We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and staff remember my name” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Peachtree Street N.E, Atlanta, GA 30303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #26 of 189 hotels in Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service and staff remember my name”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

The service by the staff was fantastic. I only said my name at check-in and thereafter the staff addressed me by my name. Pretty amazing. The food was great and the accommodations was excellent. The mattress was so comfortable it made it hard to get out of bed each morning.
I recommend this hotel with confidence.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManuelDeisen, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Miriam, thank you for your excellent review and your vote of confidence. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    368
    166
    78
    33
    28
See reviews for
106
179
45
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I must admit that the Ritz Carlton chain has never lived up to its exalted reputation in my book, and their downtown Atlanta hotel is sadly no exception. Having no choice in the selection of hotel since a company I consulted for was paying, I was hoping that this hotel would change my mind. Alas, that was not to be.

My office had sent a critically important fax to be given to me upon arrival. I warned them that in the past, the Ritz Carlton chain was not good at delivering them to me. This was again the case. First the reception insisted no fax had been received, and then went to check the fax machine, even though I said that it had been sent and received 4 hours previously and was unlikely to still be in the machine.

I refused to leave reception until the matter was sorted out, so I called my office and put my assistant on the phone with the front desk employee. Finally she acknowledged that perhaps it might be at the concierge desk, and sure enough that is where it was found. No one apologized to me for the inconvenience, as the search took up 15 minutes of my time, late at night when I had to be up very early for a flight the next morning. Sadly, in my experience, this is a typical screw up from the Ritz chain's employees.

The room was very small by Atlanta standards, but with all the conveniences, although the outlets for charging devices was situated such that there was almost no place to put one's computer or cell phone to charge. It was on the side of a bureau, next to the flat screen TV, even though there was a desk a few feet away, which would have been a better place for the charging station to be located.

The hotel provided bathrobe was ratty and clearly in need of replacement.

Otherwise, the room was functional and the bathroom had a nice shower and vanity area.

My room service breakfast arrived 10 minutes late, which is also not acceptable.

Given the wonderful selection of hotels in the Atlanta area, I will not be staying here again. It is overpriced and the service is poor for a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManuelDeisen, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointing experience during your most recent visit to our property. I have sent you a private message as I would love to follow up with you personally. Thank you for your observations and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Hotel is expensive as all Ritz Carlton's are, but this one isn't worth it! Front desk had our reservations totally mixed up, complete with wrong date. When we gave our conf number they couldn't find that either. Bathrooms are tiny. Paper delivery happens only after a phone call every morning. Valet service is pleasant but a long wait.

Room Tip: Go to Buckhead Ritz...better choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManuelDeisen, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
First and foremost please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointing experience. I would love to follow up with you directly and have sent you a private message with my contact information. I am looking forward to hearing from you. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

My maid of honor and I travelled here for a weekend away before my upcoming wedding. It was a fabulous time. The staff was very friendly and seemed to think if everything to accommodate us. The recommendations for places to eat and the best way to get to the mall were fantastic. I cannot wait for my next trip to Atlanta. This will be where my new husband and I will stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManuelDeisen, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review. We look forward to welcoming you and your husband as newlyweds and hope to make your future visit memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a conference in downtown Atlanta. I was initially very excited to see that our hotel was a Ritz Carlton. But be warned - this hotel is much closer to a Marriott than those typical of its name sake. The rooms are small and rather dated looking. While the bedding and robes were quite nice, the bathroom in our room was laughably small. I have stayed in a Holiday Inn Express with better.
The service is just like the room...perfectly fine. Nothing notable. The most memorable part of my stay was when I asked for restaurant suggestions for lunch, and the concierge recommended "Hooters" around the corner.

Overall, this a an ok hotel in downtown Atlanta. Just don't expect the Ritz Carlton experience.

Room Tip: Stay at the Bucktown hotel instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManuelDeisen, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to survey our hotel and your feedback. I am very sorry that your experience did not live up to your expectations nor ours. I am hopeful to connect with you for a personal follow up as I have sent you a private message with my contact information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Friendly staff but rooms and facilities seem a bit dated to still command the fairly significant premia charged. There are better value premium choices in downtown Atlanta. Rooms seemed like old Marriott ones from the 20+ years ago. I seem to be echoing other recent reviews of this property. Underwhelming.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My first time staying at a ritz and it was definitely underwhelming. I would have to say the staff is great. That was pretty much the only way I could tell I was staying somewhere other than a marriott,hilton etc. The rooms were nice but average, not really what I was expecting, but I can't say I was unhappy, I guess because I did not pay for the room. The rooms had an endless supply of water, which I love. The bathroom had good lighting an awesome shower. The workout room was fine. It was clean, the equipment worked and seemed new. Again plent of bottled water and free!! Vitamin water and fruit. I loved the bar at the atlanta grill. Great martinis and live music. I only tried the crab soup which was tasty. A pleasant stay but I wouldn't over pay

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta

Address: 181 Peachtree Street N.E, Atlanta, GA 30303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#19 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#24 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#35 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta is downtown's premier business address and a luxurious oasis in the heart of the city. Awe-inspiring interiors create an unequaled environment for work and play. Surrounded by the state's centers of finance and government, and just minutes from the Georgia Aquarium and sports events at the Georgia Dome, Philips Arena and Turner Field, The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta is ideally situated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Venere, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Ritz Carlton Atlanta
Atlanta Ritz Carlton
Ritz Atlanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.