We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Peachtree Street N.E, Atlanta, GA 30303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #29 of 189 hotels in Atlanta
Allentown, NJ
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Top Notch Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Spent 3 nights at this property with my wife and daughter when we were in town for CHEERSPORT Nationals. My wife booked early and got us a great rate on an Executive Suite.

Check-In: There was a very minor issue at check-in. They had our reservation but were having trouble finding our Marriott Rewards number on file. Got it squared away in no time and we were done with check in and in our room in a matter of minutes. The only other issue we had was that we did not know ahead of time that the concierge lounge needs to be booked ahead of time and it was already booked when we checked in. It was one of the reasons we booked the suite, since we thought it gave us access. Now we know for next time. We were informed that we had a $100 room credit as a suite guest and free WiFi, which was nice.

Staff: I cannot say enough about the staff at this hotel. From the front desk, to the bell staff and valets, to the restaurant staff and to housekeeping, these folks know how to treat their guests. The bellman that took us to our room went over the various aspects and details of the room and covered everything I could think of asking, without having to be asked. The valet staff, upon checkout asked us if we needed directions to our destination. The housekeeping staff was quick to respond to calls for a roll away bed, extra pillows and also in replacing the mattress for the fold out sofa. The restaurant staff was extremely pleasant and knowledgeable. The front desk staff was out in the lobby greeting guests as they came in off the street. These are the little touches that help make your stay at a property enjoyable. The last thing you want to deal with on any trip is a disagreeable or ineffectual staff.

Room: We had Executive Suite 523. The room was great. I'm not sure how old this property is, but if it is an older property, it sure is well kept and has held up well. The suite comes with a Bose DVD entertainment system in the living room and an iPod speaker system in the bedroom. There is two flat screen TVs and a charging station/computer plug ins near the desk in the bedroom. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in. It was a step above the beds we've had at other Marriott brand hotels with their pillow top mattress. The bathrooms were on the small side and the main bath has a large, top mounted sink basin. It's a nice modern touch, but it eats up virtually all the counter space. The fold out bed for our daughter had stains (food) on it from prior use. We wouldn't have noticed it if the bed was made up as we requested, but we are glad we saw it. The first night, we just ordered a roll away bed from housekeeping, but it was really old and not very comfortable at all. We told housekeeping about the mattress. They came up to attempt to clean it, but said it couldn't be cleaned so they checked for a spare mattress. They came back in about 10-15 minutes with a newer mattress and swapped it out. Problem solved.

Restaurants/Bars: We ate at the Atlanta Grill one morning for breakfast. The service was great and the food was amazing. My wife did the buffet and had waffles and my daughter and I did a la carte. My daughter raved about the crepes and the blueberry pancakes with the peach compote was excellent as well. The staff also gave us a to go container for some pastries we didn't eat. We didn't have a chance to sit and have some drinks at Lumen, but in lieu of room service, my wife got our daughter some late night chicken fingers that ended up being slightly cheaper than room service since the add in a hefty service and delivery charge. The Lumen space itself is on the small side, but nicely appointed with comfortable couches and chairs and a very sleek, illuminated high bar table.

Location: The hotel is located in the downtown area. It is about a 15-20 minute walk to the Georgia World Congress Center and other attractions in Olympic Park (CNN, Coca-Cola World and Georgia Aquarium). The MARTA Peachtree Station is a short walk away as are some touristy dining options (Hard Rock Cafe and Hooters). We opted not to use MARTA because we would have had to walk up to Peachtree, take it one exit down to Five Points, then re-board another train to go one stop to the GWCC. We had friends staying at the Marriott Marquis that used MARTA and it took them 40 mins (door to door) to do this trip one day (they missed one train). It only takes 20 mins to do the walk as I mentioned earlier.

Overall: I would not hesitate to stay at this property again if we return to Atlanta. The staff, location and room comfort/amenities are worth it.

Room Tip: Executive Suite 523 overlooks Peachtree Street and is more than enough room for a family of 3 or 4 i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    362
    165
    78
    33
    28
See reviews for
104
178
45
249
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This well situated hotel in the core of downtown was a great retreat. I like the location being so convenient to the MARTA line, which can take you all over the city. Service across the board was outstanding from my very late check in to my departure. I like the extra small details; the fresh headphones in the fitness center, the four varieties of complimentary tea in the room, the extra towels that are there without having to call for them. My room was very comfortable, super clean and well appointed. I see some people have found the hotel a bit dated, but I think it is charming. I never felt anywhere was crowded or that I had to wait for anything. Room service is amazing, fast, great quality, served with a smile. The bread basket alone is worth the price. I would recommend it for anytime you want to be in downtown Atlanta.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night while visiting atl. Nothing special. Needs a serious facelift. Not going back. The ritz in buckhead is nicer. However, staff was great. Valet was great. Hotel is old and run down. Bathroom is tiny. Had used lotion bottle on counter

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Is the property ageing? Yes! Buy, its super clean and cared for. Staff is worthy of a Ritz Carlton. Helpful and gracious. Food and bar service was also excellent.
We stayed in the 1bdrm suite, the bath tub wouldn’t drain and the staff would drain it for us. They promised to fix it once we checked out and I believe them. Everything else in the room was in great shape. Lack of coffee maker and fridge was a drag but they then brought us a mini fridge. Response time was always quick, and any minor issue we had was graciously taken care of. We used the house car several times and also had great service! Check in and check out were ultra smooth! I give the Ritz-Carlton a 5 Star not because everything was perfect but because what minor issues we had were quickly dealt with. They are giving 110%! We thank you and will see you again soon!! (note, no pool but excellent gym)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

So I took my wife for a one-night birthday 'staycation' this weekend at the Ritz, which is just a couple miles down Peachtree from us. We're hotel snobs, so it's hard to really impress us. The famous Ritz-Carlton service standards are definitely alive here; you can tell how much the chain puts into training and service. Every staff member you come in contact with greets you and makes you feel welcome. Check-in was a breeze and we were upgraded to a city-view room, which was appreciated.

As others have posted before me, the building is one of the older properties in the company, and the age is starting to show here and there. Specifically, the bed was really uncomfortable - it's basically what feels like a 20+ year-old bed with a feather topper thrown on top. For the room rates, they need to upgrade to some sort of comfort sleeper, in my opinion. The bathrooms were also a bit smaller than I'd expect. Other small details are certainly not important (no ice in the ice machine on my floor, long elevator wait times), but we've stayed in other properties (specifically Grande Lakes in Orlando, which is just an amazing experience) where you'd never see the 'little things' sneak up on you.

People - A+. Facility - B+. Under the right circumstances or an outstanding bargain rate, we'd return. That said, there are a number of luxury properties in the area, and most in areas where you wouldn't be afraid to walk outside at night. (Which has nothing to do with Ritz, of course, but is simply the sad state of affairs in downtown.)

Room Tip: Higher floors have some great views. We were on the end of a hall and it was quiet as could be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a night at the Ritz-Carlton Atlanta while in town. We've stayed in many properties in ATL and this was our first time staying at the RC. From the second we pulled up to valet, until the time we left valet the following morning, the staff was incredibly helpful and attentive. The hotel was fairly busy when we checked in but we were helped immediately and offered our complimentary champagne. Check-in was really very fast. The wait time for an elevator was too long but the University of Virginia basketball team was in town and many players were going up and down while we attempted to go up. The wait, while long, was fine thanks to the champagne and the beautiful lobby.

Our room was on the 15th floor and we had a nice view of downtown. The room was spacious and comfortable and the bed was heavenly. The room was very spotless, which is always nice. The RC umbrella in the room came in very handy, as it started pouring when we were leaving to go to dinner.

When we arrived back at our room hours later, it had been completely turned down and was very welcoming and cozy.

The towels in the bathroom were large and thick, which I appreciate. The water pressure wasn't the greatest and the water in the shower never got as hot as I would have preferred.

All in all this is a fantastic property, with wonderful employees and a great location. We will certainly stay here again with our travels bring us back to Atlanta.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great place to say, very nice with an awesome central location...especially if you've never been to Atlanta. Great bar and excellent service. The breakfast was very good but a little expensive so I'd recommend you do the buffet as it's really well done.

Room Tip: Go higher up and ask for a room on the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta

Address: 181 Peachtree Street N.E, Atlanta, GA 30303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#19 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#26 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#40 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta is downtown's premier business address and a luxurious oasis in the heart of the city. Awe-inspiring interiors create an unequaled environment for work and play. Surrounded by the state's centers of finance and government, and just minutes from the Georgia Aquarium and sports events at the Georgia Dome, Philips Arena and Turner Field, The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta is ideally situated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Ritz Carlton Atlanta
Atlanta Ritz Carlton
Ritz Atlanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.