We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills but a good sleep and convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   111 Cone Street NW, Atlanta, GA 30303 (Formerly Centennial Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #47 of 188 Hotels in Atlanta
Seattle, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“No frills but a good sleep and convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

While the hotel won't impress your spouse/friend it delivers a comfortable stay for the low-mid hotel range.

Travelling for business I normally get to stay in one of the 4-5 star chains but rooms were full and I have liked the good experience that Holiday Inn Express had provide before, so I gave it a try.
I really like that this mid level hotels do not nickel and dime you and you get wifi, breakfast, paper and other necessities included in your room.

The Atlanta hotel was no different: it delivered a good room, good wifi with plenty of bandwidth, decent warm breakfast, complementary toiletry that I had forgotten...all of the above coming for a fee in a 5 star hotel...

This stay surpassed my expectations in some areas and felt short in other. here is more:

The room and service surpassed my expectations. The room was very spacious, decorated well above the hotel class (marble countertops and shower, business desk with leather chair, direct TV with many channels, etc..). The beds are pretty firm at first but I woke up rested and with no back pain whatsoever. The room was quite and the services was very courteous.

It fell short in the general appearance of the hotel outside of the room. The corridors and elevators were a bit dirty, the reception very simple and the entrance of the hotel is situated in a anonymous small street mainly featuring parking lots. There was no view, but rather a brick wall outside my window.
There is definitely no glamour as you walk in from the street and first impression can be disappointing.

There is no restaurant or food for purchase in the hotel but there are many restaurants in the surroundings and it seems few places that will deliver to your room.

The location is perfect, two blocks from centennial park, 1 block from all the major 5 star hotels and half a mile (if that) from the convention center.

In my opinion, if you are looking for an honest room, convenient location and comfortable stay, I think this is a good place. If you want to impress, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEAtlanta, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
We thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the feedback, we share all compliments and comments with our staff and they love to hear what our guest have to say. We are at a perfect location for business traveler and tourists, walking distance from attractions, conference center and lots of restaurants. Once again thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    108
    31
    11
    10
See reviews for
60
55
8
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Potomac, MD
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

King Suite was new, beautiful and clean. Management helped with unusual issue when I arrived. Couldn't have hoped for me.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEAtlanta, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
It is wonderful to read your recent review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Atlanta. We strive to provide service that is beyond expectation and I am pleased you were able to experience this first hand during your special trip to Atlanta. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogersville, Missouri, United States
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Nice place to stay. Has Far Eastern influence throughout...Great service...Double Queen room is great for business traveler, but a little tight for family of 4...Parking garage is across street - a little tight for a Town & Country mini-van, but secure. No gift bag for Priority club member - still wondering when HIE will get that to be universal. Breakfast towards the 9:00am hour gets a little cold. Family of 4 or more will have to ask for additional towel sets before showering - only enough for 3. This causes me to wonder - they know you have 4 people, why not have the towels ready?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEAtlanta, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
The entire staff at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Atlanta thanks you for such a great review and the kind compliments. We certainly enjoyed having you with us. We hope you can find time to come back later this year and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Cache, Alberta, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Vira, Florett and the whole team made me feel at home. The room was cosy and the breakfast was good. Located in a central area of DT. Close to the aquarium and the coca cola museum.

Room Tip: The King room is quite reasonable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
We appreciate your acknowledgement for our staff members. Our exquisite atmosphere and uncompromising customer service make us a truly unique destination. Thank you for the lovely feedback, we will share all comments and compliments with our staff and they love to hear.
We appreciate your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

There was only one poor woman working the front desk upon our arrival who was checking in a line of guests and answering several phone calls it took us 45 minutes to get checked in. The owner was doing anything but helping her. When we finally got our keys, they didnt work. Three sets of keys and 30 minutes later, we finally got in our room. The next morning I made the mistake of eating the complimentary breakfast - runny gross eggs, microwaved bacon, watered down juice ,etc. To top it off, I must have told the person at the front desk 10 times not to charge my card because I paid through Expedia (and had my receipt with them). Monday morning, of course, they've charged my card and are telling me that I won't get the money back until 3 days from now. This was the worst hotel experience I have ever had.....ever.

Room Tip: choose a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay with us. We are very sorry you experienced an undesirable stay and level of customer service with us. The problems you mentioned with the levels of customer service at check in time was due to an unexpected rush but it has been taken to heart as we will be improving our methods. Please note that this is not typical of the Holiday Inn Express experience as we aim to provide and we will continue to work on these areas in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I was blown away by the personality of the entire service staff. Front desk and housekeeping all had a ton of positive energy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
It is wonderful to read your recent review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Atlanta. We strive to provide service that is beyond expectation and I am pleased you were able to experience this first hand during your special trip to Atlanta. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horseheads, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

A small European style hotel located close to the WCC, Georgia Aquariam, Peachtree St. and Olympic Centennial Park.

The property is clean and completely remodeled. The rooms are spacious and nicely appointed. Elevators are small and the hallways could use air conditioning but overall a very nice property.

My single room was a bit awkward trying to see the TV while in bed but only a minor glitch.

Free breakfasts were awesome with a variety each morning. Eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, fresh fruit, yogurt and juices.

The number one reason to like this hotel is service and hospitality. From the very first evening, I felt welcome. This included the front desk staff, the breakfast room personnel and even the maintenance person. Little things like a bottle of drinking water for guests when they come in from a walk are things which other hotels don't even think of.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
We thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Downtown as your Atlanta destination. We certainly enjoyed having you here with us. Your compliments and comments were appreciated and shared with the team. We are always looking for opportunities to improve the guest experience and it seems our staff members of all the various departments made us proud. Our team took pleasure in assisting you with your stay and truly looks forward to serving you again when your travels return you to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown

Address: 111 Cone Street NW, Atlanta, GA 30303 (Formerly Centennial Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#48 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to downtown Atlanta's most conveniently located hotel — the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown. Centered in downtown Atlanta, the Holiday Inn Express provides guests with affordable accommodations within close proximity to Atlanta's world-famous attractions, including the Georgia Aquarium (3 blocks), World of Coke (3 blocks), Philips Arena (4 blocks), CNN Center (4 blocks), Georgia World Congress Center (4 blocks), Centennial Park (2 blocks), and AmericasMart (2 blocks). Whether you're in Atlanta for business or to unwind with your loved ones, you'll enjoy our comfortably-appointed guest suites, which now include complimentary high-speed Internet and a host of other amenities. Not to mention, you'll savor our complimentary full hot breakfast before heading into town for the day. Enjoy the best of comfort and convenience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Downtown Atlanta. Remember, we're within walking distance to Atlanta's most-visited attractions and venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centennial Hotel Atlanta
Super 8 Atlanta
Atlanta Super 8
Atlanta Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.