We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"It was my pleasure"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Peachtree Street N.E, Atlanta, GA 30303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #32 of 189 hotels in Atlanta
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“"It was my pleasure"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed here for a conference held in the hotel on business. One of the nicest hotels I have ever patronized. True, the rooms weren't up to date HGTV brown/blue decorated (yawn) but exuded elegance. The museum quality oil paintings in the side lobby were unbelieveable as were the light fixtures. They even had (tasteful) chandeliers in the elevators! The best part of my experience was the staff. Friendly but not intrusive. The few issues I had were quickly resolved and always with "it was my pleasure", never a curt "you're welcome". It really felt like it WAS their pleasure to help me. Lots of restaurants within walking distance. I ate almost every meal at Alma Cocina which could be reached by crossing the lobby of the adjoining building without even going outside. Nice little free perks: wine tasting one afternoon, hot chocolate and red velvet whoopie pies. Definitely would go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    360
    162
    78
    33
    28
See reviews for
103
176
45
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed here during a girls weekend and it could not have been nicer. The service and attention at check-in was outstanding. The location near downtown attractions such as CNN, World of Coca-Cola and the Georgia Aquarium was great - about a 10-minute walk. There were closer hotels to those attractions, but I can't imagine any providing the service and luxury of the Ritz. The bar and restaurant were superb as well!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

In the era before 44 oz. beverages, giant SUVs, and McMansions, this hotel was built. Although the bathrooms aren't as large as many modern properties - meaning there's no giant soaking tub and separate walk-in shower - the rooms are spacious and well-appointed, and maintained.

So if you combine that with helpful service that manages to be friendly without that creepy bowing and scraping formality - there's a reason we don't live like the folks in Downton Abbey anymore - you will curl up in your quiet, quiet room under comfortable sheets and sleep soundly, wishing you could stay here all the time.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Wonderful! The staff are extremely helpful and accommodating. The rooms are elegantly appointed and the beds are super comfy! There is a turn down service each night and housekeeping checks to see if there are additional needs. Hot cider is available in the lobby and peach jellybeans are available too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floor for a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I didn't make the reservation for this stay, and it's not the kind of place that I tend to stay, but if you're looking for attention and ways to spend money, this is the place. The staff - lots of them everywhere from the valet parking to greeters by the front desk - is attentive. Taxi cost us $22 flat rate to go to Ruth's Chris less than a mile away. Nice rooms, expensive internet, parking $32 per night. Nice touch getting shoes shined gratis overnight. Very convenient location for a meeting that I had at the Commerce Club next door.

Room Tip: nice views of the city from rooms above 12th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Ga.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Booked a deluxe king room for a night out with my wife for her birthday. Everything was absolutely perfect from check-in to check-out. Valet service upon arrival was speedy, as was check-in. The complementary champagne was unexpected and a nice touch. Our room (1209) was nicely decorated and spacious. Our king bed was very comfortable; however, the pillows left a little to be desired. We took advantage of use of the house car (Cadillac Escalade) to and from dinner and to the concert venue we were attending. I had booked the special occasion package including a rosé pedal turndown service, chocolate covered strawberries and a bottle of champagne. The champagne was left out by mistake but after placing a call to the front desk, it was brought to our room within minutes. Room service for breakfast was delicious, although a bit pricey. The thing that impressed us the most was the staff as it is second to none. I'm not sure how they do it but everyone called us by name, wished my wife a happy birthday, asked us how our dinner and concert was, etc. simply amazing. Loved everything about this place. We will definitely be planning a future visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, NJ
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Spent 3 nights at this property with my wife and daughter when we were in town for CHEERSPORT Nationals. My wife booked early and got us a great rate on an Executive Suite.

Check-In: There was a very minor issue at check-in. They had our reservation but were having trouble finding our Marriott Rewards number on file. Got it squared away in no time and we were done with check in and in our room in a matter of minutes. The only other issue we had was that we did not know ahead of time that the concierge lounge needs to be booked ahead of time and it was already booked when we checked in. It was one of the reasons we booked the suite, since we thought it gave us access. Now we know for next time. We were informed that we had a $100 room credit as a suite guest and free WiFi, which was nice.

Staff: I cannot say enough about the staff at this hotel. From the front desk, to the bell staff and valets, to the restaurant staff and to housekeeping, these folks know how to treat their guests. The bellman that took us to our room went over the various aspects and details of the room and covered everything I could think of asking, without having to be asked. The valet staff, upon checkout asked us if we needed directions to our destination. The housekeeping staff was quick to respond to calls for a roll away bed, extra pillows and also in replacing the mattress for the fold out sofa. The restaurant staff was extremely pleasant and knowledgeable. The front desk staff was out in the lobby greeting guests as they came in off the street. These are the little touches that help make your stay at a property enjoyable. The last thing you want to deal with on any trip is a disagreeable or ineffectual staff.

Room: We had Executive Suite 523. The room was great. I'm not sure how old this property is, but if it is an older property, it sure is well kept and has held up well. The suite comes with a Bose DVD entertainment system in the living room and an iPod speaker system in the bedroom. There is two flat screen TVs and a charging station/computer plug ins near the desk in the bedroom. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in. It was a step above the beds we've had at other Marriott brand hotels with their pillow top mattress. The bathrooms were on the small side and the main bath has a large, top mounted sink basin. It's a nice modern touch, but it eats up virtually all the counter space. The fold out bed for our daughter had stains (food) on it from prior use. We wouldn't have noticed it if the bed was made up as we requested, but we are glad we saw it. The first night, we just ordered a roll away bed from housekeeping, but it was really old and not very comfortable at all. We told housekeeping about the mattress. They came up to attempt to clean it, but said it couldn't be cleaned so they checked for a spare mattress. They came back in about 10-15 minutes with a newer mattress and swapped it out. Problem solved.

Restaurants/Bars: We ate at the Atlanta Grill one morning for breakfast. The service was great and the food was amazing. My wife did the buffet and had waffles and my daughter and I did a la carte. My daughter raved about the crepes and the blueberry pancakes with the peach compote was excellent as well. The staff also gave us a to go container for some pastries we didn't eat. We didn't have a chance to sit and have some drinks at Lumen, but in lieu of room service, my wife got our daughter some late night chicken fingers that ended up being slightly cheaper than room service since the add in a hefty service and delivery charge. The Lumen space itself is on the small side, but nicely appointed with comfortable couches and chairs and a very sleek, illuminated high bar table.

Location: The hotel is located in the downtown area. It is about a 15-20 minute walk to the Georgia World Congress Center and other attractions in Olympic Park (CNN, Coca-Cola World and Georgia Aquarium). The MARTA Peachtree Station is a short walk away as are some touristy dining options (Hard Rock Cafe and Hooters). We opted not to use MARTA because we would have had to walk up to Peachtree, take it one exit down to Five Points, then re-board another train to go one stop to the GWCC. We had friends staying at the Marriott Marquis that used MARTA and it took them 40 mins (door to door) to do this trip one day (they missed one train). It only takes 20 mins to do the walk as I mentioned earlier.

Overall: I would not hesitate to stay at this property again if we return to Atlanta. The staff, location and room comfort/amenities are worth it.

Room Tip: Executive Suite 523 overlooks Peachtree Street and is more than enough room for a family of 3 or 4 i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta

Address: 181 Peachtree Street N.E, Atlanta, GA 30303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#19 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#28 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#43 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta is downtown's premier business address and a luxurious oasis in the heart of the city. Awe-inspiring interiors create an unequaled environment for work and play. Surrounded by the state's centers of finance and government, and just minutes from the Georgia Aquarium and sports events at the Georgia Dome, Philips Arena and Turner Field, The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta is ideally situated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Ritz Carlton Atlanta
Atlanta Ritz Carlton
Ritz Atlanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.