We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Barbeque around Atlanta!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Bros. BBQ

Fox Bros. BBQ
1238 Dekalb Avenue, Atlanta, GA 30307
404-577-4030
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 3,422 restaurants in Atlanta
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
LOGANVILLE
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Barbeque around Atlanta!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We love the food here, really good ribs, pulled pork and sides. About 25 miles from us, but it is worth the trip.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    171
    74
    34
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Hmmm?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Fox Brothers offers quite good Texas style barbeque. However Atlanta is in Georgia, and if someone is looking for Georgia style barbeque they will be disappointed at Fox Brothers. If you don't care about the difference and just want some tasty food then this is a good choice to visit. But it is inconsistent. The Beef Brisket is especially good. The ribs are fine and there are many good side dishes to select from. We really liked the Jalapeno Cornbread. The Brunswick Stew was particularly disappointing. It was much too sweet.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best BBQ and fastest service ever! :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I first visited after we searched a mobile app (can't remember the android app. name) for local restaurants and decided to give this place a try. It doesn't have much of a parking lot, and was kinda hard to find at first (we passed it up and had to turn around). Upon entering, we were seated immediately and drink order was taken. We were given ample time to look at the menus and as soon as we closed our menus our waitress was there to take our order. What we didn't expect was the speed of service. It did not take very long at all to produce our meals. True...the BBQ was already cooked, but the sides (french fries & onion rings included) were steaming hot! Our glasses never were empty either with all the waiters/waitresses being attentive (whether it was their table or not). We were surprised to see that at 2pm they were still as busy as they were, but their wait, cook & bus staff handled it all with ease and we didn't see anyone have to wait for a table nor very many empty tables. Great food and excellent service! We have and will continue to go back

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pfafftown, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Texas Style BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The place was packed at 3:30 in the afternoon with a 30 minute wait. BBQ ribs and chopped brisket was given a 4 by my boyfriend who is from TX. I am a vegetarian, so I had only mac and cheese, cole slaw, jalapeno bread - they were average, nothing special. Meat portions are large, service was very fast, Fox Brothers BBQ sauce was excellent. Personally, there was very little for a vegetarian to eat there, but it's a BBQ restaurant and according to my date, the BBQ was worth the wait.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great little BBQ joint!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The first thing we noticed when stepping out of our car was the wonderful aroma of BBQ smoking. Things just got better from there! We were greeted by a friendly staff on a late Friday afternoon, and we walked in and were seated within minutes. We chose inside dining but did like having the choice of patio dining too. Our server Jennifer did an excellent job and was very helpful with her suggestions. She suggested to start out with a watermelon margarita. They use fresh watermelon purée in their margaritas. It was nice, refreshing, and light. They also gave an awesome Cadillac margarita too. We chose a variety of menu items to try. Both of us were very pleased with our meal. The half BBQ chicken was nicely seasoned with a dry rub and had a wonderful smoked flavor. They offered two different BBQ sauces. The red sauce was sweet and tangy with an excellent flavor. We both liked it. We don't normally care for white BBQ sauce but theirs was outstanding! It was a blend of Ranch and buttermilk. The dark meat of the chicken was nice and moist. The breast meat was a tad dry. Our favorite sides were the jalapeño cornbread (which came with a side of honey butter), baked beans (which were excellent), collard greens (outstanding flavor), and stewed green beans. I'm not a bread eater by nature, but didn't leave a drop. Both the collards and green beans had a nice kick of heat to them. The only side items we would not recommend were there Mac and cheese which were very bland and lacked a good cheese flavor. The smoked chicken wings were somewhat dry even though the sauce they were coated with was fantastic! Overall I would highly recommend dining here. This Texas style BBQ with a southern twist is definitely worth a trip! We can't wait to come back and try the rest of their menu.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox Bros. BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Fox Bros. BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Bros. BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.