We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Atlanta Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Atlanta Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   165 Courtland Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #15 of 190 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fayetteville, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised when we arrive here after an $80 Priceline Bid for a single night. The amenities and location are great even if a block away from Peachtree Street. Room was as you would expect for a high end establishment.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsenden, Director of Sales at Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thanks so much for sharing your review with us. It sounds like you really enjoyed your experience and were particularly impressed by our hotel, amenities and location. We hope to see you again in the future! Until then, safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,016
    536
    184
    63
    41
See reviews for
278
254
96
792
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We booked our hotel on a discount site, so without that savings, my review probably would have been worse. This is a lovely hotel with great potential...especially for a weekend getaway when after a day of touring you are more than happy to relax at your base camp. The main restaurant has a very nice bar, a small restaurant with good service and tasy food, and a nice view overlooking the huge indoor courtyard with trees with little white lights, a very good size heated pool (10 feet deep at one point), and a hot tub. They staff was quite pleasant and the location convenient enough...farther than many hotels from the main sites, but still a very acceptable walk. The room was not big, but had a nice big window and was comfortable and cozy.

So what then are my complaints? We were really looking forward to using the hot tub; but thought the trip it was lukewarm at best. No signs were ever posted and it continued to run. And despite a call on the night of our arrival about the problem, nothing was said. It was only when we were checking out that we were told something was broken and they were waiting on a part. My second complaint was that on all 3 night I could have, and on one night did, call the front desk because of our very rude, noisy and disruptive neighbors. They screamed, pounded doors and slammed them at all hours of the night...I'm talking 4 or 5 am. The night I called, they were fighting in the hall right outside our door about midnight. My third and final complaint is that we received no housekeeping service Sunday; after a full day of exploring we returned at 330 only to have to make our own bed. Luckily, we are fairly neat!

So, while I have seen this hotel rated as a 4 star, and it certainly has that potential, I have had better stays at "simpler" establishments. Would I stay again? Sure..if I got the same discount I did this time. But would I seek them out and pay full price? No way.

Room Tip: Higher would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsenden, Director of Sales at Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your review with us. We appreciate your kind words on our hotel, restaurant, staff and location. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay overall. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences associated with the hot tub. If there was an issue on our end, we certainly should have posted something alerting guests. We know noisy neighbors are a nuisance and we do everything we can to keep this to a minimum by enforcing strict "quiet hours" overnight. We hope you decide to give us another shot in the future. Until then, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My wife and I attended a Black tie event at the Sheraton. We were not guests of the Sheraton. Upon exiting the elevator, my wife broke one of the bands of her left shoe. It's 9:35 PM. Checked the gif shop in the lobby, and could not find a suitable pair of shoes to buy. The hotel Manager offered to take the broken shoe and attempt to repair it himself. Fifteen minutes later, he returned with the shoe repaired; he had stiched the shoe himself. When asked how much did that cost us, he replied that the service of absolutely free of charge. While we could not accurately measure the value of this gesture, we are certain that we would post this note to allow other travelers to see a couple's perspective on a real life situation that turned out to be one of the most touching experiences. Kudos to the Banquets Manager, Okan Hazar!

Room Tip: Lodging was not part of the experience. We reside in Atlanta and only attended an event being hoste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsenden, Director of Sales at Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your review with us. We are thrilled to hear about your experience at the Black Tie event and your interaction with Okan. What a kind and wonderful service he was able to provide you with! Okan is a star on our team and a wonderful asset to our guests. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again, hopefully overnight! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Recently stayed here during my trip to the AmericasMart Gift Show. Arrived at 9:00 a.m. the day we were to check in and they kept our bags for us until our room was ready and we were off to the Mart! They called me when our room was ready. Arriving back to the hotel we were greeted by the most welcoming staff I have ever encountered in all my stays at hotels. We experienced this each time we arrived back at the hotel in the three days we stayed there. Our room was very clean, although it was on the small side, we didnt need that much room as we were gone from the room most of the time we were there. My only problem with the room was there was no exhaust fan in the bathroom, so when you shower the room fogs up. Fandangles bar area was fabulous! Tanya D. was our waitress and she made us feel like family. The angus burger was supuerb, cooked perfectly! We were greeted at our table by the manager Karim who asked if there was anything else we needed to make our stay better. We ate there on our last night in Atlanta, and we wished we had gone there for dinner every night! The Club Room was exceptional. Great breakfast offerings from fruit to hot sandwiches. The neighborhood was not "sketchy" as reported in an earlier post, not sure what they were talking about. Very short walk to AmericasMart. To top it off, I left my phone charger in the room when we checked out. When I realized it two days later, I called and they had found it and mailed it to me FedEx and I had it in two days. After staying here once, I will defeinely stay here each and every time I am in Atlanta.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 7th floor in the South Tower. Not much of a view, but it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsenden, Director of Sales at Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review! We were so pleased to read about your experience. AmericasMart guests are among our very favorite to host so your impression is particularly important to us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback on our staff, restaurant, Club Lounge and location. We agree that our hotel is situated in the hub of downtown Atlanta, a short walk to most of the city's most popular locations and attractions. We look forward to your next say. Until then, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We found this on Priceline. It was fine for the discounted rate, but is just far enough from downtown to feel like its in the middle of nowhere. Room was clean, but cramped. Just seemed like a typical, old hotel, that has been slightly updated. We switched to the Omni for the last 2 nights of our trip. Much nicer, better location, but about twice as expensive. If you just need a place to sleep its OK, but don't make it a destination. Also, our room sat right over the road, so that combined with the loud HVAC, made for a loud night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsenden, Director of Sales at Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We’re disappointed you didn’t enjoy your stay with us more. We’re glad that you were able to find a hotel that more suited your specific needs. As you can see from the rankings here, most people really like our hotel and our convenient location in downtown (just a couple of blocks from the hotel you moved to). Best of luck with your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We recently spent four nights at the Sheraton on business, and we found the hotel comfortable and extremely convenient. On our last night, we met a friend for a drink in Fandangles bar. Although we got a little turned around finding the bar, we ended up having drinks in a cozy, quiet and private alcove before deciding to stay put and have dinner in the adjacent restaurant. I am a bit of a connoisseur of strange interpretations of Southern food, and the dinner menu featured several interesting entrees such as BBQ scallops (my mother loved them) and "chicken and dumplings" featuring a perfectly pan-crisped moist chicken breast served with a delicate lemon sage butter sauce and sweet potato gnocchi. I could still pleasantly conjure up this wonderfully-prepared meal. The service was friendly and attentive, and, after a mad week of crowded work at the Mart, Fandangles provided a welcome and restorative oasis in the midst of downtown Atlanta.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsenden, Director of Sales at Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed both your stay with us and your wonderful meal in Fandangles. We know the rarity and importance of enjoying a relaxing, delicious meal after a stressful week so we are especially pleased to hear that was precisely your experience! We hope to see you again the next time you visit the Mart. Until then, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Got a fantastic deal per night through Priceline. We arrived and the parking attendants offered very zealous help. Check-in wasn't a problem. We mentioned that we had a baby with us and needed some extra room. They assigned us to a corner room with two full size beds. The room was surrounded by windows, which was fantastic. The room was spacious, but that seems to be unique to the corner rooms. The room was located in the South Tower, which was reportedly newly renovated. Plenty of pillows were available on the very soft beds. We were very comfortable.

Now the problems. The $22 per night they charge to park negated the good deal. Breakfast is $18.50. Yikes. Also, the parking garage is very strange. You have to walk on the ramp to get to and from the car. That was tough with a suitcase and a toddler and was dangerous. For $22, parking could at least be convenient.

The layout of the hotel is strange, so get detailed directions to your room. The neighborhood is sketchy, but close to downtown attractions.

We had an overall VERY positive experience but think you can do much better per night for an equally nice room once you consider parking.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsenden, Director of Sales at Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are happy to hear you had a very positive experience overall. It sounds like you were particularly pleased with our service and guest rooms. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed in our parking options. As you will find, most hotels in the downtown area offer parking at the same rate as us while others do not offer self-parking at all. Due to our parking garage being located across the street, we invite our guests to drop off their belongs at the front entrance prior to parking their vehicles. We do hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future. Until then, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Atlanta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Atlanta Hotel

Address: 165 Courtland Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#12 Best Value Hotel in Atlanta
#12 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#15 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#18 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Atlanta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 763
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, located in the heart of Georgia's capital city, minutes from the Georgia World Congress Center, Georgia Aquarium, Philips Arena, Centennial Park and the Georgia Dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Starwood, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Atlanta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Atlanta
Atlanta Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.