We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Could Use Update” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Peachtree Street N.E, Atlanta, GA 30303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #29 of 188 Hotels in Atlanta
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Could Use Update”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Stayed for a Saturday "Night on the Town" to celebrate a friends birthday. Nice hotel, but nothing to get excited about or to pay extra for. The restaurant (Atlanta Grill) is just ok, not worth the cost. The rooms are nice, but seem stuck in the 80's with dated bathrooms and relatively small rooms. The lobby bar is the only open lunge after 11pm and it only seats roughly 20 people. Many better, less expensive options in Downtown Atlanta.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    188
    90
    34
    32
See reviews for
116
212
48
276
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We loved our stay at the Ritz so much we spent much more time in the hotel on a recent romantic weekend rather than touring around the city. Dinner at the Atlanta grill was fabulous and service was fantastic. The room was luxurious and comfortable. And weekend rates are incredibly affordable for a Ritz. Great location.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel lives up to it's name & reputation. I was satisfied with the overall service and the environment. The room set up was superb and met the needs of my family while allowing me to stay in my budget. Our room had a king bed with sofa bed & two bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my first stay at a Ritz property. I may have had high expectations based on name recognition but was a little underwhelmed. The rooms felt small and dated. The bar was a little overpriced even for a nice hotel I thought. The lobby is well decorated and luxurious. Like many luxury hotels, they had a flavored water cooler. We are always interested in the different flavors at different hotels. This particular day it tasted like a bag of sugar was dumped in it. Not too refreshing but different. The location is perfect for down town access and there are many bars/restaurants in close proximity. I did receive an email in advance as a contact for any requests. I replied and explained the reason for my trip and that it was the first time staying at the Ritz. I also mentioned it was my first trip back to Atlanta where I grew up in 6 years. I received a conditioned response that wasn't very personal. I felt it was an opportunity for the Ritz to come out and wow me. Overall, just an average experience and probably would stay someplace else.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManuelDeisen, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mr. Scott, I apologize that we missed the opportunity to welcome you back in style to your home town. I agree we certainly could have done a better job and I followed up with our staff. In the winter months we serve hot apple cider as our complimentary welcome beverage. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Ritz-Carlton on Peachtree Street in Downtown Atlanta is in a great location near major sports and meeting facilities, the Georgia World Congress Center, Philips Arena, the Georgia Dome and the CNN Center.
We had a group of friends all staying there for the weekend (4 rooms); tried drinks at the lobby bar; for in the restaurant upstairs on the balcony; room service twice; valet service and housekeeping requests, and THE SERVICES WE RECEIVED WERE AVERAGE AT BEST! We felt taken for granted. What a shame!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManuelDeisen, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Jacqui, thank you very much for your review. I am concerned about your service experience and have sent you a private message with the attempt to learn more about your stay so we can properly follow up on our end. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a typical upscale Ritz property. This property has an ok location. However bar and dining scene rock. Take the time to explore hotel they have very interesting décor art and sculptures
Dining is typical Ritz top notch food and service

Room Tip: THIS IS ON DODGEY END OF DOWNTOWN ATLANTA. Close to airport and super spotless property. This is a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the moment you arrive, you are being taken care of by friendly and welcoming staff. At the check-in we were asked if we had any plans for the evening, and if we needed any assistance with making reservations or anything at all. Our room was an average size, not too big, not too small. The room was clean and nicely decorated, the beds were very comfortable, and there was Wi-Fi available, but it wasn’t free. There was a Nespresso coffee maker in the room, that was producing excellent espresso, and there was a selection of excellent “Taylors of Harrogate” teas.
There is nothing new about 5-start hotels charging money for everything that 3-start hotels include for free such as parking, breakfast and Wi-Fi. The good thing is that while booking a room, you can pick various packages that include parking, breakfast and even visits to some of the Atlanta’s attractions. I picked the one with free parking and breakfast. Without the packages, you would have to pay about $35 per day for parking, $25 for breakfast buffet, and $13 per day for internet. I was not surprised by those charges, but what surprised me a bit is the fact that even at their business center, you are being charged for the computer use. The breakfast buffet was absolutely great.
People are paying quite a bit of money to stay at this hotel so paying $15 or $25 or $35 for extra services are obviously not deal breakers, but those charges are quite annoying, and, as you can see from other reviewers, people don’t like such annoyances. Maybe it’s time for Ritz-Carlton to do something about it, at least with internet.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta

Address: 181 Peachtree Street N.E, Atlanta, GA 30303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#17 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#28 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#33 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta 5*
Number of rooms: 444
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta is downtown's premier business address and a luxurious oasis in the heart of the city. Awe-inspiring interiors create an unequaled environment for work and play. Surrounded by the state's centers of finance and government, and just minutes from the Georgia Aquarium and sports events at the Georgia Dome, Philips Arena and Turner Field, The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta is ideally situated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Ritz Carlton Atlanta
Atlanta Ritz Carlton
Ritz Atlanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.