We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   111 Cone Street NW, Atlanta, GA 30303 (Formerly Centennial Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #46 of 188 Hotels in Atlanta
Redwood City, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here from 11/15-11/18. The staff is the friendliest staff I have interacted with at any Holiday Inn. The room was comfortable and we had free wifi, breakfast, cable, fridge and microwave, but the view was not that great. The only downside is that there was no in-room safe. Also we had a car and did self parking at the garage across the street but it was tricky to get to because of all the construction they are doing on the roads near the hotel. This hotel was close to all the attractions that we wanted to visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEAtlanta, Asst. Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your outstanding compliments of our address and staff. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again during your next visit to Atlanta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    108
    31
    11
    10
See reviews for
60
55
8
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I decided at the last minute to celebrate my birthday. The location was great! Everything is just minutes away. The room was very clean & spacious. The front desk attendant was awesome. I think her name was Dana. She was very informative & helpful. They also had security outside at night which was a plus. I'll definitely be back!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEAtlanta, Asst. Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your compliments of our address. We value all of our guests and we are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay. I hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Booked this hotel based on Trip Adviser rating. Unfortunately the hotel did not live up to this high rating. The staff were very pleasant and dealt promptly with our complaint. The first room we were allocated had a leak in the bathroom ceiling from the room above, this had not been noticed by staff prior to our stay but we were promptly given a new room. We had booked a large room but I would not rate this as large by other hotel standards. The only large thing about it was the closet. The bathroom was fairly modern but very small.. The seating area was only one chair squeezed in near the doorway and blocking the way to the closet for the cases. This was our eleventh hotel as part of a fly drive and the only one with no coffee etc in the lobby. The coffee machine was locked away in the breakfast area..Parking was in a multi story across the road( and through road works) It was not easy to transport cases into the hotel especially when approached for money from passers by. The hotel seems quite basic and shabby in places and not of the standard we expected from any hotel within the International Hotel Group of which we are reward members.

Room Tip: Do not expect much when paying for larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEAtlanta, Asst. Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
I appreciate the feedback you have provided and apologize that your stay was anything less than exceptional. Your satisfaction and loyalty is a priority to The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown. I hope you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our signature hospitality the next time you travel to Atlanta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel when we were in Atlanta for a concert at Phillips Arena. It gets great reviews. What no one mentions in the glowing reviews is that there is no place to park in front of the hotel to unload your luggage. You must go park in the garage around the block and carry your things across the street, unless you want to pay a $25 valet charge. In the process of doing this, a policeman on duty outside told us "empty everything out of your car or someone else will empty it for you and you will have permanent air conditioning all the way home." (broken windows)
Once we finished dealing with parking and checking in, we arrived in a very old room with a tiny little bathroom. There is literally about three inches of space on either side of the sink (see travelers photos above), no towel bar to hang up your bath towel, and nowhere to put your clothes when you get dressed after a shower!
Yes, as everyone has said, the staff is nice and friendly, but that does not make this a new hotel, nor does is make it a hotel with a decent size bathroom or a decent place to park your car.
I must say, the walk to the arena was not far, though all the construction around the hotel made for a muddy, messy walk. Also, the breakfast buffet was above average. Would we stay here again? probably not. It wasn't terrible, but certainly inconvenient.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEAtlanta, Asst. Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay with us. We are very sorry you experienced an undesirable stay. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback. We hope that you will consider giving us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
438 helpful votes 438 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This property could use some freshening-up -- my room was clean but really needed repainted -- and the rooms are small. Everything else about this place is good or better. The highlight for me was the extremely helpful and friendly valet. On the day of my arrival, all streets to the hotel were blocked off for construction, and he kindly walked with me to my car in a nearby lot and guided me the wrong way down a one-way street to reach the hotel's valet stand. Advance warning from the hotel would have seemed to be in order, but the valet made up for it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEAtlanta, Asst. Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown! We are glad to hear that our valet service exceeded your expectations. We look forward to having you as our guests again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to stay close to dome to walk to game. This was easy from here. Room was very small felt like we were in NYC. Parking is expensive and most good restaurants need a cab to get to. Lots if road work around hotel. Tough to get to

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEAtlanta, Asst. Font Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope you will consider us for your next trip to Atlanta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bento Goncalves, RS
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Our trip was much better because we were greeted by wonderful people who work at the Holiday Inn Express Atlanta Downton. They are kind and welcoming. We loved Atlanta also because of them. Furthermore, the location is great.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEAtlanta, Asst. Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your compliments of The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown. I am pleased to hear your overall experience was excellent and I hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown

Address: 111 Cone Street NW, Atlanta, GA 30303 (Formerly Centennial Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#48 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to downtown Atlanta's most conveniently located hotel — the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown. Centered in downtown Atlanta, the Holiday Inn Express provides guests with affordable accommodations within close proximity to Atlanta's world-famous attractions, including the Georgia Aquarium (3 blocks), World of Coke (3 blocks), Philips Arena (4 blocks), CNN Center (4 blocks), Georgia World Congress Center (4 blocks), Centennial Park (2 blocks), and AmericasMart (2 blocks). Whether you're in Atlanta for business or to unwind with your loved ones, you'll enjoy our comfortably-appointed guest suites, which now include complimentary high-speed Internet and a host of other amenities. Not to mention, you'll savor our complimentary full hot breakfast before heading into town for the day. Enjoy the best of comfort and convenience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Downtown Atlanta. Remember, we're within walking distance to Atlanta's most-visited attractions and venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centennial Hotel Atlanta
Super 8 Atlanta
Atlanta Super 8
Atlanta Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.