We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel central location.........” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Atlanta Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn and Suites Atlanta Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Atlanta Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Spring St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 10% off with AAA
Ranked #50 of 188 hotels in Atlanta
sknafk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Nice hotel central location.........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Nice hotel very central downtown location.........ideal for visiting Atlanta
Clean rooms, helpful friendly staff, nice breakfast.
Perfect for visiting CNN, Coca Cola World, Downtown Atlanta, Georgia Aquarium,
Martin Luther King Jr. Nat. Historic Site, Cyclorama & Civil War Museum and more....

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    112
    40
    20
    16
See reviews for
99
63
31
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

This hotel is very well situated in the heart of downtown Atlanta. The subway stop "Peachtree center" is only a few minutes away. Ideally situated for events at Geogria Dome, the convention center or the Philipps Arena. The city's main attractions are a few minutes away (Georgia Aquarium, World of CocaCola).
Good breakfast provided to start the day (however the lobby is quite small so breakfast can be a little bit crowded depending on the time). We had a room on the 8th floor. Very quiet but was a little bit lacking of shower pressure. Sometime you had to wait a few minutes for hot water too. Finally the bed was a bit small (definitively not the king size bed we booked). Otherwise I would still recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

For the past two to three years, I have utilized the Hampton Inn & Suites Hotel in Downtown Atlanta for my Church related conferences. The Hotel accommodates our budget and they are church friendly. It is a joy to pass on the event planning requirements to the Sales Team. On the day of the event, my desires were executed flawlessly. The quality of services provided by the entire staff on duty on the day of the event allowed me to focus on the training event which gave me a sense of peace.

I equally appreciated the set-up of the conference room and ease of accessibility to the breakfast area. Many of my conference attendees are impressed with the "all-you-can-east breakfast buffett", and look forward with great with great anticipation. It is a great hit on every visit. We are a small group of approximately 40 persons, and utilize the classroom set-up. There standard set up with table linen and skirting is awesome. The costs for equipment are also reasonable.

This past conference, I opted to utilize the overnight accommodations as well. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, wireless connections and a full breakast is included in the nightly rate. This is not a full service hotel, but you get the full treatment expected of a 4 or 5 star hotel. In addition to the beautifully building and amenities, the Sales and Front Office staff makes it an easy decision to return year after year.

The hotel is in a great location in downtown Atlanta. There are many other hotels in the area with higher costs for their conference rooms and overnight accommodations, but the church friendly services, such as allowing outside food to be brought into the hotel, assists with our limited budget. The hotel is very close to all of the major attractions which are in walking distance and one block from the Marta Train Station.

Room Tip: All room are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

I stayed here for five days in January to attend a conference in a different hotel that was sold out. It was during the same time as a large poultry conference so none of the other Hilton properties were available. Its a Hampton Inn, which is not my preferred choice when my employer is paying, but it was pretty perfect for a Hampton Inn.

It looks in every way shape and form like most of the newer Hampton Inn's do. Quiet, clean rooms and bathrooms, usual Hampton Inn free breakfast and Internet. I had one minor mechanical room problem that was addressed very quickly and the staff went out of the way to apologize even though it wasn't a big deal. Overall, I thought the staff was super friendly. The hotel is about 2 blocks off the main downtown strip, I consider it completely safe for a guy to walk around at night, but if you are solo female traveler you may want to be walked back by another person or have an ambassador escort you home just to avoid being hassled. Just one of the pains of downtown atlanta, which the city is attempting to clean up (it was much better since the last time I was in downtown ATL). I'd definitely recommend it and I will probably stay here again the next time I need to stay downtown and can't get a room in the downtown Hilton.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

Spent a week at this hotel and can say I have no complaints. The staff goes beyond being friendly. Even the man changing lights on my floor greeted me with a smile. Room was excellent. Breakfast was great each morning.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglassville, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

My Laptop was stolen from my room, in the evening. They offered no restitution no help.
It cost me over $ 2400 to replace and rebuild the software.
Their insurance company won't help either!! Beware!!!!

Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton-Atlanta, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
While we feel badly about your expense, both myself and our hotel's insurer, a nationally reputable company, did a thorough investigation and could find no supporting evidence that the laptop was stolen at our hotel. We regret that you felt it necessary to publish such unsubstantiated accusations but, nevertheless, hope to see you again as a guest at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

This hotel has everything you'd expect in a Hampton, plus the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. In addition, they provide coffee in paper-based cups rather than that nasty polystyrene that spoils the flavor, and they have cookies at the front desk every afternoon. What's not to like?

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Atlanta Downtown

Address: 161 Spring St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#45 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#51 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Atlanta Downtown 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
Hampton Inn Atlanta
Atlanta Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn and Suites Atlanta Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.