We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel for First-time Visiters” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Highland Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Highland Inn to your Saves list
The Highland Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   644 N Highland Ave, Atlanta, GA 30306 (Poncey-Highland)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 188 Hotels in Atlanta
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel for First-time Visiters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Plain and simple, if you're visiting Atlanta for the first time and you don't want to stay in some dull chain hotel off the interstate, Highland Inn is worth a try. It's a terrific location, quiet and not too crowded with auto traffic, perfectly walkable in any direction. Getting in and out with a car is easy too. I've read reviews where people complain about the building itself, as though they've never slept in a structure built before 1980. It's an old building, and it's got it's quirks, and if you cannot appreciate that you cannot be helped. Great price, nice breakfast, friendly staff. Cheers!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! We are so happy to hear all of the positive things you have to say about our hotel and staff. Please come back to visit again soon!

Best wishes,

Kristin Anderson
Assistant Hotel Manager
The Highland Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    99
    54
    25
    25
See reviews for
41
86
49
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend getaway and it is a cool little hotel, within walking distance of many restaurants and bars and a short drive from anywhere in Atlanta. The hotel and rooms aren't conventional but it offers a more homely feel. Jacob, who works the front desk, was chill and very friendly. He answered any questions we had and even chatted for a few minutes when he got off in the evening. Next trip I make to Atlanta, I will be starting here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Wow! Thanks for your five star review! We always love hearing that our guests feel at home here and that our staff are friendly and attentive. Looking forward to your next visit!

Best wishes,

Kristin Anderson
Assistant Hotel Manager
The Highland Inn
kanderson@thehighlandinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This inn is definitely old and needs some updating, but. It was worth it. The drive to downtown Atlanta isn't bad and there is a great restraint right next door. Our room was small and the floors are creaky but there is a sort of spunk that made it worth it. Great value! If you are out for an adventure and don't plan on spending much time in your room, stay here! The staff is also nice

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback and we are always improving based on guest suggestions. If you have any specific suggestions, please reach out to us directly.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were pleased with our staff. I will share your kind words with them. Please come back to visit us again soon!

Best,

Kristin Anderson
Assistant Hotel Manager
The Highland Inn
kanderson@thehighlandinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I use to live in Atlanta, and would go to the great shows in the ballroom space. Now, when I visit, I always stay at the Highland Inn. By far the cutest and best location in town! Can't beat the price. Great people working the desk, they will tell you about things going on around town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your 5-star review! It's great when former residents come to stay with us! Our staff will be happy to hear your kind words. Please come back to visit again soon!

Best wishes,

Kristin Anderson
Assistant Hotel Manager
The Highland Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed here over New Year's Eve at the recommendation of some friends who had stayed here before. They had told me a little bit about the hotel, but you truly don't appreciate its uniqueness until you see it in person.

It was in a great location for us and our activities planned for the trip (visiting Little Five Points, Midtown, Zoo Atlanta, etc.). The parking is very limited, which is an issue when the hotel is sold out.

The rooms aren't large, and the furnishings aren't extravagant, but they're sufficient if you basically need a place to take a shower and sleep. My friends were in a row where the door didn't shut/latch unless it was deadbolted, which was a bit of a concern.

I'm glad to hear that they're working on renovations to eliminate the steam heat (putting individual heat/AC units in the rooms). The knocking of the steam pipes late at night was a bit disturbing, particularly since it wasn't very cold out the second night. It was strange that the night staff the first night was able to shut the heat off, but the staff the second night said it wasn't possible.

The only other issue was the wi-fi. There's no information in the rooms about the password, etc. When I asked one night, I was told it wasn't available; the second night, the guest in front of me was asking about it, and he was told there was a charge to access it. The hotel's website says wi-fi access is free.

I'd recommend this as a place for overnight stays. If you're on business or will be spending a lot of time in your hotel, it may not be your best bet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate you and are happy that you enjoyed your stay. It is wonderful to hear that you were referred by a previous guest!

We have notated the issues that you mentioned and I will address the conflicting information that you received with the front desk staff. Just to clear it up for you, there is no charge for the WiFi and the heat is controlled by the front desk. The only reason they may have said that they couldn't turn it off was because there was a request from another guest to turn it on. This should all be resolved with the new individual units which we will be installing in the very near future.

The rooms here all differ and we do have larger rooms with more amenities, just ask at the front desk if you would like to be upgraded. I also want to assure you that we take the security of our guests very seriously and I will speak to maintenance regarding the issue your friend had with their door. We haven't ever had any incidents and we have only one entrance which is locked after a certain hour to secure the building and provide the safest environment for our guests.

It pleases us to hear that you would return to our hotel and hope that it will be in the near future! Again, that you for your time and feed back.

Best wishes,

Kristin Anderson
Assistant Hotel Manager
The Highland Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Like I already told some o' y'all, Highland Inn is where you stay when you're either planning a heist, or falling in love with the wrong kind of woman. Or maybe you need a place to lay low afterwards as you wait for the heat to die down, hoping that dirty bird doesn't decide to start singing.
It's not like a lot of the sterile boxes I used to work, the place has character; you get a feeling a lot of the guests didn't live to see check out time. But that's alright, you never feel like you're in imminent danger, those poor suckers had it coming to them anyway. You're just as likely to die eating at the greasy spoon around the corner.
The staff seem like apathetic kids, but they will quickly acknowledge you're there. For what you're paying, it's good. And they have a nice lending library in the concierge room.
I'd say it's a great place for adults to stay, but not really a place for kids. Great for crashing on a quick getaway, just don't go expecting 5 star luxury. Clean room, serviceable bed, & a floor plan you're likely to only experience here. (How many places have you stayed where you can sit on the toilet and stare directly into the shower, with the light switch directly above your head?)

Room Tip: Not really any "great views" to be had, if that's important to you. Me, I rarely spend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoy staying with us and that you appreciate the character of our inn. I am sorry if you felt that our staff was apathetic because this is not how we want to be perceived and I will bring this up in our next staff meeting. We hope to welcome you back to the inn in the near future!

Best,

Kristin Anderson
Assistant Hotel Manager
The Highland Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This hotel has a lot of character. The location (between Virginia Highlands and Little Five Points) can't be beat. It is within a short walk of many restaurants, bars and shops. There is also an art house theater only a block away. It is my favorite place to stay in Atlanta. My husband, children and I have stayed here 6 or 7 times. However, it is quirky. I think the quirkiness is part of its charm. This is definitely not a cookie cutter establishment. The free parking can be aggravating at times, as the lot fills up on weekend nights and one may have to park farther away. The floors are uneven, the carpet is worn, and there are old fashioned radiators in the rooms. If you are obsessed with everything being spotless and perfectly functional, this is not the place for you! If your main concerns are quaint charm, location and reasonable price don't hesitate to stay here.

Room Tip: Since this is an older hotel rooms can be very different in size, layout, etc and are priced differe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for your 5 star review and thank you for your customer loyalty! It's always nice to hear that guests are return customers! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We can't help but agree that our location and character are two of our greatest assets. Please come back to visit us soon!

Best,


Kristin Anderson
Assistant Hotel Manager
The Highland Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Highland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highland Inn

Address: 644 N Highland Ave, Atlanta, GA 30306
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Poncey-Highland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Highland Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic 80-room inn built in 1927 and renovated for the Olympics in 1996, the Highland Inn is located within easy walking distance to over 100 shops, restaurants, galleries and bars. Most major Atlanta attractions are just a short distance away, and we are centrally located between the Virginia-Highland and Little Five Points neighborhoods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Highland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highland Hotel Atlanta
Highland Hotel Atlanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Highland Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.