We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent large hotel accommodates conferences well” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlanta Marriott Marquis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Atlanta Marriott Marquis to your Saves list
Atlanta Marriott Marquis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   265 Peachtree Center Avenue, Atlanta, GA 30303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #68 of 190 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Happy Valley, Oregon
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent large hotel accommodates conferences well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This Marriott can feel overwhelming when you first walk in because it's big - very big! Consider the fact that they need four multi-elevator banks to transport guests to their rooms, and three floors for meeting space and ballrooms, and you get the idea. That being said, it has a small hotel feel. Service is personalized and speedy. Room service meals are of excellent quality and delivered quickly, even when the hotel is full. A small shop offers limited food choices to go, but the restaurants seem to be sized well for the crowd. The only issue appeared to be inadequate bar staff when conferences are in full swing. Oh, and Starbuck's isn't allowed to serve hot food (competition?) I highly recommend this for your next trip to downtown Atlanta!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    777
    277
    99
    74
See reviews for
240
248
105
983
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, MI
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

just returned from five nights here for the Americas Apparel Prom market (which is very close by, easy to walk to).. will DEFINITELY stay here again. All I can say is that these people should train every other hotel on what customer service is! From the prompt answer to any call you make with any questions, to the concierge lounge's staff going out of their way to greet everyone and make them feel at home, to the food (amazing fresh desserts, fruit, veggies in concierge), to the extremely comfortable beds...every aspect of this hotel is top notch. we were on the 31st floor and it was sooo quiet at night, I slept like a baby. The elevators are in banks which is a little confusing but it is all so that you save time waiting. Being GOLD at marriott here is wonderful, you save on the Internet fee and again the concierge lounge was fabulous. great breakfast and the evening snacks were plenty for a full meal. oh and the cookies and brownies.. YUM! (obviously I ate well!) I thank you Marriott Marquis for a great stay for myself and my teenage daughter.

Room Tip: if you are GOLD or PLATINUM, try to stay near the concierge level (42), so that you are in the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The unusual appearance of the inside of the hotel got me at first. it was great. The staff was really superb, vey helpful. We had an unusual request upon check-in and they did their best to accommodate us. It all worked out fine. Our room was excellent, clean and comfortable.
The location of the hotel was perfect for us. Everything within walking distance.Breakfast was excellent. This is a great hotel and worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David O, Hotel Manager at Atlanta Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I can reply to feedback like this all day long! Our building is unique. The open atrium is awesome and the archeture of the building is very impressive. I'm glad you loved the service, the room and you would recommend the hotel. Thanks again and I look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

What a beautiful hotel! It was a truly extraordinary experience, the staff was excellent!! Friendly& helpful,especially desmona! It wasin. A great location, you could walk to the world of coca cola & the georgia aquarium, it also had a connection to the mall across the street! You could just go right into the mall,( which h ad great dining choices).the hotel had some incredible views from the top floor! It was exceptionally clean and had several dining choices,it has a parking garage that is adjacent to the hotel,also another parking garage directly açross the street. It also was conveniently located near several great restaurants, Great choice&/ well worth the cost!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David O, Hotel Manager at Atlanta Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for the fabulous comments especially the comments about Desmona. She is terrific and we are very lucky to have her on our team. Thanks also for the great comments about the staff overall. We really hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed here for a business conference, and I wish we could go here every year. This property is HUGE but still manages to feel cozy because of the way the common areas are organized. There was another conference here at the same time, and we never felt "crowded" at all. The meeting rooms are very comfortable. Loved the restaurants and the bar area. Every single staff member was amazing, from valet to check in to housekeeping to concierge to food services. Amazing.
The only reason I didn't give it an excellent? No free Wi-Fi except in Lobby. How is that even possible these days, especially since this is a pricey hotel!

Room Tip: Higher rooms are better, over the 18th floor and the views are great for skyline/city view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David O, Hotel Manager at Atlanta Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review. I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel on your business trip. I agree with you even though this is a big hotel it has a small feel to it with the restaurants and bars close to each other. I hope you come back to Atlanta soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed in Atlanta the end of July from a Wednesday-Saturday. My mom, daughters-ages 7 & 9 and myself and we had a wonderful stay. When we arrived we were there around 9 in the morning and the hotel didn't hesitate to give us our room and even offered an upgrade! So happy. We stayed in a parlor suite, which had a frig, entertaining area, big bathroom with two sinks (one separate and one in with toilet and shower), a murphy king size bed and a sofa sleeper. Plus several chairs to sit in. PLENTY OF ROOM FOR US!! Both beds were super comfy too! Rooms were always clean and any problems we encountered were taken care of within a few short minutes.

The store downstairs has several different options for grabbing some snacks, and the restaurants on site were delicious. We ate at the sports bar a couple nights and heard others rave about the other restaurants too. The hotel was FULL of 31 bag ladies and they were everywhere! The pool was a nice size, but not heated from what we could tell. The hot tub felt good but I was only able to enjoy it one night because it was FULL of people every other time we were there. For a hotel of 1600 rooms they need more than one hot tub, because the one they have is smaller than most hotels we have stayed it. (The pool/hot tub is really the only reason I can't give it 5 stars).

We flew into Atlanta and chose not to rent a car while there. BEST DECISION EVER! The Marta takes you EVERYWHERE and is very handy and close to the hotel. WIth the attached covered walkway to Peachtree center you can get there easily. Peachtree center was nice and convenient but if you are looking for shopping it is not the best shopping plus it all closes at like 6:00, which is crazy. You can walk through it to get to your hotel but it closes so early in my opinion. Anyway, we used the Marta to get to the North Point Mall (American Girl bistro), to Virginia Highland and the airport. All of the people of Atlanta were super friendly in helping us figure out where we needed to go to get where we wanted!! We were in walking distance to Georgia Aquarium, Coke, CNN, and the Olympic Park.

Be sure to take the elevator to the top floor, great views!

We picked this hotel for the convenience of Atlanta Fashion Week Venue (which was our reason for being in town) but are glad we did. Great hotel with awesome staff!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David O, Hotel Manager at Atlanta Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your incredible and well thought out response. I am so happy you stayed with us over Atlanta Fashion Week. The Parlor Suite is comfortable and huge and I'm so glad you and the girls enjoyed it. Next time I hope you get to the aquarium and word of coke. Please come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singer Island, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The staff in this hotel was very friendly, and the service was great. The hotel is within walking distance to the Georgia Dome and Olympic Park. The space station design is kind of weird and they need more options for breakfast dining options. There is a a diner around the corner if you don't want to spend $30 per person on the buffet option at the hotel. The wifi worked well, but came at a cost of $19 for 24 hours. Overall I was very happy with my stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David O, Hotel Manager at Atlanta Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments about our staff and how friendly they are. I'm glad the location worked out well for you. We would love to have you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlanta Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlanta Marriott Marquis

Address: 265 Peachtree Center Avenue, Atlanta, GA 30303
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#20 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#35 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#45 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#61 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlanta Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1675
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Atlanta Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Marquis Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Marriott Atlanta
Atlanta Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlanta Marriott Marquis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.