We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adult weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Peachtree Street N.E, Atlanta, GA 30303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #26 of 189 hotels in Atlanta
Norfolk, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Adult weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great place to say, very nice with an awesome central location...especially if you've never been to Atlanta. Great bar and excellent service. The breakfast was very good but a little expensive so I'd recommend you do the buffet as it's really well done.

Room Tip: Go higher up and ask for a room on the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    368
    166
    78
    33
    28
See reviews for
106
179
45
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copperhill, Tennessee
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Well.....I will tell you....check in is important to me. This check in was not smooth at all. I got there and was not welcomed as a platinum member, i waited several minutes for someone to be able to help me at front desk, i asked about the the club level access for platinum members....they informed me that that wasn't available at the ritz only at marriott.....I had called to ask before I came and was told it was so that is why I booked the room.....apparently Ritz Carlton's can make local decisions as to honor this perk thru marriott or not to honor......the girl at front desk offered to sell me the club level for my two nights and I declined and informed her to what i was told....a manager came over to help.....told me that the club level was "fully committed" ...I informed her up the upsell that I had declined....she then informed me that it wasn't available for two nights only one....this just didn't sit well with me because I was clearly offered two nights just moments before....no sincere apologies....just lie after lie....i checked into my room it was nicely decorated but the bed was awful and the tv was worse...I decided to make another reservation for the nights in question and low and behold.....i made one for two nights on the club level.....i waited for my reservation to come thru went to a meeting and then came back by and the same story was still in place at the front desk.....I then informed them of my other reservation I had made....they looked it up and to the surprise of the manager she found I had the club level for two nights...she stammered and sidestepped and i just reminded her that some people will climb a tree to tell a lie than stand on the ground and tell the truth.....finally she informed me that this "one" time she would extend the club level...she kept emphasizing the "one" time. Oh I went to the club level....stayed 90 minutes each evening and shared a large room with 6 other people.......stayed 60 minutes during each breakfast......and shared same large room with 4 people...didn't really appear to ever be fully committed....my pillows never got any better, nor did my bed, and my tv just had a mind of its own. would not recommend at all at this point

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I spent two nights at the Ritz, and I was so very pleased (as always) with the friendly and helpful staff I encountered, from the front desk, to the concierge, to the lounge waiter. I was impressed and comforted.

My room was comfortable and well-appointed, as expected. Nothing fancy, this is simple comfortable elegance without flash. But what matters in a room is a super comfortable bed, a clean bathroom, and quiet. All were exactly what I needed for a good night's sleep.

Check-in was a breeze, and I was able to get quick information on available dining options at my late check-in.

All of this came at a very competitive rate. Hard to pass up.

I would agree on the comments about the hotel location. But if you have business downtown, then this is as close to it all as you need to be.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We only stayed for one night but found the staff super helpful and always so nice. The gym was great, well appointed for a hotel work out room, and the room was lovely. The bathroom was on the small side but wasn't a problem for us. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton 17 January 2013 to 20 January 2013 and we stayed in room 2210; the room itself was clean well laid out and everything we expected of the Ritz upon entry; But the bed was old and worn the springs had gave no support and as a result both my husband and i complained of back aches; they attemt to camouflage teh age of of the bed with a feather bed but this is an epic fail...
The hotel itself is in a great location the reaturants and surrounding areas are perfect for a short get away as well as the STAFF were awesome; the hotel was fully booked due to the Sanfrancisco 49ers and the San Antoni Spurs both having games in Atlanta and all staying at the Ritz and despite this the STAFF were very attentive and friendly at all times

the only reason this review is Average is because they really need to change the beds if not in the entire hotel definitely in room 2210

Room Tip: The room wasnt bad but the BED in room 2210 needs to be discarded it felt atleast 10 years old
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Everything you want from a Ritz Carlton. Great staff, wonderful beds, great but pricey cocktails and all of the charm you could want. There are two distinct drawbacks. First and foremost is the location. There is nothing to walk to and even if there was you would be taking a chance doing it as it is not the best of neighborhoods. If you are arriving by car and plan to need one all the time you are fine since there is good freeway access and you are a very short drive from great food, shopping, etc. The second minor complaint is a very personal one. It is my opinion that a luxury hotel cannot have shower curtains. If you are really a Ritz or the like, invest in some glass doors. It makes a huge difference. Other than those two items, this is a great spot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The staff was very friendly, helpful and makes you feel appreciated as a customer.

The location was great for downtown attractions such as the coke museum and aquarium. Easy walk to nightlife and restaurants from the hotel.

The room was very clean as expected but a little small compared to some other nearby properties. One thing I did notice was that the hotel did not seem to have the usual touches of the Ritz Carlton brand such as cloth hand towels in lobby bathroom etc.

The breakfast was lacking and should be avoided if it is not included in your room package.

Check out the lobby bar for a great place to have an after dinner drink.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta

Address: 181 Peachtree Street N.E, Atlanta, GA 30303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#19 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#24 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#35 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta is downtown's premier business address and a luxurious oasis in the heart of the city. Awe-inspiring interiors create an unequaled environment for work and play. Surrounded by the state's centers of finance and government, and just minutes from the Georgia Aquarium and sports events at the Georgia Dome, Philips Arena and Turner Field, The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta is ideally situated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Venere, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Ritz Carlton Atlanta
Atlanta Ritz Carlton
Ritz Atlanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.