We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a room not facing the pool if sleep is important before 1130pm” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Atlanta Vinings

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Courtyard Atlanta Vinings to your Saves list
Courtyard Atlanta Vinings
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2857 Paces Ferry Road SE, Atlanta, GA 30339   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 190 Hotels in Atlanta
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Get a room not facing the pool if sleep is important before 1130pm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Room was clean, & ready for my early check-in. Staff were friendly & there was lots of parking included in the price. Pool area is quite nice, which attracts a lot of people and makes it very noisey if you are trying to get to sleep.

Restaurant is only open for breakfast, but don't worry there are restaurants in walking distance.

Ask for a room not facing the pool if you are on business, if you have kids that want to use the pool ask for ground level facing the pool that way they can walk right out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    43
    39
    15
    6
See reviews for
41
26
12
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

I just returned from a business trip in Atlanta where I stayed in the Courtyard by Marriott in Vinings. Note that this is on Paces Ferry Road SE - that was not in the address and caused me grief in finding the place. I would consider this an average business hotel with some points good and some points needing improvement. Since I didn't see a recent review when I was planning this trip, I will share more about my observations and experience here.

As usual, my main concern is the bed and quality of sleep I got. I have a feeling it was more me this trip than the bed, but instead of having issues with sleep just the first night, I was up and down all night each of the three nights I stayed here. I found the bed comfortable enough and clean. (I always examine the bed to make sure it is clean and not a concern for any surprises. It was acceptable.) However, I would rate the Hilton beds better than the one I slept in here. But it was OK and they were generous on the pillows.

One annoyance for me was the internet connectivity. Let me note it very clearly here for other business people like me in a similar situation. I travel with a computer that does not have wireless. I depend on a wired connection. The hotel had a connection for a wired internet connection in the room, but when it did not work and I asked at the front desk, they immediately told me that they did not have wired internet connectivity. That is a huge negative for business people since there are times when someone may need a large file and wireless is not friendly to long downloads. So if you need wired internet connectivity, check ahead to see if this is resolved or look elsewhere.

The air conditioning was LOUD. I could not complain about hearing anything from the adjacent room since the air conditioning would surely have drowned out any conversation, television or other noise from adjacent rooms.

If you are going to be here a long stay and like HD Television, look elsewhere. This is one of those hotels that has the nice flat panel televisions, but does NOT subscribe to HD service making the screen fuzzy. I also found the reception marginally acceptable. This is not your hotel if you watch television.

I am not disabled, but I found something poorly designed when I left the hotel with my rolling bag. I looked for the ramp so I could roll my bag and I could use the ramp well enough, but at the foot of the ramp,. where there has at one time been a wheelchair parking spot, there was instead a huge SUV blocking the end of the ramp. So much for appealing to those who are disabled.

Gosh I have been so critical, you might ask, what did you like? well, there were some good points about the hotel. I found the design of the hotel very good for not hearing the water running in the bathrooms. This is one of those hotels built the old fashioned way to obscure the water flow in the pipes so that it did not bother people in the rooms.

A very positive aspect of this hotel is the restaurant for morning breakfast. I was given a coupon for a free breakfast each of the three days I was here and the service both at the buffet and by the staff in the dining room was superb. It far exceeded my expectations and would influence me to stay here again since it is always good to have a nice breakfast in the morning and the food was delicious and fresh. On this, you have a good choice.

Parking was abundant.

On two of the three nights, I heard children running in the hallway, but not so much that it bothered me. however, it should be noted that they do appeal to families and if you need to do some serious business, be aware of this.

Finally, the front desk team was nice and hospitable - helpful. They were kind and considerate to guests.

My overall take away on this hotel is that it serves its purpose as a business hotel and I might consider it again, but I would only consider it average in view of the TV service, the noise of the A/C, and the average quality of the beds. Just remember that SE - it is important when you program that GPS or look it up in the yellow pages on the GPS when you rent the car.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

After reading some of the reviews, I made this reservation in the area as 'the lesser' of evils of various places. I was pleasantly suprised. The hotel is different looking than many Courtyards, situated on a bit of a hill, with different levels. The lobby/checkin area is not particularly spacious, but I don't hang out at the check in.!

The hotel was easy access of the interstates. It was easy to get around this north of Atlanta suburbs. There seemed to be plenty of local restaurants and chains nearby. I didn't use the hotel's breakfast (not included)

I had a King room. It was nicely appointed, very clean. The bathroom was reasonable in size, with the sink outside the main area. There were the normal toiletries provided. The bed was nice an comfortable. The housekeeping was very good.

I may have given the property 5 stars but for the internet connection. I am not a techie, but it slowed down to a crawl during the early to late evening hours, so much so that one night, I went to Paneras (a few blocks away) to log on to their free wifi. I needed to input material daily to my company daily, so this was an important issue for me.

If you are not bothered by the slow internet, then this would be a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymore, Missouri
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

This hotel is in a nice part of town. It is very nice and suited our needs fine. We drove all day and pulled in here as we had made advance reservations. We ordered Pizza and had it delivered to the pool for dinner. The place seemed very family friendly.
Pros
-Nice location, close to highway, area seems nice
-Hotel was clean and upscale. Very inviting
-Room was fine. We had a king with a pullout for the kids. Very clean, no problems with anything.
-Great pool. Kids enjoyed it after a long travel day.
Cons
-Kinda pricey, but probably worth it
-Why would a 2 Queen room cost more than a King room?
-Pool was hot and spa (smaller pool) was cold? It was fine but seemed kinda reversed.
-There really weren't any negatives that we found in our short 13 hour stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester ny
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

My husband ,son and I spent almost a week there at the beginning of July,for a baseball tournament. While the design and location were quite nice , the cleanliness and room size left something to be desired. The breakfast was not great, the laundry broke down as did the air all day on a day it was almost 100! Plus only a brief apology was issued. With all the choices in hotels in Atlanta you would think they would try a little harder.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

I have stayed extensively in the Galleria/Vinings area and have been looking for a change. Chose Courtyard Marriott this time. Awesome location, right in Vinings, short walk to Orient Express Sushi which I love!

Very nice rooms, massive bed, good TV and bathroom.

Very good exercise room. Pool/spa outside very nice.

Breakfast surprisingly good, cooked to order omelette was brilliant!! and cheap at $12 for full hot brekky.

Staff very helpful, free internet in rooms, also in lobby. Free parking.

I will definitely be staying here from now on!

Great Irish pub and another bar across the road. Small bar in house.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

I stayed at the courtyard in Vinings for a Wedding that I was attending and the stay was one of the best I have had in a long time...I have been to several courtyards and this one was like no other that I had visited. The staff was great the service was exceptional and we were very happy with the updated decor. This was just a great place and hopefully plan to stay again if we are back in the Atlanta Area.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Atlanta Vinings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Atlanta Vinings

Address: 2857 Paces Ferry Road SE, Atlanta, GA 30339
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 190 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Atlanta Vinings 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Atlanta Vinings hotel is conveniently located in northwest Atlanta near I-285, I-71, and US 41. Leisure travelers enjoy our close proximity to Cumberland Mall, Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre, Six Flags Over Georgia, and the Georgia Dome. We also offer an ideal location for business travelers visiting the Home Depot Headquarters, IBM, or the Cobb Galleria Centre. Feel right at home in a modern and spacious guestroom featuring luxurious bedding, complimentary high-speed Internet, and a comfortable work desk. Relax at the outdoor pool, exercise in the fitness center, and catch up on work in the business center. Our hotel by Smyrna, GA also offers catering services and 4 meeting rooms totaling 2,845 sq. ft. available for upcoming Atlanta meetings and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Atlanta Vinings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Atlanta Vinings Hotel Atlanta
Marriott Atlanta
Atlanta Courtyard
Atlanta Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Atlanta Vinings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.