We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Galleria

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Galleria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Galleria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2780 Windy Ridge Parkway, Atlanta, GA 30339   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Relaxation Package!
Ranked #89 of 188 hotels in Atlanta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on our way down to Orlando. It was very convenient for us as it was just off the expressway. Plus there is shopping and tons of restaurants nearby. The hotel itself was very nice and we received a great room. It was a suite which was comprised of a private bedroom and a separate living area. It worked out really well for my family as my wife and I could relax and watch some tv after we put our kids to bed and not have to worry about the tv or our conversation keeping them up. The room and hotel were clean and well maintained. Plus we got fresh cookies upon check-in.

The only criticisms I can think of are that the cable wasn't working properly and we didn't get some of the channels we should have. We even called maintenance but there was nothing he could do. A free breakfast would have been nice but it isn't a big deal because there is a donut shop right around the corner. Lastly, the pool was a little small. It served its purpose but my kids kind of got bored with it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    86
    54
    33
    26
See reviews for
79
58
20
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

In March, my family booked a suite at the Doubletree for a long weekend in June. We walked into the hotel and were overwhelmed with the amount of people and loudness and immediately wished we could go somewhere else. The staff told us numerous amounts of times that they were sold out and could not accommodate any of our requests for anything. We went up to our room and were shocked by the dirtiness. There was a huge grease spot on the sofa and the smell of smoke was almost unbearable. That night when we pulled out the linens for the sleeper sofa, we noticed that the blanket supplied was FULL of black hairs. My husband went to the front desk and asked for a new blanket and we were once again told that they were sold out so they gave us 2 sheets in place of a blanket. Thankfully our kids brought blankets so they didn't get cold. After that ordeal, I pulled the sheets back to get into bed and was greeted by ANOTHER long black hair. They were all over the sheets and floor, there were stains on the floor, and pink scum in the bathtub. The pool was tiny and didn't open until 10am. The lady in the bar was very unhelpful despite the nice tip I gave, and the staff was very unfriendly and unhelpful. When we checked out, I went to the front desk to make sure I didn't need to do anything and the lady at the counter didn't even look up at me and just said I didn't need to do anything. All in all, this was a horrible experience that I hope no one else has to come across. I am SHOCKED that Hilton would have their name on this hotel. Stay away from this place unless you enjoy dirty living!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Galleria, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear guest,

Please accept my sincere apology for your displeasure on your recent stay. I am as shocked as you to learn of the issues you stated you and your family encountered. I assure you it is not the norm for the DoubleTree Suites Atlanta Galleria.
The loudness is something we try very hard to keep to a minimum especially after 5:00PM and your concerns have been discussed with our management team. The staff should not have given any excuses and should have done everything possible to meet your request.
I have discussed the room issues you spoke of with our executive housekeeper/rooms division manager and general manager. I do not know what room you were in so I really cannot address the smoke smell until I know. You said there was a huge grease spot on the sofa, hairs in the room, bed, blankets, sheets and pink scum in the bathtub, again I would like to know what room so I may address that with housekeeping as well. I assure you this is very unusual and I have discussed this with our executive team as well. You said the pool was tiny, there is nothing I can do to change that so I am sorry you were disappointed. I have discussed your issue with the "lady in the bar" with our food & beverage manager. Our staff is usually very friendly and helpful. As a memebr of the hotels executive team I have discussed this with everyone as well.

I hope you will give us the opportunity to correct the issues you have brought to our attention as well as the opportunity to discuss these with you in person or over the telephone. Please give me a call at the hotel and allow me the opportunity to do what I can to make amends. Again, I assure you this is not the norm for our hotel.

Kind regards,
Debbie Wells
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We recently stayed here with our two children and it was great. The hotel staff was wonderful and the beds were beyond comfortable. The pool was perfect for both swimming and lounging around. Will most definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie W, Director of Sales at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Galleria, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Good day, Robyn

Thank you for your review of the DoubleTree Suites Atlanta Galleria hotel. I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay, the pool and the comfy beds. I hope your kids enjoyed it as much as you did. Our 600 sq. ft. two room suites are perfect for families as well as corporate guests. We strive to make certain our guests are satisfied and happy with their stay and knowing you will return is very important to us. I do hope you were able to enjoy our signature DoubleTree Wake Up Breakfast with our daily fresh baked pastries, muffins and flaky buttery croissants.

All of us at the DoubleTree Suites Atlanta Galleria look forward to your retun visit when your travels bring you to the Atlanta Galleria area. By all means feel free to recommend us to your friend, family and work associates. Have a great day and summer and if I may ever be of assistance please contact me.

Yours in hospitality,
Debbie Wells
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Very roomy suites with nicely decorated sitting area, king bed with top quality linens, and a shower head that I wanted to take home with me! Fresh-baked cookies upon check-in are a definite plus.

At first they placed us in a handicap-accessible room, which was small and unattractive. We immediately contacted the front desk and they relocated us into the room next door, which was 70-80% larger and nicely decorated.

Great location just off I-75 north of Atlanta. Excellent restaurants, shopping, entertainment within minutes. Ample secure free parking, and a friendly staff add to the atmosphere.

All rooms open to the Atrium, so expect lobby noise especially if they are hosting an event. We were unlucky enough to be there while a high school reunion was taking place. I just closed the pass-through doors to the bathroom and sitting area, turned the A/C fan to the 'ON' position and we slept like babies.

This hotel is great for business, families or couples.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get stuck with an 'accessible' room as they are much smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie W, Director of Sales at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Galleria, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Good day valued guest,

Thank you for such a nice review of the DoubleTree Suites Atlanta Galleria. We are very proud of our friendly staff and the amenities our hotel has to offer all our guests. From our comfortable beds, quality lines, that wonderful shower head, full service restaurant and lounge to our signature DoubleTree Chocolate Chip cookies we do everything possible to make our travelers I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay, the restaurants, shopping and free parking. We look forward to your return when your travels bring you to the Atlanta Galleria area. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I may be of assistance in the future.

Our Promise:
We provide the special comforts and acts of kindness that make the traveler feel human again


Again, thank you for your review and safe travels.

Debbie Wells
Director of Sales
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Atlanta Galleria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My girl wanted to spend the weekend with me here in Atlanta and asked me to suggest a hotel. I took a chance on the Doubletree even though another friend of my claimed to have had a bad experience. On a holiday weekend sometimes hotels are short staffed and grounds and common areas are not kept up—not so with the Doubletree. The grounds were very clean and well kept common areas. The two room suite was amazing for the rate. It was also clean a well kept. The only complaint that I have is the jets on the Jacuzzi tub did not work and the bathroom fixtures need some attention.
The staff was very nice and accommodating. The buffet breakfast was really good. They needed addition help in that area. They had one person doing too many jobs leaving the customers waiting for beverage refills and such. There was some type of party taking place and the music was very loud but it was a Saturday night and they did cut it off at a reasonable hour so we did not complain. Overall our stay was great and I would stay there again. I think I will have them to host my next birthday party. The cookies were awesome!

Room Tip: If you get a suite you may not want a balcony because of the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie W, Director of Sales at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Galleria, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear valued guest,

I sincerely thank you for your review of the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Atlanta Galleria. I am so pleased you and your girl were happy with your stay. Our housekeeping and engineering departments take great pride in keeping our hotel clean and neat from inside to outside. We do take great pleasure in having a nice and accommodating staff to welcome and care for our guests.

I do apologize the jets in the jacuzzi tub did not work and have passed this along to our engineering department so they may rectify the situation. I have also passed on your comment about the service in the restaurant to our Food & Beverage manager and do apologize you and your girl had to wait for beverage refills. Yes, our signature DoubleTree cookies are awesome!

We would be most happy to be your hotel of choice to host your next birthday party. Our food & beverage staff and catering/banquet staff will make your party memorable and enjoyable.

We value you as a guest and truly appreciate your comments. Please contact me should you need assistance in the future.

Our Promise:
We provide the special comforts and acts of kindness that make the traveler feel human again

Yours in hospitality,
Debbie Wells
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Well a bit older style hotel, but upgrades in room were nice and comfortable inner rooms were quiet. The airconditioning once turned off continued to be heard the entire night which is not so good for a good rest. The bathroom were dated, but reasonably clean for the accomadations. Not much within walking distance for outside eating, but very close to highway for additional access in the general area. For a few nights, good place to stay.

Room Tip: Inside Rooms best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie W, Director of Sales at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Galleria, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear, Phoenix Arizona

I appreciate your time in reviewing the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Atlanta Galleria on your recent stay. It is important that we know any issues you may have had so we are able to correct them as quickly as possible. I have given your issue with the air conditioning to our chief engineer and he will take care of it and I do apologize for the inconvenience.

Our restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and we offer room service as well as a full service lounge. In addition, we do have several restaurants within walking distance with a great many more within a 1/4 mile of the hotel so I am happy you were able to find restaurants easily.

I do hope when your travels bring you back to the Atlanta Galleria area you will once again stay with us. We look forward to your return and wish you safe travels.

Yours in hospitality,
Debbie Wells
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida, usa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I had a wonderful time here. The hotel was classy, welcoming, and well kept up. The service was always nice and did there jobs. Everything was always either clean or being cleaned. My only complaint though was that there is not free WI fi in the rooms. Other than that everything was perfect and I'll defiantly be returning,

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTSUITESATLANTA, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Galleria, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have a great Housekeeping Staff, they take a lot of pride in their work. Come and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Galleria

Address: 2780 Windy Ridge Parkway, Atlanta, GA 30339
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Galleria 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Guest Suite Hotel located in the heart of the Cobb Galleria Business District. Each suite is 600 sq. ft. with a parlor and seperate bedroom, some have Jacuzzi tubs and some have walkin showers. Property offers 5,000 square feet of flexible Meeting Space to accommdate up to 250 guests. Close proximity to major interstates and Downtown Atlanta attractions. Within walking distance to dozens of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Guest Suites Atlanta-Galleria Hotel Atlanta
Doubletree Hotel Atlanta Galleria
Doubletree Atlanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Galleria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.