We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Grand Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3300 Peachtree Road Northeast, Atlanta, GA 30305 (Buckhead)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Spring Weekends
Ranked #21 of 190 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“A Grand Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2007

Yes, the Grand Hyatt lived up to its name. A very, very beatiful hotel both on the outside and inside. The staff was extremely polite and took pains to address you by your name. My room was nicely decorated, clean and was located on the 14th floor overlooking Peachtree Rd and the side road. The side road was where the self park garage was located and it was only a short walk in a safe neighborhood. Talk about the neighborhood, you can walk to the AMC theatres, to various restaurants, Krogers and the Caribou Cafe for free Internet service. If you are a Francophone, you would love this hotel. As I found out on my first night, the hotel is the preferred lodging for Air France crews and other French travelers. They usually hang out in The Onyx, the very nice hotel bar. Shoot, the hotel also provide a French language cable channel to boot! In conclusion, I enjoyed the four nights I stayed in this hotel and would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    285
    97
    45
    14
See reviews for
106
203
66
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas girl in the South
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2007

We made a last minute reservation via Priceline to stay at the Grand Hyatt while in town to see Dave Matthews Band. The hotel has a complimentary car service to the nearest Marta station -- we requested it and the wait ended up being so long, that we took our own car instead. The ATM machine was out of service and literally charged us three times but didn't give us any cash and the front desk folks seemed to be unconcerned.

Speaking of the front desk -- upon check-in we were greeted with the most ridiculous line of travelers waiting to get their room keys, with one person working and three others chatting behind the desk. Infuriating.

The rooms and hotel are beautiful, and the food is wonderful though. I think it's probably better during the week for business travelers, but I won't stay here again for pleasure.

  • Liked — Beautiful/comfortable room, proximity to everything
  • Disliked — Typical charge by Hyatt for internet access, awful customer service
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelop
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2007

We traveled to Atlanta for a girls/shopping weekend. We stayed on the Regency Level with two adjoining rooms using a AAA rate.
From the moment we arrived to check out, the trip was fantastic. After check-in, the front dest called to make sure eveything was to our liking. The corner King room was large and even with a roll- a - way bed gave plenty of room for the girls to sit, visit, share appetizers- provided by the Regency Club Floor lounge! (hot and cold items- fresh and delicious!). Each night we were able to use the Hotel Courtesty Car ( a luxurious town car) to take us and pick us up from the resteraunts we had chosen. ( the town car will take you anywhere with in a 2 mile radius). The adjoing room had 2 double beds and one small window. Could be considered dark if it were not for the three large picture windows in the King room. The Third floor Japanese gardens were beautiful and a nice place to sit and have a drink. The Cassis is where breakfast was served each day. The windows overlooked a beautful cascading waterfall- looked like you were in the mountains not in downtown Atlanta. The food was hot and excellent! Atlanta Fish Maket is the best resteraunt . We highly recommend it! From the bell staff, the concierge who made dinner reservations, Jeff the courtesy car driver, the front staff and food service made this a five star stay! We would stay here again- despite the $25.00 a day parking fee!

  • Liked — great room, Regency Club Lounge, Courtesy Car
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2007

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt Buckhead with our children. Overall it was a pleasant stay. Here is the scoop:
Pros:
- Great Buckhead Location
- Free Shuttle within 2 mile range is dependable and convenient (our longest wait for the car was 15 minutes from the time we called)
- Lobby is very pretty
- Bath is smallish but nice
- Staff is friendly
- Our rate was considerably cheaper than Ritz or Inter Continental in the same neighborhood


Cons:
- The hotel is not as well maintained as the Ritz or Four Seasons. There were beer bottles by the pool at 9AM, and cigarette butts in the Japanese garden. Our Shower did not drain.
- The concierge was friendly, but not exceptionally knowledgeable.
- Beds do not have particularly grand linens.

Overall, for the price I would stay here again. Everyone is friendly and it is great to leave the car parked and let them drive you to the front door of the mall or dinner. (The Inter Continental has a similar service, is much pricier). If you can find a similar rate at the Inter Continental or Ritz, take it as they are a step above this place.

  • Liked — Shuttle
  • Disliked — Maintenance
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

We were at the Hyatt in Buckhead for a regional sales meeting. The meeting staff was terrific and I can't praise the food and banquet teams enough. The meeting food we had was some of the best I've had in YEARS of business travel. Staff was friendly and attentive. Meeting room had some challenges with "columns" but we made it work. Hotel has nice pool and gardens. Rooms are what you would expect for a Grand Hyatt - large, comfortable, great beds.

  • Liked — Location (great proximity to public transportation), meeting facilities, self serve check-in
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2007

I returned on 8/25 from a 7 Night stay at the Grand Hyatt Atlanta Buckhead. It is very easy to reach the hotel with the clean fast and safe MARTA subway, which departs in the airport terminal close to the baggage claim area and brings you to the Buckhead station one block away from the hotel-for $2.25 a ride. There are elevators in the station-excellent and easy to use even with luggage. The hotel is elegant, clean, with a feel of luxury (they are trying to compete with the Ritz-Carlton or Four Seasons, where we stay often for conventions or vacations, but I have to say that the Grand Hyatt is not reaching that level.). The staff is very friendly, and there seems to be a general attitude enforced by management, that all employees have to try their best to accomodate the guests. Every request was immediately addressed (such as an air cleaner for my room, because their was a moldy smell from the A/C). The food was good, some of it excellent for a catered convention with 350 people. Breakfast was outstanding, different every day! The room was too expensive at $179 per night PLUS an extra $28 per night for occupancy and some other tax. Everything else in the hotel was outrageously expensive, too. $ 7 for a bottle of Evian, $2.50 for a pack of gum in the gift shop, $13 to see the Ocean's thirteen movie. Internet access topped it all: either you bring your own laptop and pay $10.99 per day (yes every day another $10.99) or just to check an email real quick, you could pay $7.50 for 15 minutes internet access in the business center. I filed a complaint with the manager about this, and I will not stay again in any Grand Hyatt Hotel because of their Internet Policy.
On the positive side: the hotel had a free shuttle car, that would drive you to restaurants, the Atalnta History Center Museum (great place, very interesting), the mall or anything else in a two mile radius around the hotel (surprise, that they didn't charge for that. Although often there was over 30 min waiting time). Buckhead is a sterile place with lots of high rise buildings, a big mall (if you don't have shopping at home), and outrageously expensive restaurants. We ate at "Prime" in the Mall (the most awful duck I have ever eaten for $19.95 and a lukewarm lemon martini for $10. At "Bones"-fantastic steak, but the smallest was $35 + $3 for the Bearnaise sauce and $ 9 for the asparagus (!!!). The best was the Atlanta Fishmarket, a fun place, bustling with people and action, excellent fresh fish ($26 for the Peruvain sea bass, which was fresh but sadly overcooked) and huge lobsters.
Overall I don't know, why anybody in his right mind would choose Atlanta for a convention in AUGUST. The weather was 100 degrees every day, Buckhead is dead boring and sterile. But people, who came from more rural areas (than NYC) really enjoyed the mall and shopped like crazy. The Grand Hyatt was a nice hotel, that tried to be a luxury hotel, but ended up being more of an average 3-4 star business place. OK, but not great and way too expensive.

  • Liked — Breakfast, friendly staff, easy access with MARTA subway
  • Disliked — Internet Access Policy, moldy smell from A/C, overpriced, sterile and boring surroundings
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

Wanted a four star hotel near downtown Atlanta. Got a 4 star in buckhead. if you have not been out to buckhead while you are in atlanta its a pretty cool place but next door to Downtown ATL it is not. I have stayed in 4 stars and this one seems like a 3 at the most. They screwed up my reservation, called twice to confirm they had my king non smoke available, got there early room was paid for already, only king nonsmoke was a handicap acc.unit with bars all over it. Didnt offer a free upgrade for the inconvenience or anything. 4 stars do that(especially when pay in advance) but you know what they say about paying for service in advance, service depreciates greatly when it has been paid for in advance. 21.00 breakfast, 17.00 parking, noisy neighbors partying till 3 am, fire alarm went off for 30 minutes, didnt restock my coffee , you name it. If you can get for 130.00 a night it might be a deal, but you need to keep it low because all the little extras are gonna cost you.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead

Address: 3300 Peachtree Road Northeast, Atlanta, GA 30305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Buckhead
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#10 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#15 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#27 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil retreat within a vibrant urban setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Atlanta In Buckhead Hotel Atlanta
Hyatt Atlanta In Buckhead
Grand Hyatt Buckhead
Atlanta Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.