We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Marquis Atlanta

Save Saved
You added Marriott Marquis Atlanta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott Marquis Atlanta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   265 Peachtree Center Avenue, Atlanta, GA 30303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Rates from $128
Ranked #56 of 188 hotels in Atlanta
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bowie, Maryland
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed here while attending a hotel conference at the nearby AmericasMart facility. Loved my stay for mainly two reasons: The hotel itself is in impeccable shape, and the people are well-trained and delightful to deal with.

For the common traveler - this place borders on the side of luxury, although, it is in fact a 3-4 star establishment. But the grandeur of the building, the spaciousness of the three level lobby, and the occasional celebrity sightings make for awe-inspiring strolls throughout the complex.

The Marriott Marquis Atlanta Downtown boasts at least 4 onsite restaurants (if you count Starbucks as a restaurant), an indoor-outdoor montage pool area, a jacuzzi and spa, and a decent workout room. Room service was expensive ($35 for just myself), but quick and tasty.

The employees - or "associates" as their called - are very well mannered. The constant that I liked most was the insistence on referring to me by name every time I spoke to someone via the phone from my hotel room. Using my name creates a impression of familiarity, and although technically artificial - left me feeling good about the persons with whom I was speaking, each time I called.

I love the fact that that they offer two wake-up call times each time you ask for that service (it's a clever take on a common service request), and say "my pleasure" every time you say "Thank You" for some duty favor they have just performed. It just makes you feel like the premium rates you're paying for being in downtown Atlanta are actually worth it.

The one thing I would suggest the hotel look into is ensuring that the guest room doors close automatically upon exiting the room. I had a room on the 31st floor, and I had to manually shut the door each time I departed to ensure the door actually closed, and therefore locked.

Regardless of that minor issue, I'd still give this place a "5" and would definitely come back and stay if it weren't for me getting an unbeatable deal at one of its competitor brands.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,421 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    487
    619
    201
    66
    48
See reviews for
171
194
85
758
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I like the hotel a lot. The room was comfortable and the people were great. It is very centrally located and easy to get to/from.

I only ate there once - had the french onion soup which was very good, so don't have a lot of commentary about the food.

Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro,NC
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
176 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a big hotel as you would expect in a major city. I was upgraded to a suite as a Gold member and being this Friday night looked like the hotel was near empty. Did not eat or drink at the hotel (the Hard Rock Cafe is close and fun) but the suite was very nice, the staff was extremely nice and all was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed four nights during Atlanta Gift Show. Atlanta Police Dept were breaking into rooms arresting people for prostitution . Marriott Marquis Atlanta should be ashamed of working with police to set up their customers. I watched from across hotel concerned that when police barge into a room would the person in room starting shooting. Would someone be hit by stray bullet?
Shame on Marriott. Doesn't the Atlanta Police Department have better things to do.

Room Tip: Be Aware at all times
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

If you're going to the Mart or need to be downtown, Stay Here. You have access to Marta, food court, and bars, plus you get points for staying, but do not use Priceline-They screwed up my reservation and charged me twice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here 2/14-2/18. Hotel is not a reasonable walking distance to the convention center, especially for a woman walking at night or in the cold weather.
Also, when asking the concierge about how best to get around, it was advised to get a taxi. Other cheaper options were not even given, but O had to seek out by myself. Also, one taxidriver tried to price guage, since I didn't take his name, the front desk manager didn't really tale it seriously.
On the positive side, the service, rooms and food was all good.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had a nice room with a king bed, roomy enough with a desk and an extra chair and ottoman to relax in. There was a small table outside the bathroom with coffee maker, etc., which was nice because you could also put your toiletry kit there (the bathroom itself didn't have the room for of them). On our way to lunch, we stopped by the concierge to ask if he could call housekeeping to clean our room while we were gone. He said he would but almost 2 hours later when we returned it had not been cleaned. I was very disappointed since we were working in there and would not be able to have it cleaned at any other time. Later someone called and acted like they didn't know about our request. The maid did stop by and we just picked up some fresh towels. Other than that experience, the stay here was pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Marquis Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis Atlanta

Address: 265 Peachtree Center Avenue, Atlanta, GA 30303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#17 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#29 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#46 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#52 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis Atlanta 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Marriott Marquis Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Marquis Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Marriott Atlanta
Atlanta Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Marquis Atlanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.