We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in a charming area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Atlanta Vinings

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Atlanta Vinings to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Atlanta Vinings
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2857 Paces Ferry Road SE, Atlanta, GA 30339   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #123 of 188 hotels in Atlanta
new mexico
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in a charming area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed at the Marriott Courtyard in Vinings (a suburb of Atlanta) for a wedding. This hotel is deceptive - it doesn't look very big from the street, but sprawls around a beautiful pool with a waterfall-fed hot tub. Rooms are big, beds are a bit on the firm side, but very nice. Buffet breakfast with made-to-order omelets available too. The staff were very friendly and helpful too. Best part is the proximity to some great restaurants, bars within walking distance to a little shopping area (Garrison's was particularly nice, and there's a wine bar next to it with live Jazz on Saturday night). Vinings also has it's own "historical district", and it's right near one of the Chattahoochee River parks. If you get the chance, drive down Northside Dr. or Pars Ferry Rd. to see some of the amazing mansions tucked away in the forest - some of the largest "homes" I've ever seen.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    31
    30
    13
    6
See reviews for
37
19
9
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, NC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

The Good: They have coffee in the morning. The rooms are nicely decorated with a small couch in king rooms and the pool is nice as well. They have a water cooler at the pool, the rooms have a fridge. The front desk staff was helpful. The location is great. You can walk to restaurants and bars. The lobby internet works well.

At the pool some families bring coolers of beer and set up huge picnics and hang out at the pool all day though which made it uncomfortable for me with the kids. There is no breakfast of any kind. The beds are old and saggy. The AC is UNBELIEVABLY loud. It is set to a central unit, not a window unit. It clicks on and off all day and night. It wakes you up every time. Housekeepers are rude and roll their eyes at you.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I was really pleased with this hotel. It has a unique charming layout and atmosphere not typical of Marriott/Courtyard. The room was big, modern with a nice, big, comfortable bed. With two tables and chairs, my colleague and I were able to work comfortably. I stayed on the main floor facing the hotel, which allowed me to step out onto the patio and up to the pool, which would have been awesome if I had more time. I liked the Vinings area a lot. The free shuttle will save you a ton of taxi money. You're in walking distance to some great shopping and restaurants (I really liked Noche tapas restaurant). The shuttle will take you to the Cumberland mall which had some good shopping as well. Staff is super friendly, especially breakfast staff and the daytime shuttle driver. Breakfast was included in my very low rate and it was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

This destination was picked due to its charm. Atlanta is hot in the summer but very pleasant. I found the people to be very friendly and nice. We stayed at the Marriott because of the familiarity of the hotel. My husband stayed there on business previously. The hotel is clean. Great pool and amenities. We rarely used our car. We walked to dinner and drinks every night. We did eat at a funky breakfast joint called R.Thomas good healthy food interesting atmosphere. The area called the Vinings is very historical. Nice place to shop and eat. Never a dull moment.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. If you can get a pool side go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Room was clean, & ready for my early check-in. Staff were friendly & there was lots of parking included in the price. Pool area is quite nice, which attracts a lot of people and makes it very noisey if you are trying to get to sleep.

Restaurant is only open for breakfast, but don't worry there are restaurants in walking distance.

Ask for a room not facing the pool if you are on business, if you have kids that want to use the pool ask for ground level facing the pool that way they can walk right out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

I just returned from a business trip in Atlanta where I stayed in the Courtyard by Marriott in Vinings. Note that this is on Paces Ferry Road SE - that was not in the address and caused me grief in finding the place. I would consider this an average business hotel with some points good and some points needing improvement. Since I didn't see a recent review when I was planning this trip, I will share more about my observations and experience here.

As usual, my main concern is the bed and quality of sleep I got. I have a feeling it was more me this trip than the bed, but instead of having issues with sleep just the first night, I was up and down all night each of the three nights I stayed here. I found the bed comfortable enough and clean. (I always examine the bed to make sure it is clean and not a concern for any surprises. It was acceptable.) However, I would rate the Hilton beds better than the one I slept in here. But it was OK and they were generous on the pillows.

One annoyance for me was the internet connectivity. Let me note it very clearly here for other business people like me in a similar situation. I travel with a computer that does not have wireless. I depend on a wired connection. The hotel had a connection for a wired internet connection in the room, but when it did not work and I asked at the front desk, they immediately told me that they did not have wired internet connectivity. That is a huge negative for business people since there are times when someone may need a large file and wireless is not friendly to long downloads. So if you need wired internet connectivity, check ahead to see if this is resolved or look elsewhere.

The air conditioning was LOUD. I could not complain about hearing anything from the adjacent room since the air conditioning would surely have drowned out any conversation, television or other noise from adjacent rooms.

If you are going to be here a long stay and like HD Television, look elsewhere. This is one of those hotels that has the nice flat panel televisions, but does NOT subscribe to HD service making the screen fuzzy. I also found the reception marginally acceptable. This is not your hotel if you watch television.

I am not disabled, but I found something poorly designed when I left the hotel with my rolling bag. I looked for the ramp so I could roll my bag and I could use the ramp well enough, but at the foot of the ramp,. where there has at one time been a wheelchair parking spot, there was instead a huge SUV blocking the end of the ramp. So much for appealing to those who are disabled.

Gosh I have been so critical, you might ask, what did you like? well, there were some good points about the hotel. I found the design of the hotel very good for not hearing the water running in the bathrooms. This is one of those hotels built the old fashioned way to obscure the water flow in the pipes so that it did not bother people in the rooms.

A very positive aspect of this hotel is the restaurant for morning breakfast. I was given a coupon for a free breakfast each of the three days I was here and the service both at the buffet and by the staff in the dining room was superb. It far exceeded my expectations and would influence me to stay here again since it is always good to have a nice breakfast in the morning and the food was delicious and fresh. On this, you have a good choice.

Parking was abundant.

On two of the three nights, I heard children running in the hallway, but not so much that it bothered me. however, it should be noted that they do appeal to families and if you need to do some serious business, be aware of this.

Finally, the front desk team was nice and hospitable - helpful. They were kind and considerate to guests.

My overall take away on this hotel is that it serves its purpose as a business hotel and I might consider it again, but I would only consider it average in view of the TV service, the noise of the A/C, and the average quality of the beds. Just remember that SE - it is important when you program that GPS or look it up in the yellow pages on the GPS when you rent the car.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

After reading some of the reviews, I made this reservation in the area as 'the lesser' of evils of various places. I was pleasantly suprised. The hotel is different looking than many Courtyards, situated on a bit of a hill, with different levels. The lobby/checkin area is not particularly spacious, but I don't hang out at the check in.!

The hotel was easy access of the interstates. It was easy to get around this north of Atlanta suburbs. There seemed to be plenty of local restaurants and chains nearby. I didn't use the hotel's breakfast (not included)

I had a King room. It was nicely appointed, very clean. The bathroom was reasonable in size, with the sink outside the main area. There were the normal toiletries provided. The bed was nice an comfortable. The housekeeping was very good.

I may have given the property 5 stars but for the internet connection. I am not a techie, but it slowed down to a crawl during the early to late evening hours, so much so that one night, I went to Paneras (a few blocks away) to log on to their free wifi. I needed to input material daily to my company daily, so this was an important issue for me.

If you are not bothered by the slow internet, then this would be a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Atlanta Vinings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Atlanta Vinings

Address: 2857 Paces Ferry Road SE, Atlanta, GA 30339
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 188 hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Atlanta Vinings 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Atlanta Vinings hotel is conveniently located in northwest Atlanta near I-285, I-71, and US 41. Leisure travelers enjoy our close proximity to Cumberland Mall, Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre, Six Flags Over Georgia, and the Georgia Dome. We also offer an ideal location for business travelers visiting the Home Depot Headquarters, IBM, or the Cobb Galleria Centre. Feel right at home in a modern and spacious guestroom featuring luxurious bedding, complimentary high-speed Internet, and a comfortable work desk. Relax at the outdoor pool, exercise in the fitness center, and catch up on work in the business center. Our hotel by Smyrna, GA also offers catering services and 4 meeting rooms totaling 2,845 sq. ft. available for upcoming Atlanta meetings and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Courtyard Atlanta Vinings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Atlanta Vinings Hotel Atlanta
Marriott Atlanta
Atlanta Marriott
Atlanta Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Atlanta Vinings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.