net. The other is "Holiday walks in the Alpujarra" and although out of print, can be obtained via download from http://www.walkalpujarra.com/qholiday-walks-in-the-alpujarraq
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Alpujarras also viewed

Monachil, Sierra Nevada National Park
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to Las Alpujarras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Alpujarras, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.