We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, and excellent staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   134 Peachtree Street Northwest, Atlanta, GA 30303 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #36 of 191 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Mishawaka
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, and excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent. Very close to the Marta hub, and an easy walk to downtown. We were visiting for the Final Four and walked to and from the activities. Free breakfast and the staff was very accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine P, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Mcsmithrs,
Thanks for writing a review of your stay with us during the Final Four! Yes, the ability to refrain from moving the car is a big plus when traveling to large cities, so I'm glad to learn you were able to walk about with ease to your festivities. Please come back and stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Atlanta!
Christine P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    142
    40
    8
    14
See reviews for
76
58
26
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

For staying in the heart of downtown Atlanta, very convenient location. Easy walk with bagage from MARTA to hotel - saved $ on a cab ride, and time too. Good restaurants resonably close for evening meals, breakfast at hotel better than average.
I liked the hotel overall, and would look to stay there again on any other trip into Atlanta, even with family.

Room Tip: The suite was fully equipped for the economy visitor - all appliances available to cook, and service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine P, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Russel T,
Thanks for taking time to write a review of your recent stay with us. It's great to hear you found the location convenient and the suite style room a nice benefit. Please do come back to see us the very niext time your travels bring to Atlanta!
Cheers,
Christine P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, MI
Level Contributor
194 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I loved this hotel and chose it after reading other good reviews on Trip Advisor. Take MARTA to the Peachtree Center exit and stay at the lower level until you get to Ellis Street (great directions came from the hotel staff). Your other option is to take MARTA to Five Points, exit Forsyth, and turn RIGHT. Go four blocks. Forsyth and Peachtree meet right near the hotel - it's a little easier to understand if you come out of the Five Points station (if you're not familiar with Downtown Atlanta). The rooms in this hotel are lovely and the staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for maximum quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine P, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Professordoctorm,
Thank you for writing a review of your stay! I agree the convenience of taking MARTA can't be beat, especially since you can pick up the train just outside of baggage claim at the airport. Please come back and stay with us again when your travels next bring you to Atlanta!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Just returned from a stay at this property for the Final Four with my son and thought it was great! We were really only at the hotel to sleep, bathe, and eat breakfast but I can tell you that everyone we interacted with was fantastic! They remembered us and what he had talked about the day before and went out of their way to greet us with a smile.
We were able to check in early(9:30AM) on the day of our arrival, which was great and our room, while small, was great for what we needed it for(see above). The location of the hotel was close enough to walk but just far enough to get away from the chaos of the Final Four activities. We were up for walking and taking in the city so we walked from Turner Field for a Braves game to the hotel, to the MLK Site and birth home and to the GA Dome, Aquarium, and Coca Cola and it never felt like it was too far, but of course the weather was great.
I was worried about the noise because of other reviews but we were on the 4th floor and I had no complaints of noise/traffic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine P, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Settlefamily,
Wow, you had a big week in Atlanta! The staff and I are so glad you were able to see the sites, enjoy a Braves game, as well as attend the Final Four! You really know how to do the town! I'm glad to learn the room was comfortable and quiet. Please stay with us again when you travel to Atlanta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
147 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stay here once a year and have never been disappointed with the quality of service or rooms. It's a great location, walk to WCC, Bicentennial park, the aquarium, and Peachtree street. Service has always been very good, and they have an evening happy hour with drinks and snacks, very nice touch.

I would recommend this hotel if you're in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine P, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Livetotravel,
Thanks sincerely for writing a review of your stay. I'm glad you like the evening social. This is an amenity that makes us a little different, and I love to hear that it met your satisfaction! So great to enjoy a libation while watching the city below. Please come and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, MI
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great location, about 12-15 minute walk to Georgia Dome, G Aquarium. A sub place next door, and a good 24 hour dinner 1.5 blocks.

Friendly staff, no problems with the room. Spoke with the general manager in passing and she seemed like the type of person to take care of any problems. Rooms clean. The prices were really kicked up for the NCAA Basketball Finals.

Breakfast is the norm, the eggs were hot, not like they had been sitting in the kettle for an hour.

The parking is poor, only valet parking at $25 per day.

Only two minor issues that would not make me not stay here again. i called for my car, waited 15 minutes, went to the curb, and the valet claimed he had not received a call from the front desk. Nonetheless, he had the car in three minutes. The second, when I checked in they said I had cancelled my reservation the night before, but quickly overcame that issue.

If I needed to stay in downtown Atlanta again I would stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine P, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear GoBlue2222,
Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay with us during the Final Four. I'm glad we were able to overcome the reservation discrepancy and parking error. We will be sure to cover these items in our team meeting to tighten up our service delivery. We appreciate your business very much and ask that you come back and stay with us again when you next visit Atlanta! Oh, and thanks for the kind note about my caring - I love my job. Great people like you make it so worthwhile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It is an older building but this is not bothersome as the rooms have been renovated. The breakfast was well appointed with plenty of options. However, if that is not your choice, there were plenty of restaurants in the vicinity. There were also plenty of clubs in the area if you enjoy nightlife. Also, many other places in the vicinity - Starbucks, CVS, Subway, Dunkin Doughnuts, Georgia State Univ, etc. I stayed in a corner room which seemed to be smaller than the typical Residence Inn suite, but it was still comfortable. Staff was very nice and accommodating. It was cold in Atlanta during my stay and the room did get a chill, but extra blankets were not a problem. Valet service was quick and he was helpful with directions. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If you need space, do not get a corner room. Higher floors have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine P, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Erica W,
Thank you very much for writing a review of your stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed the location with all the good restaurants and clubs within walking distance. As you well noted, we are a historical building with modern guest rooms - an eclectic mix that our guests love! I look forward to meeting you when you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
#44 of 191 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn and Suites Atlanta Downtown
Ellis Hotel
#40 of 191 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 stars 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
#16 of 191 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 stars 2,069 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Atlanta Downtown
Holiday Inn Atlanta Downtown
#124 of 191 in Atlanta
3.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown

Address: 134 Peachtree Street Northwest, Atlanta, GA 30303
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#36 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#62 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott Atlanta Downtown is nestled in the heart of thriving downtown Atlanta. Situated on world famous Peachtree Street, enjoy the convenience of being only 9 miles from Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport and across the street from the MARTA transit system, with direct access to Hartsfield-Jackson. Located in the historic and beautifully converted Haverty's building, Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown exudes the charm and character of a bygone era with a contemporary flair. Well appointed and spacious, our suites offer full kitchens with granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances, flat screen televisions, and complimentary wi-fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.