We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden fees and way overpriced” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Marquis Atlanta

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Marriott.com
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Marquis Atlanta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   265 Peachtree Center Avenue, Atlanta, GA 30303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ATL Spring Rates from $79
Ranked #52 of 189 hotels in Atlanta
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dothan, AL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hidden fees and way overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Be aware if you are planning on stay at this hotel: You will be charged for parking $30.00 dollars daily !!!???, for internet $15.00 dollars daily !!!???, if you are planning on having breakfast at the hotel, just a cup of coffee, orange juice, 2 scrambled eggs, and a croissant, it will cost you $27.00 dollars (without tip), plus they will charge you $20.00 dollars daily!!!??? for taxes (State and City), but none of them will be mentioned at the time when you do your reservation.
No minibar, no refrigerator, no microwave. A standard room for an overpriced one.
Any La Quinta hotel will be way better than this one for half of the price and double of people's service and quality...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    447
    570
    180
    59
    45
See reviews for
157
181
82
693
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

starting at $225/ night for a convention, then they try to upsell you first thing - $10 more/night if you want a top floor. In the room, very average, no minibar. Internet access is $15 extra. I called room service and asked for a corkscrew. 1 hour later still no corkscrew - called again, they denied any record of the first call. It's painful to spend so much for so little.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed! The architect John Portman out did himself with this place. From the moment I arrived the service was amazing! The rooms are on the small side but clean and accommodating!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, TN
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is a great property, very large, but well staffed and they know how to run the place. My room was large and well kept, and I appreciated how comfortable and quiet it was. I had an opportunity to eat at Velocity, which was good food, and bar staff were great. I really have to brag on this place, and will certainly visit again.

My only complaints have to do with the cost of parking and Internet, but suppose those just come with the territory, and are only slight remarks. Overall a very good experience, and you will feel welcome here.

Room Tip: The higher floors have great views, and with dedicated elevators are just as fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I love the Atlanta Marquis. I go to Atlanta a number of times per year and always stay at the Marquis. It is within walking distance to my company there, so I might be a little biased regarding location but it is also walking distance to quite a few nice places to eat and multiple marta/subway stops. The rooms are fantastic, always clean and most of them have a great view with especially nice views available the higher you are obviously... The gym is great, with free weights, machines, cardio options with tvs attached. If you have status with the Marriott Rewards program, it is even better since you get access to their lounge... This lounge is awesome, there is always a friendly person keeping it fully stocked - great breakfast and snacks all afternoon/evening! Do keep in mind, that it is a marquis, so most things cost extra - you have to pay for valet parking, internet (if no rewards status), etc

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at the Marriott Marquis while attending a convention in Atlanta. My stay was excellent! The room was spacious and well appointed with a great view of the city skyline. I was really impressed with how quiet the room was despite the size of the hotel and the open atrium design. The location is very convenient to the Peach tree Center mall and a few other hotels via an indoor sky walk. Numerous restaurants were also within a short walking distance. There is a lovely indoor-outdoor pool and several restaraunts on site. The staff were courteous and very responsive to requests. I had some difficulty operating the in room safe early on a weekend morning. The maintenance man truly was right up to help me. Everyone was so nice!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

while a classic Marriott without anything unusually exciting in the rooms, the visual of the spiralling floors was impressive, as was the view from my 43rd floor room. Pleasant atmosphere, near lots of options for meals if you don't want to eat at the hotel. That said, room service was exceptional and reasonable. I arrived late and ordered, the person taking my order worked to get me what I wanted despite the hour and the full kitchen no longer being open. A bit impersonal of an atmosphere due to the size, staff did work to be attentive to guests.

Room Tip: top floors are the best if you can get them - I was booked in one as a gold club member
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Marquis Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis Atlanta

Also Known As:
Marriott Marquis Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Marriott Marquis Atlanta Hotel
Marriott Atlanta
Atlanta Marriott
Address: 265 Peachtree Center Avenue, Atlanta, GA 30303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#18 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#41 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#55 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis Atlanta 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Marriott Marquis Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Marquis Atlanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Marriott Marquis Atlanta to your Saves list