We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room fine, but felt a bit unsafe” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Atlanta Buckhead

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Atlanta Buckhead to your Saves list
Residence Inn Atlanta Buckhead
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2960 Piedmont Road NE, Atlanta, GA 30305 (Buckhead)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Experience Buckhead!
Ranked #115 of 188 Hotels in Atlanta
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Room fine, but felt a bit unsafe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We got our 2 rooms from Price Line-not a great deal for $100+ each per night, but imagine we were paying for the midweek Buckhead location. We're from the Atlanta area, and knew this was a quieter section of the town, away from what is considered "Buckhead". Check in was no problem, and the room was very nice and comfortable. We'd booked 2 rooms, however they weren't close to each other at all. We asked to be moved, but were told the only availability was room 1313-no thanks. Like most other reviews, when we returned from dinner there was no parking to be found. We didn't mind the walk when spaces eventually opened up, but due to the set up of the buildings, being three women, didn't feel entirely safe walking down the narrow paths through the buildings, around to the back of the buildings where our rooms faced the woods. During the day, the set up looks like a little townhouse community, however at night, it took on a different feel. The bed was very comfortable and the room had all amenities we needed. Happy hour, which is included in the price, had a good assortment of foods-grilled hot dogs & hamburgers, chips, wine, and soft drinks. We didn't try the complimentary breakfast. It was a good night's stay, but I don't believe we'll stay there again due to the set up of the buildings.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are quieter than those facing the parking lot if you don't mind walking betwee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    52
    24
    23
    9
See reviews for
55
20
10
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

My family was taking a mini-vacay to Atlanta since I had some free nights through Marriott. When I booked the hotel, I meant to book the Residence Inn Buckhead/Lenox but was mistakenly put in this one by the Marriott person over the phone. When we get there, it's late (probably 11pm) and we check in. We are given the room key and told where to park. The lady says to park in the back of the lot and walk between two buildings to our building. Well, the parking lot was slammed and we had to park at the front of the lot. We had two small children with us and had to walk through the lot, between these two building (in the dark) before we got to our building. As we are walking by the rooms, there were people all around sitting outside drinking and smoking. It really made us feel unsafe. We looked at the room and it was okay but just based on the surroundings, we decided to find another hotel. I would not recommend this hotel specifically because of the lack of parking and the setup of the buildings.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay, try to stay in the building toward the front of the hotel. Otherwise you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Visiting this area for the Masters golf tournament, found this place almost as a last resort as
everywhere was booked out. Very pleasantly surprised, reception desk staff were most helpful and friendly . Appartment was very spacious and well appointed with all mod cons including free Wifi .Spotlessly clean.Numerous restaurants within walking distance.I would agree with recent reviews of Susan and Mark.The only item we missed was an electric kettle for our cup of tea, but then this is the USA, and we managed very well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Nice quite place. Like having your own apartment with maid service. The front desk clerks are freindly and very helpful. Wifi was in the process of being put in every building, so, while I wasn't happy with having to walk to the clubhouse to use the wifi. It should not be an issue for anyone in the future. Great location close to sopping and resturants.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

If you are staying in Atlanta and looking for a great family option, we had a great time at a very old school Residence Inn. Why old school? Marriott as a brand generally delivers property's with interior corridors (meaning you never go outside) but this property has multiple small buildings with a handful of units per building. It creates more of a private residence and apartment feeling which worked great for our week stay.

So it really worked for us as a family, but initially we had concerns about the open loft upstairs bedroom with the kids potentially falling over the railing, to the downstairs noise keeping the kids up. Our kids believe in self-preservation and if you trust your kids to follow those rules the first concern is mollified. The second concern is taken care of by exhausting your kids and keeping the conversations and TV low.

Speaking of TVs, the highlight of the rooms for the kids were the 3 large screens throughout the unit. For the parents, the kitchen was great especially the time-saving dishwasher to the baby paraphernalia. The rooms were also clean and updated in keeping with Marriott standards. Free breakfast was good. Did not use the pool or basketball court (how awesome is that) but if warmer and prepared would next time.

Biggest drawback is the parking lot. Not big enough to accommodate high room occupancy and low occupancy vehicles. And because of the nature of the property, you will be schlepping your gear to units in the back or interior of the property. Basically suck it up and do the walk and things will be fine (or have great parking spot karma).

Room Tip: Property had multiple small buildings. We stayed and would recommend staying in the rooms at the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

I reserved a room here for one night when I needed to do some shopping in the area. I had no problems at check-in. I had asked for an early check-in and was able to get in the room early. I was in Building 8 on the first floor. This property is larger than it looks from the street with units that go back away from reception and then a length of separate units across the back. These units are far from reception and the busy Piedmont Road, but this is why I liked them. I never had a problem parking when I was there, but neither did I note any convention or conference attendees. The parking lot was pretty full but always had spaces near the room for my visit. The entrance to the room was opposite from the parking lot and was down a narrow pedestrian walkway. I found the room itself to be very attractive and well laid out. There was a very well-equipped kitchen and I did cook a meal there. There was a large flat screen TV that could be turned to be viewed from sofa or bed. There were two closets, a sink/vanity area and then a separate area for the tub and toilet. This space was very tight, but it was very clean and the water pressure was great. My only problem with this property was the internet connectivity. No wireless and I could not connect at all with the cable. I called the front desk and they said they could send a technician to the room. i said fine, but that I needed to go out. They said it should be working when I returned but it was not. It was late so I gave up and tried again the next morning--still no luck.I could hear the people in the room over me walking around occasionally but I never heard any more noise. I chose to make my own breakfast in the room so I did not go up to the breakfast area and can't comment on that. Sometimes I just want a hotel property that is a lot like being at home--the Residence Inn properties are good for satisfying this need--comfortable bed, full kitchen, etc. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

The good................
This hotel is very convenient to shopping, restaurants, etc. in Buck head.
The rooms are spacious
Free Breakfast ( when you can get it)

The Bad.....................
There are no elevators.
The rooms are not near the lobby/breakfast area. Which is a nuisance in inclement weather.
You never know what type of service you will get from the front desk attendants.

The ugly.............
Parking was awful. If you arrive back to the hotel after 6pm. Good luck finding parking near your room. We had to park near the lobby area which was a good 5-7 minute walk in the rain to get to our room in a torrential downpour.

We were never able to take advantage of the free breakfast until the day we left, because there was a huge cheer leading competition in town and the lobby /breakfast area was filled with cheerleaders. Thank goodness the Waffle House was around the corner.

The bathrooms are TINY. You can barely close the door.

The ads show that these room have fireplaces.....We didn't have one. Very Deceiving!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the lounge/breakfast area on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Atlanta Buckhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Atlanta Buckhead

Address: 2960 Piedmont Road NE, Atlanta, GA 30305
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Buckhead
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 188 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Atlanta Buckhead 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Atlanta's most vibrant neighborhood, the Residence Inn Atlanta Buckhead hotel is the perfect choice for an extended stay in Atlanta, GA. We know exactly what you need for stays of one night or several weeks. Whether you're planning a short or longer visit, this Atlanta extended stay hotel provides great service, friendly staff and many amenities. Our Buckhead suites feature full kitchens, separate living room with sleeper sofa, work space and wireless high-speed Internet. Our extended stay hotel in Atlanta is just minutes from Buckhead's gracious homes, elegant shops, fine restaurants and exciting night life. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast buffet and a 24-hour self-serve marketplace. Stay fit while traveling at our fitness center. Take advantage of our grocery shopping and dry cleaning services, which are available on-site. For small gatherings or off-site meetings, Residence Inn hotel in Atlanta is the perfect choice, with a meeting room that accommodates 35. Start planning your stay today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Atlanta Buckhead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Atlanta Buckhead Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Atlanta Buckhead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.