We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet little giant downtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Atlanta Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn and Suites Atlanta Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn and Suites Atlanta Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Spring St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 10% off with AAA
Ranked #67 of 188 Hotels in Atlanta
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Quiet little giant downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I enjoyed my 4 night stay at this hotel very much. Easily accessible from the MARTA at Peachtree Centre if your coming in from ATL airport as I did.

My room on the 8th Floor was clean and well presented with everything I needed. Internet was wifi and complimentary. Breakfast, also complimentary was plentiful and varied.

The hotel is located within easy walking distance of many Atlanta attractions and is a good base for seeing the city. CNN, Olympic Park, Georgia Aquarium, Coca Cola World and many restaurants and cosy bars are located close to the hotel.

The hotel front desk, housekeeping and breakfast staff were all very friendly and courteous.

This hotel has two pedestrian access doors. The entrance on Spring Street is kept locked 24 hours a day with access granted by use of room key or intercom to front desk staff. The vehicle drop off entrance on Carnegie Way is open during the day time and room key access in the evening.

Thoroughly recommend this hotel as a good alternative to the bigger convention style hotels.

Room Tip: Higher floors will get you away from the road noise on Spring Street. I was on the top floor (8th) a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear oldsk8r,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to post a great review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown. I love the title you gave us… “Quiet little giant downtown”

I’m happy you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be convenient to all the downtown attractions and found the building safe and secure.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and a big thank you for recommending us for future convention travelers.

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    135
    54
    30
    20
See reviews for
124
79
33
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, GA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Centrally located, this is an excellent alternative to the large convention hotels that used to be your only choice if you wanted to stay downtown. Self parking is right by the door, though expensive at $18.00, I much prefer it to the parking garages that are usually you only option. Its an old renovated building but very well done.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Spring Street if street noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Columbus_GASteve,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to post an excellent review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

I’m happy you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be convenient for downtown conventions that take place at the GWCC.

Please come back and stay with us soon!

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERRIMACK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Recently stayed here for business and chose this location because of its location to downtown and various attractions. First off the hotel is very nicely appointed and modern in appearance, with typical HI decore, nice breakfast, etc. My room was a king suite, which had a separate small living room with TV, couch, desk and a nice sized bedroom. Also a small wet bar with fridge etc. the room was very clean and worked well as a place to crash at night. The only issue I had, which other reviewers have mentioned is the noise. As this is a historic building, the windows are old pane glass and NOT soundproof at all. In fact you can hear someone's conversation on the street below, and I was on the 6th floor facing a side street. With it being close to downtown you hear all the traffic, fire engines, buses and such. It was just too bad that they cannot upgrade the windows. Everything else was great, the staff was helpful and very pleasant. However when I'm back in the downtown Atlanta area I will look for another hotel, like the Weston which is almost next door and much more modern building. Note the Marriott across the street also has it share of problems, as a colleague of mine was staying there and did not like it at all.
Great restaurants nearby, try Guirneys Pub in peach tree plaza lower level, great food at reasonable prices.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear 2tall4red,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to post a review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

I’m glad you found our location to be convenient and our rooms well appointed for your needs. I’m sorry for any inconvenience the street level noise played on your stay. As you pointed out, we are a Historical building and some of the uniqueness comes from the original windows.

I hope that you will reconsider your decision to stay with us when you travel to Atlanta again.

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed in the Hampton Inn for the first leg of our holiday and were very impressed. The staff were professional and helpful, the accomodation (top floor suite) was excellent and the breakfasts of a very high quality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Lee R,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to post a great review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

I am glad you enjoyed our breakfast and found our staff to be professional and helpful.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

In a city where polite helpfulness seems to be the norm, the Reception staff here need to up their game. You can't just walk in off the street but have to use an intercom in the entrance porch. It's glass so I could see the woman at the counter was dealing with a customer. I buzzed several times and was ignored. It was starting to get a bit bizarre when I finally got buzzed in. The welcome continued to seem a bit ambivalent. The room was fine but not great value and quite noisy - ok it's an old building and not purpose-built, but next time I would opt for the Marriott over the road. Pluses: nice breakfast staff (who should be promoted to the front desk!) good inclusive breakfast that would have been nicer still without the disposable cutlery and crockery, comfortable room - but oddly no fridge. Excellent location.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear geolon,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to post a review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

I’m sorry you were not greeted in the timely and courteous manner that is expected from our staff. Rest assured I will bring this to the staff’s attention so hopefully it will not happen in the future.

Thank you for pointing out our excellent location in the downtown Atlanta area.

I hope that you will reconsider your decision to stay with us again.

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were very happy with our stay at Hampton Inn Downtown. The room,although small, proved to be comfy and cozy and very clean. The breakfast and breakfast area were excellent. Every one of the staff members that I encountered were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The lobby has a modern, bright and cheerful ambiance that I appreciated after observing some other hotels that appear dingy and dimly lit. To go breafast bags at front desk is a nice touch. We were very pleased with the location as it is within walking distance of the tourist attractions in downtown Atlanta. We took a cab to the Braves game and had no trouble or wait in getting one there and back.around $10 + tip Only problem was the street noise as it is an old bldg with old windows but to be expected because of that I guess. Overall would definitely stay here again and would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear NanJay,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to post a great review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

I’m happy you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be convenient to all the downtown attractions. Thank you for pointing out the wonderful breakfast and the complimentary “on-the-run” breakfast bags offered on the weekdays at the front desk.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you for recommending us in the future!

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a great place to stay in Atlanta. It is walking distance to the Georgia Aquarium, Coca Cola, CNN, and Centennial Park. It is also only a short walk to Underground Atlanta and a short drive to Turner Field. We have stayed here a couple of times and would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Atlanta Downtown

Address: 161 Spring St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#65 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Atlanta Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
Hampton Inn Atlanta
Atlanta Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn and Suites Atlanta Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.