We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Peachtree Street N.E, Atlanta, GA 30303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekend Rates from $179
Ranked #28 of 189 hotels in Atlanta
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in the middle of the week and the hotel was not very busy. The location is in downtown Atlanta, a few blocks from the Olympic Park and next to the Peachtree center. Valet service for our car was $32/night. The room, while immaculate, was less contemporary in style. Regardless, the service is what you would expect from the Ritz-Carlton brand. The staff at the front desk remembered our names, the housekeeping was great, the valet service gave great directions to restaurants, and even the maintenance staff went out of their way to greet us. They really go the extra mile to make your stay pleasant. Aside from the style, which isn't my taste, I would have preferred access to a pool.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    331
    141
    71
    33
    25
See reviews for
90
162
44
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Ok, so the Ritz is supposed to be Great , right. Not so here. I attended a networking conference in Atlanta and was quite surprised to find the rooms very expensive and outdated. First of all the building is old, not in a historical way, but in a 1970's way. Very unappealing. The rooms at a Residence Inn are larger, better appointed, and are much less expensive. Beware, the rooms at the Ritz have a stocked refrigerator, but do NOT remove anything from the refrigerator, even for a few moments unless you are intent on purchasing it, since there is a sensor which automatically charges the item to your room and you will be disputing charges when you check out. You would never know this, unless, you read all the fine print on the refrigeartor placard. Make sure you don't get charged for a bottle of water inadvertantly either. My particular room had a droning noise from an air conditioning unit in the next room which pulsed on and off all night. I reported it, but to no availl. Everything here is expensive. Breakfast was $25 for a buffet plus tip, Really ? for some scrambled eggs, coffee, toast, and some fruit. ugh. Bar just as expensive. You can eat out if you hike it across the street to the shopping mall, but to get there you have to walk about half a mile down and around a highway over a bridge, otherwise you have to run the guantlet across an enormous intersection. Not recommended. Be Careful. The staff were plentiful and courteous, but how many times do you need someone to open a door or say hello. I must say that I would have preferred to have stayed at a Residence Inn, but none were nearby. This Ritz was quite a hike from the Atlanta Airport and the cab fare which was pricey as well. Not coming back..........

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you can avoid it..............
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a long weekend to celebrate a family wedding taking place at 200 Peachtree, across the road from the hotel.
We were greeted so politely by the staff, who were fantastic throughout our stay.
The lobby is lovely, and is classy, modern and sophisticated.
My only negative is that the rooms and bathrooms are slightly outdated, and they need a bit of a refresh.
The bedding is fantastic, and after arriving there following a 16 hour flight to Atlanta, we slept really well.
The location is not my first choice in Atlanta, however due to all the wedding activities centered around downtown, it really was convenient.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 22nd floor, and the views were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights this past week. I thought the staff was very friendly and accommodating and the lobby area was clean, attractive and welcoming. But having had stayed at many Ritz Carltons over the years, this one was not really up to the same standards, especially in the rooms. I couldnt tell that this was not just a standard Marriott. It was a great value though as I had a good rate so it was certainly worth the money. I would stay here again, although I wouldn't have paid more than what I did (170/night). Again, the hospitality of the employees was great, it was just the room itself that I felt needed an upgrade - especially the bathrooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for a Wedding; May 17-19. Being only 27 and not made of money this was my first time @ a Ritz and I think I understand why they have such an amazing reputation as being an industry leader. The quality of service and attention to detail is not really comparable to any other place I have traveled.

Upon check in you are greeted to a glass of champagne or a bottle of water. Tea and lemmonade as well as a snack are also available throughout the day in the main lobby. Everyone there is so friendly and helpful which is what allows them to earn those 5 diamond awards year after year.

The wedding was at the peachtree center and the wedding party was at the westin - both of which are literally across the street. The location can't be beat as far as downtown ATL - walking distance to the Hard Rock Cafe, plenty of other bars and resturants, the Georgia Aquarium, Olympic Park, etc.

Although parking, dinning, drinks, etc are expensive at the property if I could get the blocked rate I enjoyed for the wedding I would definitely stay here again. Thanks for a wonderful and hassle-free stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAlpin
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

From the complimentary glass of champagne at check-in to the lovely chocolates on your pillow at bedtime, the Ritz always meets the highest standards. The staff, without exception is polite, cheerful and able to meet all requests. They have a reputation to protect and they work very hard at it. Even with a large wedding party that seemed to be everywhere, we never felt that we weren't the most important guests they had. The only thing I can be at all critical about was the lack of electrical outlets in the room; none in the bathroom or by the bed or by the makeup table and mirror. But hardly worth mentioning when everything else is just perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

From the time we pulled up to the time we left we were treated like royalty. When you go to the front desk, there will be a bellman there waiting for you who already knows who you are! (I think they walkie talkie it in based on your luggage tags, but it was very impressive.) The Peachtree Center Marta and Five Points station are very close so you really do not have to drive anywhere accesible by the rail line if you do not want to (Airport, Buckhead, Perimeter, Philips Arena, GWCC, Georgia Dome, Aquarium, CNN, Coke, etc). Not to mention it is in a very convenient location of downtown Atlanta. If you are not familiar with this city or "big city" activity, just try to stay north of Five points once it gets too late. and you will have a great time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta

Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
The Ritz-Carlton Atlanta Hotel
Ritz Carlton Atlanta
Atlanta Ritz Carlton
Ritz Atlanta
Ritz-Carlton Atlanta
Atlanta Ritz-Carlton
Atlanta Ritz
Address: 181 Peachtree Street N.E, Atlanta, GA 30303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#27 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#37 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta is downtown's premier business address and a luxurious oasis in the heart of the city. Awe-inspiring interiors create an unequaled environment for work and play. Surrounded by the state's centers of finance and government, and just minutes from the Georgia Aquarium and sports events at the Georgia Dome, Philips Arena and Turner Field, The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta is ideally situated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.