We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Hotel in the middle of downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Marquis Atlanta

Save Saved
You added Marriott Marquis Atlanta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott Marquis Atlanta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   265 Peachtree Center Avenue, Atlanta, GA 30303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Rates from $128
Ranked #59 of 189 hotels in Atlanta
GreenLeadersSilver level
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Huge Hotel in the middle of downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

This is one large hotel, however doesn't feel too impersonal. Staff were very nice and friendly and is a good location for walking to all the attractions and the conference centre. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Didn't have any meals here, but got my coffee each morning at Starbucks (located in the lobby area) which is very handy. The gym is large and has all new equipment which is great...the challenge was finding time to use it! Good value.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    506
    646
    213
    71
    57
See reviews for
183
205
88
785
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

As a Marriott Gold Member I have stayed in a lot of Marriott properties for many years. Every portion of this stay was exactly as It should be! The staff was extremely friendly, quick and efficient. I was very impressed with the staff handling the traffic out front. It is very impressive how they keep all the cars moving in such an efficient manner.

Room Tip: Club level floor is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I really liked this hotel. Its big, about 1800 rooms. Visually it is very impressive inside and out. The hotel has very good rooms including extremely comfortable beds. On a busy business trip I found the hotel a great place to recharge.
Good sized rooms and bathroom.
This hotel also has an excellent restaurant. Good wine list a good food. I enjoyed a magnificent dry aged piece of beef that was perfectly cooked and rested. The breakfast is also very good.
The one thing I noticed is a lack of a mini bar, but that seems to be the case in most US hotels these days.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I travel weekly for business and have never had such a disappointing experience. The hotel is over priced and takes advantage of the customers who are obligated to stay there because of conferences. From the moment I pulled into the parking area and was intimidated and bullied into parking in their garage ($32 a day) to the moment I got yelled at by their business department, I regretted that I had reserved two nights there. The Marriot Marquis in Atlanta is a money pit. If you have anything mailed to the hotel, as often happens at a conference, you are charged a $10 "receiving" fee. There is a charge for wi-fi and there is no refrigerator. The restaurants are over priced and the food is mediocre. After being taken advantage of my entire stay, the biggest offense happened after I was home. I always use a credit card when checking into hotels to avoid the "incidental hold" they put on debit cards. I checked in using my credit card at the Marriot Marquis. When I got home I checked my accounts and found two $50 charges for incidentals on my debit card. After over an hour on the phone to various staff members at the hotel and also with Marriott Customer Care, I was routed to the business office to find out why I needed to wait 5-7 business days to get my money credited to my account. The Marriott person told me that "if I would quit interrupting her she would explain everything". The explanation was that I had used my debit card to buy food at two hotel properties and that it is their policy to place an incidentals charge on food purchases. Absurd!! DON'T GO THERE!!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starkville, Mississippi
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

NIce place to stay in downtown. Very large and elevators can be confusing. Very large conference area. Nice hotel bar area. Offers great views of downtown Atlanta. Good Gym and workout area. There is not much going on in downtown Atlanta at night during the week.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Spending 4 nights in this hotel was lovely! We had splendid skyline views and the hotel was soo big yet you had so much privacy.
The staff were exceptionally sweet at check-in as were the lovely porters, especially when we were leaving and needed to use the luggage room.
The Starbucks there is perfect for a caffeine fix, morning or evening, though it can be busy at breakfast time.
Great location, walking distance from so many attractions!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed at the Marriott Marquis Atlanta this weekend for one night and had a great stay. We reserved two rooms for four people and were upgraded to two very large connecting suites. Thank you Jeff at the front desk. Although an older property and a bit unlike the modern contemporary style that I normally prefer, this hotel had so much charm and very well maintained. It is in a great location and definitely centrally located.

My only issue was the valet parking. It took them forever to locate our vehicle and you have to go through a separate exit to get to the valet. All in all, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: See if you can upgrade to a Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Marquis Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis Atlanta

Address: 265 Peachtree Center Avenue, Atlanta, GA 30303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#19 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#32 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#51 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#55 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis Atlanta 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Marriott Marquis Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Marquis Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Marriott Atlanta
Atlanta Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Marquis Atlanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.