We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good and The Bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of W Atlanta - Buckhead

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added W Atlanta - Buckhead to your Saves list
W Atlanta - Buckhead
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3377 Peachtree Road NE, Atlanta, GA 30326   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #46 of 190 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The Good and The Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

As noted in other reviews, this W is retrofitted and an older property. You wouldn't necessarily know is from the lobby, bar and excellent restaurant Cook Hall in the front of the hotel. Note that there is no spa or even a small sundry shop, which is unusual for a W. The staff is warm and friendly so it's a disappointment when the rooms are small, the air conditioner is so loud and not well regulated that if you're noise sensitive you should come prepared. The bathrooms are tiny and offer little privacy. The shower makes no sense. You cannot reach in and turn on the water before entering. And water gets all over the floor because there's only half a glass door. The shower can also be difficult to turn on and off, an issue known to the staff which they are ready to fix if you give them a call. Bring a hair dryer if that's what you plan on using as their hair dryers are children's size. Apparently, though, they have better ones but you have to reserve it. Unfortunately we weren't informed about that option until it was too late and they were all taken. Finally, the room phone stopped working on the morning we left. On the plus side, the staff understand the property faces challenges and they're doing the best they can. We were offered a free breakfast on our last day which was very nice but not without incident either. The waiter felt he was unable to leave the covers on the food while we got ready. Never saw that before. They also charged 24% tip which, if standard, is e highest I've ever seen. Would have tipped handsomely but since he was already getting about $15 for bringing food up to the room I didn't think he was entitled to more. Anyway, our stay was flawed and maybe we just had bad luck. Not sure I would stay there again but I'm grateful management recognized that they could have done better and that they learned a few things as a result of what was brought to their attention.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RParkes, Guest Experience Manager at W Atlanta - Buckhead, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
JsammyLA - We appreciate you sharing such honest feedback, both good and bad regarding your most recent visit with us here at the W Atlanta-Buckhead. What's great about this is the fact that we'll utilize your feedback as a tool for coaching and improving our operation, so future guest's do not experience the same, so thank you. Our vintage W design is unique to the Buckhead area and we're glad to hear that you found our in-house restaurant, Cook Hall quite delicious. Cook Hall recently added a few absolutely delicious new menu items that have been a huge hit so far! I apologize that the shower/bathroom design presented you with an issue during your stay. Issues will occur, but its how you handle and resolve the concerns that make the difference. Our talent and signature Whatever/Whenever Service is truly committed to not only meeting, but exceeding the expectations of each guest. Next time your travels return you to Atlanta, stop by to see us again. You're invited anytime!

Take it easy,

Renford Parkes
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    197
    141
    83
    55
See reviews for
76
226
87
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This has been my very first time at the W and it was phenomenal! I loved the s'mores event that was held on the outside patio. The atmosphere as well as the staff was very welcoming, especially, Renford, Scott, Jerry, and Mel. My favorite place was definitely the pool.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RParkes, Guest Experience Manager at W Atlanta - Buckhead, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Ashleynfelts - Thanks for the AMAZING review! You chose a great weekend for your first W experience and to see exactly what the W Atlanta-Buckhead is all about. Our S'mores Anyone Event was pretty cool right? The weekends are always fun here at the W Atlanta-Buckhead and you just never know what we may come up with to electrify our guest's experiences. We enjoy interacting with our guests because when you choose to stay with us... it's all about you! Don't be a stranger, you're always welcome to stop by to infuse your mood anytime! Enjoy your W t-shirt :)

Stay cool,

Renford Parkes
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I had an amazing time at the W Buckhead. The staff was amazing, very helpful and friendly. Renford, Scottie,Mel,Henry,and Cyrus were great during my stay. I met them during the smores event and had sooooooooo muvh fun!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RParkes, Guest Experience Manager at W Atlanta - Buckhead, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
princesscharlene - Thanks for stopping by and we're so glad that you enjoyed our S'mores Anyone Event! It definitely brought out the kid inside all of us. We invite everyone of all ages to come visit us here in Buckhead, especially on the weekends...whether it's melting s'mores over the firepit, scooping ice cream floats in our LIving Room or having our flavorful signature Weekend Sip and cookies downstairs, a fun and unique W Buckhead experience awaits! Settle in and stay awhile.

See you next time,

Renford Parkes
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My stay at the W was fantastic. First thing they did was offer me a cookie and champagne while waiting inline to check in. Headed upstairs to a beautiful hotel room with cool modern furniture. Scott and Rafeal (maybe the wrong name? didn't catch it) were extremely nice and friendly, had a lot of fun eating smores with them. Very kid friendly area as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RParkes, Guest Experience Manager at W Atlanta - Buckhead, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
scott s - You were visiting from Seattle, so we definitely wanted to demonstrate true Southern Hospitality and we're glad you found the champagne and cookies welcoming! The s'mores were pretty delicious as well. If I recall, I believe you couldn't resist and ate about 3 of them :) When choosing a hotel, we're mindful that there's a plethora of options in Atlanta and we appreciate you choosing our fabulous W property. When you're looking to mingle and mix it up over a few cocktails in Whiskey Blue, want to utilize our ACURA Experience for a complimentary ride around town or simply want to kick back and relax in our modern and comfortable guestrooms, the W Atlanta-Buckhead is the place to be seen! Give us a call, you're always welcome.

Stay cool,

Renford Parkes
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place truly defined a well-attended to hotel experience. It was perfectly located in the heart of Buckhead, and the check in experience was awesome. I was immediately greeted as "the guest of the day!", which was a nice touch to welcome me. I'm sure it was to recognize my SPG Gold status, but nonetheless a nice welcome. The room was spacious - and while the bathroom in the middle of the room design was a bit off-putting at first, it turned out to be quite functional. The concierge arranged for a nice car ride to my destination the following morning. Also - I loved the outdoor space for having a drink in the lovely (rainy) Atlanta weather.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RParkes, Guest Experience Manager at W Atlanta - Buckhead, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
truthbetold_10 - Let the "truthbetold" that it was our absolute pleasure to have as our guest and we appreciate you stopping by. Congrats on being selected as our Guest of the Day!! The team gets so excited when the Guest of the Day actually checks in because that moment is all about YOU, Whatever/Whenever you want. Recognizing our guests and creating unique and personalized "W" experiences is what fuels our talent. When the sun comes back out, be sure to stop by for another drink on me! See you soon...rain or shine.


Renford Parkes
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel was fabulous! We went for our anniversary and let them know when we check in. They upgraded our room and sent up champagne to help us celebrate. They have many small things that make them unique and the stay fun. One of the things was that they change out the mats in the elevators for each part of the day - Good Morning, etc. They staff were great and very friendly. I loved the modern decorations also!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RParkes, Guest Experience Manager at W Atlanta - Buckhead, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
kchaney2012 - Well Good Morning, Good Afternoon and Good Evening! On behalf of the entire W Atlanta-Buckhead family.... Happy Anniversary...again :) It was truly our pleasure and we can't wait to welcome you back soon in grand style!

Stay cool,

Renford Parkes
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

GOOD

To be fair, service was outstanding, so that is something I want to highlight right off the bat.

The lobby is very beautiful and the room decor is nice as well.

There is refreshing flavored water available for free in the lobby, and I think they also offer free apples at check-in.

No breakfast buffet, but there is coffee in the lobby in the mornings.

I think this hotel is perfect for people who want to party and have a great time. There are lots of nice looking spaces to hang out and have a drink.

There is regular cable plus Showtime which was a nice bonus, but it wasn't called out, so I was initially disappointed thinking there were no movie channels.

BAD
The elevators look dirty and greasy, and are always playing loud music, so you feel like you've entered a party, which is really strange.

There is a lot of snacks available for purchase, and of course they are expensive as expected in any hotel, but it was painfully obvious that no one buys them: our snacks were dusty.

There is no free Wi-Fi and there are 2 tiers for the internet speed, so it feels like you are being charged for everything, not just for internet, but for *faster* internet.

The self-parking option is only 10 cheaper than valet, and there is no parking around, so you kind of have to pay for parking either way.

The pool... I was very disappointed because I planned my visit around the pool and it is VERY small. We walked to it, and we turned around right away. It seems like only 4-6 people can fit in at once. I'm sure it's very nice since it's heated, but I didn't feel comfortable joining the other 4 people who were already in the area.

The shower in the room does not have a door, so it's definitely designed with a couple in mind, but the detail we disliked most was that the toilet was pretty much right next to the bed, no real door (just a sliding panel), so there wasn't a lot of privacy in terms of separating unpleasant smells.

Movies are $14-$20 (not quite the $4.99 initial price point it says on the menu, but still cheaper than going to the movies, though)

No coffee maker in the room, you have to request one if you want it.

KEY TAKEAWAY: Highly recommend for people who want to party and have a great time, not for pampering and relaxation as we had originally intended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RParkes, Guest Experience Manager at W Atlanta - Buckhead, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
dianaraquel - Thanks for sharing your experience in regards to your most recent stay. We appreciate the positive comments about the level of service you received from our Talent and for the fact that you found our Living Room and room decor nice. Everyone is always invited to experience what the W is all about, whether you're here to relax, recharge or have an electrying night! Whenever you're ready for another romantic and relaxing getaway, shoot me an email at Renford.Parkes@whotels.com and I will ensure that your experience is one to remember. We're up for the challenge to blow you away next time! Until then....take care.


Renford Parkes
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Atlanta - Buckhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Atlanta - Buckhead

Address: 3377 Peachtree Road NE, Atlanta, GA 30326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#34 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Atlanta - Buckhead 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Atlanta Buckhead combines modern luxury and Southern charm into its chic design and welcoming atmosphere, in a neighborhood with upscale living, specialty shopping, and the hottest nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, EasyToBook, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your W Atlanta - Buckhead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Atlanta - Buckhead Hotel Atlanta
w Hotels Atlanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Atlanta - Buckhead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.