We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I used a free night, how could I complain? :o)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Atlanta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Atlanta to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Atlanta
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   265 Peachtree Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30303-1294   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Parking and Internet
Ranked #56 of 188 Hotels in Atlanta
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hickory, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I used a free night, how could I complain? :o)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

I used a free night that I had earned and stayed at the H.R.A. I was with my wife and 16 year old nephew. We arrived to find out that the Atrium was closed due to the ongoing renovation which I wished I would have known beforehand (more on that later).
We were given a room in the remodeled international tower and I found it to be quite nice looking. The TV, furniture and beds were well presented in the room. The sink area in the bathroom was well lit, loved the backlit mirror, the shower toilet area was a bit cramped but acceptable. There was a bit of mold in some of the shower grout but having tile walls is a pain to keep clean…or so my wife tells me! :o) The Hyatt seems to hate bathroom fans for some reason which is a pain because I enjoy the “white noise” when trying to go to sleep. The towels were rough and scratchy but I’m sure after hundreds of washings that’s what happens.
The noise from traffic on the 7th floor was a little more than I would have expected but again nothing to bothersome.
When we were checking out I mentioned that I was disappointed about the Atrium being closed because my nephew was looking forward to seeing it…first trip to Atlanta for him…the lady at the desk waived my parking fees which I thought was very nice.
Overall I was pleased with my stay, which I usually am since I stay here 4 or 5 times a year.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    502
    236
    111
    73
See reviews for
135
218
95
694
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

We stayed at the Hyatt from April 28th to May 1st and I must say, I'm wondering if we stayed at the same hotel as the previous reviewers. We were in the Atrium, 21st floor. Beautiful view, excellent bed, staff unbelievable. Yes, the hotel is under construction, yes the TV is old style, yes the rooms need to be upgraded, but seriously via Hotwire, I don't think you can do any better. We had no issues with noise and kept our balcony doors open all the time (maybe the downtown noise blocked the hotel noise). The MARTA is right next door, just about everything you want to do in Atlanta is within walking distance. Make sure to hit AtlanTIX in Underground Atlanta for half-price tickets to attractions and shows. Above all, do the off-site parking. It's $15 per day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up in the Atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick Georgia, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

I made reservations for two night over the internet (3/18-19) The hotel was close to the location I was doing business at and not that hard to find. I brought my family (wife and son) along so they could visit our daughter who attends Georgia State University, also located close to the hotel.

While checking in I was told the lobby was under construction, no problem. They failed to to tell us that the hotel was infested with thousands of high school aged future businessmen of America, more like the future Bernie Madoff's of America, had taken over the hotel. After checking in to the small and dated room we started to notice the slamming doors, loud music and running on the floor. I had just driven 5 hours after working for a standard eight hours, my wife (who is the Director of Security for a Resort) had just worked a full day.

I proceeded to go down stairs to the desk and informed them my two (no refund) reservation was going to be cancelled. I wasn't the nicest and I will admit the kid at the front desk was nice. He called somebody who said i would have to pay for the second night anyways. I informed the kid to get a manager and he went to a back room and after a few minutes he came back and said we didn't have to pay. A girl who was also working said its always like this, and they would have to put a big disclaimer on their webs sites home page if they had to tell everyone about the noise.

It wasn't until after two in the morning before everyone went to sleep. I guess the screaming "wave", out the windows, between the girls and boys tired them out. Needless to say it was impossible to sleep well or get any service at the hotel that night or the next morning. If its too much trouble telling families that the hotel is filled with screaming kids before they make a reservation then they would never get my business again. The trip was ruined for both myself and family.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattAtlanta, Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Atlanta, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
Good Morning Mike,

We're disappointed to hear about your recent experience here at Hyatt Regency Atlanta. We are indeed a convention hotel and have programs of all shapes and sizes This does not excuse the act of any patron here and we go through great lengths to ensure that all of our guests experience superb service. We will address these issues with staff. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to you staying here with us again here at Hyatt.

Best,

Richard Walter, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
448 helpful votes 448 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

I spend 100 nights per year in hotels rooms and I'm familiar with Atlanta hotels. My review is honest with consideration given to thier current remodeling and a discounted price...

The Good Stuff:
Location to downtown activities and the Merchandise Mart is excellent.
All emplyees I encountered were friendly and totally professional.
Check in was painless and fast.
My 15th floor "Atrium Tower" corner room was spacious, had wonderful views and suprisingly quiet.
Room was clean, smelled nice and had quality bedding/pillows.
Food/drink quality was just average for breakfast and room service.

Areas Lacking:
No explanation of contruction/renovation was given at check-in. Restaurants/bars were closed; place smelled like paint thinner.
Room was old. Furniture worn and stained. Curtains stained with brown marks. Lamp shades stained and dented. Marks/stains on walls and drop ceiling panels.
Old tube style TV's that didn't work well.
Small, old, ugly bathroom. sink/counter mounted way too low???
Towels are thin and scratchy; need to be thrown out...
My "suite" was missing all amenities that make a suite: no bathrobes, no slippers, no mini bar, no fridge, no wet bar, no dry bar, no makeup mirror, no additional toiletries, nothing...
One small closet with no light; way too dark to see what you're doing.
Hotel elevator banks are dark and worn. Call buttons don't allways work.
Friday night @ 10:00; no bellman or anyone manning the vale desk???

For the Hyatt to have let its self get so run down I really dought thier ability to turn it around. Based on Hyatt's behind the times thinking, lack of guest room and property standards; I'm afraid any renovation will be short lived...

Downtown/Midtown Atlanta offers many good choices and is competitive in regards to full service hotels. If you get a great rate online ($80.00) and don't mind a 3 star experiance, the hyatt is fine. Expect anything else and you may be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattAtlanta, Manager at Hyatt Regency Atlanta, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
Good Afternoon Bowman,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. I apologize that you felt our current transformation was not communicated well upon check-in. We try to be as transparent and effective with all guests staying here while we're making such drastic improvements. We understand you stayed in the Atrium Tower and will be happy to know that those guestrooms will be completely transformed and redesigned by December 2011 as well. We would like to investigate the matter closely. If you would, contact us at your earliest convenience so we may take further action. It’s nice to hear that you received excellent customer service as well as the downtown Atlanta experience. We hope that your stay does not deter you from revisiting Hyatt Regency Atlanta in the near future.

James Mas, Executive Housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

I stayed here for a business trip. Downtown Atlanta is pretty much dead so I would not recommend staying here for anything other than business. I stayed in a tower away from the main atrium and I thought it was very nice. The room has obviously been re-done with new carpeting, new flat screen TV, nice desk, sitting furniture. No real view to speak of. No noise. Bathroom was very nice. I thought this was a great place to stay for my business trip. The bar was not my favorite but there are so few establishments open that it was okay for a quick drink. We had great food provided by the Hyatt for our meetings, I was quite surprised at that.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

My wife was attending a conference in December and my daughters and I accompanied her and saw the sights while she was in meetings. I stayed at the Hyatt several years ago and remembered the stay fondly. To be fair, the hotel was undergoing an extensive remodeling while we were there, so we were detoured around the hotel to get to various rooms, including a detour through the kitchen to get to the exercise room.

Check in was pretty confusing. Lot's of individual desks to check you in, but no queue, so everyone is just standing around trying to work their way to the desk. On check out day they finally set up a queue, but that first day was somewhat unorganized.

The room is a bit on the smallish side. It was comfortable enough, though one nice touch that I remember from my previous stay was the turn down service and chocolates on the bed...gone.

Food service is quite limited. We arrived somewhat late the first day. The only food service available was in the bar with a limited menu. The restaurant was pretty overpriced and we ended up having breakfasts next door at the mall where there were several choices.

I imagine that the construction by now is complete and there are more straightforward ways to get around the hotel. Our stay was nice...nothing to brag about. Maybe that's why it took me 4 months to actually get around to writing a review. But, I really do miss those chocolates!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattAtlanta, Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Atlanta, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
Good Morning Switlinabc,

We appreciate your feedback and happy to hear you enjoyed a lot of aspects of Hyatt Regency Atlanta. We are under transformation, and you will be happy to know it set to be complete by December 2011. As limited food options served as an issue for you, this transformation brings in three additional food outlets. I apologize about your front desk experience. Our new front desk pods were designed to create a more intimate check-in experience for our guests but, we will look into your challenges to see if we can implement new practices. We certainly hope this does not deter you from staying with us and we look forward to you staying with us again at Hyatt Regency Atlanta.

Best,

Richard Walter, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

For the price, go someplace else. This hotel is in the process of renovations...wait until they are complete to stay here.

The size of the room was comfortable, and I had a colleague as a roommate, but the condition of everything was just worn out.

There were staff members everywhere, but they all just seemed to mill around. The ones that had a job to do; housekeepers, front desk, bell hops, concierge, servers...those folks busted their butts. But management (or appeared to be management) seemed to just be wondering around all over the hotel and conference center areas; never said hello...most were too occupied with their smart phones to even smile at you in passing.

The conference center was nice...considering. But my advice to anyone is stay at the Hilton or Marriott and walk. You don't even have to go outside to cross over to the Marriott Marquis...and it was amazing. Another colleague stayed there and I saw the room, and found out the price...and I was pissed at myself for not looking at the other properties by the Hyatt.

Room Tip: Tip - go someplace else....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattAtlanta, Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Atlanta, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
PickyTraveler,

We appreciate your feedback regarding this matter and will certainly use your story as a training tool for the staff to ensure these types of actions don't happen again. I assure you, these are not common Hyatt Regency Atlanta practices and are below our standard level of service. It is good to hear that you enjoyed our conference and hard work and dedication our associates put into our hotel. We value your comments and hope you will consider us again for your next stay.

Richard Walter, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Atlanta

Address: 265 Peachtree Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30303-1294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#31 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#47 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#49 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Atlanta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the legendary Peachtree Street and the heart of downtown Atlanta, Hyatt Regency Atlanta is the premier meeting and convention hotel. The 22-story atrium is an architectural "first" that revolutionize hotel design worldwide! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Atlanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Atlanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.