We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great as usual, but change is coming!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Buckhead

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Buckhead to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Buckhead
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3342 Peachtree Road Northeast, Atlanta, GA 30326 (Buckhead)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Shopping Package!
Ranked #97 of 190 Hotels in Atlanta
New York City
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great as usual, but change is coming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed at the Doubletree Atlanta Buckhead for a week's vacation in back in November. Am happy to report that the sevice and rooms were of the same high standard as my previous visits. Anyone who wishes to find out about this hotel in more substantial detail may refer to my previous two reviews.

My main reason for writing about this property at the present time is to alert future guests that
a complete renovation of the hotel is in progress - all rooms and public spaces, and was already well under way when I arrived in mid-November. The staff had informed me that the work is expected to be completed in March or April 2013, so here is what I found and what you should expect in the near future. All rooms and public spaces will be given a contemporary, modern look - on my arrival the lobby was almost completed, the bar and lounge were done, with the breakfast restaurant and rooms slated to be next. There is an artist's rendering in the lobby (with fabric samples) of what the renovation will entail which shows me what is to come, and my personal reaction is mixed at best. Why? Read on.

Let's start with the rooms first. The aesthetic of the rooms had been sort of French Provincial, which I found to lend a comfortable, homey atmosphere (and my room was in good condition to
be sure). With the new renovation the rooms will have the same cookie-cutter design one can
find in just about any hotel anywhere one travels - modern and sleek to be sure, but with no individual identity, and it is this loss of identity that will be lost. One of the joys of staying in a hotel had been to enjoy how different each property was - but no more, I feel. When work on the Doubletree is completed, it will look no different than most hotels in town (or anywhere, for
that matter).

The new look of the lobby, public spaces and restaurants would matter to me less since I spend
the least amount my time in those areas, but the rooms will definetely be different. Whether or
not you will like them is to to your own individual tastes. It also remains to be seen how the
rates are affected by this renovation. Till now they have been extermely reasonable for often
pricey Buckhead, but I for one will keep my eye on this, as this hotel had been a favorite of
mine and one which I hope to keep considering when I visit Atlanta. I wonder whose idea it ac-
tually was for this renovation - the hotel itself, the Hilton head office, the guests, or all of the
above?

So, to quickly summarize, the hotel renovation will totally transform the hotel - you decide whe- ther the new product is to your tastes; hopefully the rates will not be too affected by this. The location is perfect, in a great. safe walkable neighborhood with lots of great restaurants and shopping and less than two blocks from the Buckhead MARTA (subway) station - the bus stops there as well. So we shall see what the future brings to the Doubletree Atlanta Buckhead - and whether it will still figure in my future travel plans. Stay tuned!

P.S. During my stay, the business center was dismantled and guests were invited to use the
business center at the Courtyard Hotel across the street. Inquire about this if it is a priority
to you. Again, you may read my two previous reviews (2009 and 2010) for more substantial
descriptions of this hotel - keeping in mind all of the above of course.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the front of the hotel they have better views and are where the deluxe (larger) roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_DoubletreeHotel, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Buckhead, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. The renovation is well underway at this point, and will be completed during the second quarter of the year. There will be a lot of new, updated, and upgraded items in the renovated rooms. I think you'll enjoy the final product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    204
    106
    79
    38
See reviews for
95
109
46
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel the weekend of Dec 15th and as soon as we walked in all we could hear were the noises of floors being ripped up and workers mulling all over the lobby. You would think that by 3PM on a Saturday they would stop the noise so people could walk around the lobby in peace. Then we got to the room. No flat screen TV (which is strange in this day and age but no big deal). The shower had no power and the tub stayed flooded after the first shower so that the second person had to step into murky water in order to take one themselves. Pretty disgusting. Staff was nice but with all the construction they had the nerve to charge us 22.00 for two small alcoholic drinks at the bar. They need to stop construction earlier in the day so people don't have a headache when they are trying to go to their event at night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_DoubletreeHotel, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Buckhead, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for writing a reveiw of our hotel and providing feedback to us. Your review indicates that you had a number of areas in which we failed to meet your expectations for which I sincerely apologize. We are in the process of upgrading the hotel through a major renovation which will take the next few months. We hope you'll give us another opportunity after our renovation to make your stay the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Doubletree Buckhead is our "go to" hotel when visiting Atlanta. It is located on a quiet side street off of the bustling Peachtree Street. It is withing convenient walking distance good restaurants and two of Atlanta's best shopping areas---Lennox Square and Phipps Plaza. If walking doesn't appeal to you, the hotel will gladly provide a shuttle for you to any destination within a 3 mile radius. The property itself offers ammenities including a restaurant and bar. Valet parking is offered, although a convenient parking garage is located less than 100 yards away. The Doubletree staff is very professional,helpful and provides devastatingly good warm, chocolate chip cookies at check in! The rooms are spacious, well appointed and comfortable. This was our third stay with them and we will be coming back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_DoubletreeHotel, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Buckhead, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are extremely pleased that we met your expectations and we look forward to being your host again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The reality of my stay is that I arrived at 11pm on a Sunday night and had checked out by 8am the following morning. This isn't a comprehensive review but merely my snap judgements.

The check in staff was warm, but horribly inefficient in terms of helping me check in.

The rooms were comfortably, especially the bed but the internet connection was simply unacceptable for the business traveler, as was the television.

Room service was completely forgettable. It took the kitchen three times to get my order right as they kept delivering another order to my room. By the time I did receive my food it was cold and soggy. Not impressed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_DoubletreeHotel, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Buckhead, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our property. Too bad you weren't able to stay longer. Your review indicates that you had an issue with room service for which I sincerely apologize. I have forwarded your comments to our Food & Beverage Director who is certain to take the corrective steps needed to improve this area. We look forward to serving you better on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

What a soulless hotel this is! Staff friendly, but for atmosphere , there isn't any. The bedrooms are clean and large enough, the brown faded painted colored doors like a council flat and are just awful. This is not a very inviting hotel and NOT cheap either! Had breakfast which was ok despite the warmed up bacon and awful coffee which has never met a coffee bean in its life! We won't stay here ahold I go back, after visiting the HUGE and sci Fi looking Marriott , we stay there. There was life in the bars, restaurants and coffee areas. Better decorated too. The Hilton In San Fransisco still takes the title of the worst ever, would be interested to know other peoples worst ever Hilton as we have loyalty points with these people and will always stay at a Hilton whenever possible, but would think twice is I knew what they were really like,

Room Tip: Is there one??? It's probably the lounge but in the US you have to hold a Platinum card to getti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_DoubletreeHotel, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Buckhead, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry you were unhappy with your stay. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. Again, we apologize for the inconveniences and we hope you’ll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was reasonably priced, great location in buckhead. The staff was BEYOND helpful! Would call us cabs quickly, shuttles around Buckhead. The address listed for the hotel is correct, but it is located on tower place. I would absolutely stay here again! Great, great hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_DoubletreeHotel, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Buckhead, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your very nice comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Were @ the DoubleTree Buckhead for 6 nights. As this was a holiday week, there were few folk in the hotel. When we checked in, and asked for a quiet room, we were given one next to the elevator and ice machine and just over the facility air handlers. we were able to get it changed, but c'mon, the hotel is almost empty.

The front desk staff was unfailingly helpful, friendly and professional. Strongly recommend the warm cookies that are always available. However, the housekeeping staff was not good. Two days we got no service, one of which may have been b/c i was in the room working; the other was just no excuse.

The facility is not in great shape. The carpet in the room was badly soiled and had a ragged/torn edge where it entered the bathroom. There was a lot of work going on in the lobby area w/refinishing and the exterior was being restuccoed and supposedly some rooms on our floor but i didn't see them. As there were so few folk in the hotel, and we were on the 4th floor, it took a long, long time to get warm water in shower.

The location is excellent. Exceptional shopping at everything from Gucci and Nordstroms to Macy's; three shopping centers w/in 3 minute drive, all easily walkable. Parking is excellent; self park is 30 - 40 yards from front door and worked well; $18/night/unlimited in/out. Have a 3 mile free shuttle; as was meeting folk in Buckhead it was great.

Restaurant for breakfast was mediocre despite a good staff. Even oatmeal had to be ordered. There is a wonderful breakfast and lunch place about ten minutes easy walk next to Maggianos on Peachtree called Corner Bakery Cafe. Strongly recommended.

Prices/night were very cheap b/c this was holiday week.

Room Tip: Almost any direction is fine as you're surrounded by taller hotels - no great views. Don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_DoubletreeHotel, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Buckhead, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We’re sorry we didn't provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Again we apologize for the inconveniences that you and your family endured while staying with us. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Buckhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Buckhead

Address: 3342 Peachtree Road Northeast, Atlanta, GA 30326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Buckhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Buckhead 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Save with the hotel’s complimentary shuttle to locations within 3 miles of the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel – Atlanta Buckhead. You'll be greeted with a warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie upon arrival. Select from upscale guest rooms and suites all within walking distance to dining and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Buckhead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Atlanta Buckhead
Doubletree Atlanta
Atlanta Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Buckhead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.