We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby chic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of W Atlanta - Buckhead

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added W Atlanta - Buckhead to your Saves list
W Atlanta - Buckhead
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3377 Peachtree Road NE, Atlanta, GA 30326   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #47 of 188 Hotels in Atlanta
Miami
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Shabby chic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

First off, I'll say "They tried." But for many reasons I'd rather stay elsewhere.

Hotel check-in was ridiculous. One person at registration, but lots of other employees standing around. Several people hanging out at the concierge desk just chatting while guests waited 15 minutes for service. Finally more clerks show up, but the computers weren't turned on and wouldn't boot up.

The design of the hotel is nice, but it is showing wear and tear. the carpet and bedding were a bit threadbare in the guestroom. It does seem to be quite the party hotel, with noisy guests and paper-thin walls. Likewise, housekeeping staff are very noisy and like to park dozens of carts in the hallways, right in front of the doors of occupied rooms.

The "whatever/whenever" staff seem almost desperate to get high ratings, practically begging guests to give them high marks, by name, on follow-up surveys. I find this particularly annoying.

Traffic in front of the hotel is bad, even by Atlanta standards. There is a large shopping mall nearby and the traffic lights seem designed to logjam, rather than manage traffic.

Surely there are better, and more economical, places to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBuckheadManager, General Manager at W Atlanta - Buckhead, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
JustinT - Thank you for your time and feedback. Your review touches on several departments and areas for improvement and I want you to know that we take feedback very seriously and we will be dissecting your review as a training example, as we are constantly striving for excellence.

Thank you again for your review and I hope we will have another opportunity to provide you with the service we are known for. Should we have that opportunity, please don't hesitate to email me at GMmarylouise.fitzgibbon@whotels.com.

All the Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    179
    132
    74
    51
See reviews for
67
213
84
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I recently stayed at the W Buckhead as part of a business trip and what a pleasant experience I had. This was the first time I have ever stayed at a hotel and actually slept soundly through the night thanks to the room's noise reduction machine - what a great addition! The front reception staff were all extremely hospitable and ensured all my needs were taken care of.

We had dinner at the hotel restaurant and enjoyed the food and service - my only comment here is for them to turn the lights on! It was quite difficult to read the menu as well as see what was presented in front of us.

They have a great bar and lounge on the top floor with a spectacular view and are in walking distance to many shops. The entire hotel - from conference rooms, to lobby and rooms were all impecably decorated and clean. 2 thumbs up!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBuckheadManager, General Manager at W Atlanta - Buckhead, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Julie E - We love you too! And thanks for the two thumbs up approval! We really appreciate both your reservation and your review. We hope to welcome you and your group back again soon - we'd be delighted! Thanks again for a great overall review - see you soon!

All the Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed one night at this hotel and it was a great experience. My room was clean and inviting. The room service was quick, friendly, funny, and cute. The front desk staff was friendly and very welcoming. I have no complaints, except valet parking is very costly, $32 per night. I would return to this property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBuckheadManager, General Manager at W Atlanta - Buckhead, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
ArmyLT - So happy you enjoyed your one night getaway with us! You're welcome back anytime and we look forward to your return - another "clean and inviting" room will be waiting! Thanks so much for your review and see you soon!

All the Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

This is based on a recent stay which coincided with the hip hop awards in Atlanta, so that may account for the downside!
Hotel is clean, we'll presented and comfortable. Beds are great and staff are warm and friendly. The hotel has a bar on the top floor which is fun, and food was equally good.
Downsides were the noise in the hallway from other guests through the night. It was certainly a party hotel when I stayed! Also, I was on the second floor, and the noise from the shower in the room above (I assume) was loud enough to wake me. The air-con in the room is also really loud and can't be on when you sleep, although it is very effective.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBuckheadManager, General Manager at W Atlanta - Buckhead, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
mollypolly1 - Thank you for your review and I'm so happy you enjoyed everything from the rooms to the food to the staff, bar and W signature beds! We have a lot to offer. And I do hope we'll see you again (and not when there's an anomaly conference in town that effects many Atlanta hotels). Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you!

All the Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Georgia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This hotel is very nice in appearance and the staff are courteous and professional. However, the design of the rooms affords little privacy in the bathroom. The semi-opaque glass wall and door to the bathroom allows guests in the room to view a person's silhouette in the bathroom - while using the toilet and the shower. There is little privacy and the situation could be very awkward to many people. Also, the noise in the hallways prevented all six people in our group from getting a restful night's sleep - two nights in a row. We slept two to a room and in all three rooms all of us had the same experience on both Friday and Saturday night. Loud, noisy, distruptive patrons were yelling and shouting in the hallway off and on throughout the night (between midnight and 4 a.m.). Hotel Security could be heard in the hallway trying to address the issue but seemed ineffective as the noise continued with no improvement. Our group's bleary eyed conclusion Sunday morning was that this is a "party hotel", particularly because of the bar on the top floor. Definitely looks like a fun place to stay if you want to party all night; but, if you want to get any sleep, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBuckheadManager, General Manager at W Atlanta - Buckhead, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
40KristyT - Thank you for your time. While I am glad you enjoyed the staff and the decor of the hotel during your weekend here, I'm sorry to learn that your group didn't get a great night's sleep - essential to any getaway. And yes, our weekends are a little livelier, but that is no excuse and hope that we will have the opportunity for you all to return, the next time you are in town. Should we have that chance, please feel free to email me directly and I'll be happy to help in any way that I can - GMmarylouise.fitzgibbon@whotels.com.

All the Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Dont expect anithing special, but an average property with snobbish staff.
Upgrade is very difficoult even as SPG platinum as the hotel has very few suites
Rooms are small, old, feel kind of a bit dirty.
Common areas are nice, some for the rooftop bar, and it is very convininent to Lenox mall, only real reason i would consider it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBuckheadManager, General Manager at W Atlanta - Buckhead, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
SuperSayan4 - Thank you for your candid review. I will be sharing this with the staff to ensure each interaction is met with sincerity and our Whatever/Whenever attitude - I'm sorry if you did not feel this was conveyed throughout your stay with us; our location should not be our best attribute, as great as it is. Thank you again for sharing this with me and the online community, we take all feedback very seriously and I do hope you return to find the staff and property I know and love.

Thank you again.

All the Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Tennessee
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The W in Buckhead is like every other W I have stayed in. OUTSTANDING. Clean rooms, great service. And just a touch of an eclectic attitude that makes a little bit different from the other Starwood properties. It is in a great area with lots of restaurants, and bars and 30 steps from the Marta to get you to whereever else you need to go.

Probably only downside is the pricey in-room menu but that is to be expected in high-end hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBuckheadManager, General Manager at W Atlanta - Buckhead, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
TennBoy - Thank you so much for your review. You've highlighted a lot of great features about our hotel from location to staff to decor. And from a senior contributor like you, that means a lot! Thanks again and we'll see you soon!

All the Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to W Atlanta - Buckhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Atlanta - Buckhead

Address: 3377 Peachtree Road NE, Atlanta, GA 30326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#38 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Atlanta - Buckhead 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Atlanta Buckhead combines modern luxury and Southern charm into its chic design and welcoming atmosphere, in a neighborhood with upscale living, specialty shopping, and the hottest nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your W Atlanta - Buckhead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Atlanta - Buckhead Hotel Atlanta
w Hotels Atlanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Atlanta - Buckhead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.