We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value, customer service, and excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Atlanta Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Atlanta Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   165 Courtland Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #20 of 189 hotels in Atlanta
GreenLeadersGold level
Ajax, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Value, customer service, and excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We loved our stay this past weekend. The staff was excellent. Marvin and Janine were exceptionally great. Thank you. We were especially grateful for the early check in. We arrived at 7am and were not supposed to check in till 3 pm. Thank you so much for the kind service.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsenden, Director of Sales at Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit! It sounds like you developed a positive rapport with our staff and were well taken care of during your stay. We hope to see you again. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,448 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    702
    440
    176
    79
    51
See reviews for
201
221
99
641
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We scored a a great price for this hotel on Priceline.com. Check in was a breeze. Our room was absolutely modern and comfy. The amenities of this hotel was top notch. 24 hour room service! Yes, please! It's also very closely located to all of the must-visit sites of Downtown Atlanta. The Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic site, the Georgia Dome, the Georgia Aquarium, some amazing parks as well.

We ordered room service twice during our stay when late-night cravings made it difficult to get food anywhere else (especially since we did NOT have a car during our trip!). The in-room dining was well prepared and service was amazing. The food was absolutely amazing. We didn't think we were going to get such gourmet meals, all beautifully prepared and fresh! (See the pictures). The only downside about the rooms would be lack of soundproof walls to muffle the sound of talking and tv's in nearby rooms.

We were able to have brunch the next morning at the famous Gladys Knight's Chicken & Waffles. It was about a 15 minute walk from the Sheraton and, if you walk on Peachtree, it's relatively safe. The MLK Historic site was about a 30 minute walk, so we opted for a taxi instead. The Sheraton valet can arrange for taxi rides and it was only $10 plus $2 per extra person. The taxi driver was very helpful and made sure we were okay before he left us at the MLK site; he wrote his number down so that we could call him when we were done to pick us up. The taxis can also be arranged to take you to the airport.

The staff at the Sheraton really went above and beyond. They greeted us politely and always asked if they could help us with anything. We made sure to tip as well!

We will definitely stay here again when we visit Atlanta.

Room Tip: Our room was in the South Tower and it's closer to the parking structure but further from the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsenden, Director of Sales at Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your review! Coming from such a well-traveled guest, we are especially grateful for your words of praise. It sounds like you particularly enjoyed our In Room Dining service and location. We are pleased you were able to take advantage of most of our hotel's amenities as well as Atlanta's most popular attractions. We look forward to your next visit. Until then, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcdonough
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Spent our anniversary at the Downtown Sheraton. The room and staff EXCEEDED our expectations. They upgraded our room and catered a special 4 course meal especially for us! Speak to Donley at the hotel, he really knows how to make an event special. He will take the time to go over every detail and will personally follow up to make sure everything goes as planned. Can't say enough good things about Donley. We really had a great time!

Room Tip: Ask for the presidential suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsenden, Director of Sales at Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your anniversary stay with us and Donley was able to provide you with such a memorable experience. Our team loves celebrating special occasions with our guests so we could not be happier to hear we exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you again soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed here for two nights on business. Everything was top-notch...

ROOM: Based on some of the other recent reviews, my guess is that some rooms have been renovated, some haven't. For what it's worth, room 746 was not dated at all with nice flat-screen, clean bathroom with granite, etc. The room was a bit small (I had a single Queen), but fine for a single traveler. Other rooms that I passed by were much bigger, worth noting when picking a room.

RESTAURANTS: I had dinner at Fandangles (one of the hotel restaurants) my first night and it was great. I just had a Country Boy burger and home fries - but it was really good. More of a bar/restaurant with good atmosphere and quick service. BTW, Fandangles was ranked #11 out of 1,700+ Atlanta restaurants at the time of this review. Not sure it should be quite that high, but it was good. They also had a small deli where I stopped for coffee, fresh fruit and a bagel one morning. There was at least one additional restaurant as well, however, I did not eat there.

POOL/GYM: The pool area with hot tub was really nice. I posted a picture that really doesn't do it justice. It's quite beautiful and relaxing. Also, the glass roof was closed when I was there in December, however, it looks like it opens up, so I assume it's open air during warmer months. I did not use the gym, but took a quick look. It's right off the pool area. Nothing spectacular but appeared to have all the basics.

LOBBY/OTHER: Check-in was a breeze, the desk staff was efficient and friendly. There was also a small gift shop near the lobby that appeared to have basic toiletries in case you forgot to pack something, as well as t-shirts, postcards, etc.

PARKING: I did not use the valet service, however, I did spend some time watching them while waiting for a ride on a couple of occasions and they seemed to have a smooth operation. No one waiting long to get their car and there was always someone immediately available upon pulling up to the entrance.

LOCATION: The hotel is only a couple blocks off the "main drag" where you will find lots of bars and restaurants. I heard the Metro Cafe has excellent breakfasts, which is only a couple block away, but did not get the chance to try it. Also, if you want to save some expense from the airport you can take the MARTA (light rail). I got a 3-day MARTA pass for $17. The hotel is about 2.5 block from the Peachtree station - not a bad walk at all.

INTERNET: I had to pay $25.90 for two days of internet access. It was easy to log in and connection speed was good. It still irks me when hotels charge for this, but I knew about the charge going in, so I cannot blame the hotel for this.

All things considered, I couldn't find anything to really complain about and would definitely stay at the Sheraton again if in the area.

Room Tip: Room 746 was a small queen, but clean and somewhat recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsenden, Director of Sales at Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your thoughtful and thorough review. It sounds like you really enjoyed your stay with us! Coming from such a well-traveled guest, your impression and satisfaction with our hotel and service are very important to us. We look forward to your next visit. Hopefully you will be able to experience our Garden Courtyard with the roof open upon your next stay. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila. PA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

From the time we pulled up to the door until we left we were amazed how everyone was so pleasant and helpful. The hotel was gorgeous, very clean and very accommodating. The only downside was after the NFL Falcons game on Thursday night, Nov. 29,2012 we returned to the hotel bar for a snack and drinks. We arrived about midnight to discover several others with the same idea but found out the bar had just closed. The bar staff did serve us one drink but that was it. Within about 15 minutes approximately 10-15 others arrived to find out the bar was closed. On Saturday the college playoff's were also being played. You would think the hotel would have made sure the bar would have been stocked with additional staff to stay later on this very important sports weekend. It's something they should have been prepared for.

Room Tip: Room 814 had an overview of a parking garage but downtown as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsenden, Director of Sales at Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and for choosing to stay with us during your trip to watch the Falcons play! We appreciate your kind words on our property and staff. Please accept our apologize for any inconvenience that our bar closing caused you during your stay. While we do typically close at midnight during the week, your suggestion has certainly been noted. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Atlanta. Until then, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our wedding anniversary. We had a last minute change of plans, and our kids ended up staying with us.
The management and staff went above and beyond to help us enjoy our time at the Sheraton and made us comfortable in every way. The room was beautiful, and the card and snacks that they sent up for our anniversary made us feel welcome and appreciated. Every staff member in the hotel greeted us with a smile and offered to help us with any need.
I have stayed at a number of other hotels in Atlanta, including the Hyatt, Marriott, St Regis, and Grand Hyatt Buckhead. The Sheraton by far has the best service and staff of these hotels, and I'd definitely stay here again. Thanks to Niles Harris and Ericka, and all the others who made our stay at the Sheraton enjoyable and memorable.

Room Tip: The North towers and South towers are very different. We stayed in the North tower and had a great r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsenden, Director of Sales at Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your anniversary stay with us. Our team truly enjoys celebrating special occasions with our guests and we are pleased you recognized this through our extra efforts. You recommendation is the highest form of flattery you could pay us and we are so thankful that will will chose to stay with us again in the future. Until then, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Our room was nice, but this hotel could use renovations on the rooms. We are SPG Platinum Preferred guests, but upon arriving in our room found an old stale cake with another guests name on the card lying next to it. That was unpleasant and the room was not really clean, however we have seen worst! Overall okay experience. The woman working in the club lounge was very sweet as well as the server in the restaurant. The hostess of the restaurant was chatting very loudly on the phone which was unprofessional and obnoxious. Again, overall OK.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsenden, Director of Sales at Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your review. While it sounds like you had a satisfactory experience with us, we regret to hear that you did not enjoy your stay more. Please accept our apologies for the incorrect name next to your welcome cake. We can assure you that these types of mistakes do not happen often at our hotel. We are, however, pleased to hear you enjoyed your access to our Club Lounge and were well taken care of by Ms. Shirley. We hope you give us another chance in the future to provide you with a true Sheraton Atlanta experience. Until then, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Atlanta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Atlanta Hotel

Address: 165 Courtland Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#7 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#15 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#25 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#29 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Atlanta Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, located in the heart of Georgia's capital city, minutes from the Georgia World Congress Center, Georgia Aquarium, Philips Arena, Centennial Park and the Georgia Dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Atlanta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Atlanta
Atlanta Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.