We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlanta Marriott Northwest at Galleria

Save Saved
You added Atlanta Marriott Northwest at Galleria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Atlanta Marriott Northwest at Galleria
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   200 Interstate North Parkway, Atlanta, GA 30339   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #109 of 188 hotels in Atlanta
GreenLeadersBronze level
Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. On Priceline, I was able to get the Marriott for $36/night, a great value. It is convenient to I-75 with free parking. The lobby area is nicely renovated, and the rooms are well renovated as well. The bed is very comfortable, there is a nice sized flat screen TV in the room that can be rotated to be visible from the desk, and, unlike many Marriott hotels, there is FREE wireless internet. The only minor issue is that some of the carpeting in the corridors is worn, but I came to stay in the room, not the hallway!

I would definitely stay here again for $36!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Luxury Link

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    89
    55
    30
    13
See reviews for
41
44
23
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

I recently stayed at this hotel for one night during a visit to Atlanta, Georgia. I'm relieved that we only stayed for one night because the rooms were really small.
-The room had an old and loud ac unit
-They were having a car show that weekend, and my room happened to be on the side of the parking lot of the event, so there was constant noise throughout the night.
-The room was not large enough for 2 beds or my family. We would have had to room elsewhere if we needed a room longer than one night.
Overall, this is not your typical Marriott. I will stay at the hyatt next time. For the price I paid, I was expecting a lot more.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

The public areas were nice and appeared newly renovated. When I checked in, the front desk person asked if I wanted a king room or double bed. As my Rewards account specifies King, I was confused as to why I was being asked, but said King anyway. After being told it would be no problem, I ventured upstairs to find... a double bed room. I called downstairs and informed them of the mix up, but the person said that they had no King rooms available. How they sold out of King beds in the three minutes it took me to take the elevator, I don't know. The room's thermostat was set at 75, and it was quite hot. I moved it to 68 and headed out for a day of meetings. When I returned, the thermostat read 79. The AC was blowing hot air! I couldn't sleep in such a hot room. In the morning, I called in to complain about the air and they said they would send someone right up. When I came back from my meetings, the cleaning lady in the hallway told me that she had found my door left ajar and that she had closed it - so apparently the maintenance person left my door open. The air was still hot - it took a second, rather insistent call to have someone come up to check on it. It took him a few minutes, but he got it done and apologized profusely.
Aside from the room mix up and the heat, the only other concern I had was the wireless Internet. The front desk said that they no longer use wired Internet service, but their wireless was unsecured, open, and only offered a single access point that pulled in two "bars." It is incredibly slow and incredibly unsafe to be using.
The cleaning staff was incredibly nice and dedicated to making my stay great. The room service was tasty and rich, so no problems there. All in all, these few mistakes really ruined what would have otherwise been a very pleasant experience at a nice looking hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurengrass
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

As soon as I got to my room, I found the first of many disgusting encounters. I went into the bathroom, and was greeted by a silverfish. Disgusting yes, but limited to the bathroom so I could deal. I ordered a sandwich and soup from room service - both were inedible. The next morning I discovered that all of my belongings were covered in Ants. And also there was another bizzar critter scurrying across my bed. When I called the front desk, they noted they would have someone spray my room. By mid afternoon the problem was getting worse..thankfully they switched my room. Which was more or less fine until this morning when I discovered a small beetle like bug in my bed.

I can handle poor service, poor food, but I can not handle BUGS. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlno, Management at Atlanta Marriott Northwest at Galleria, responded to this review, April 22, 2009
In response to the comment left on TripAdvisor on April 2, 2009 regarding the insect problem, we are shocked and dismayed to learn of this experience. This is certainly not representative of the level of service we try to extend to each of our guests. We have ongoing service by a professional pest control company and have never been made aware of a pest problem. This was a unique experience and we are willing to take every step to ensure that there are no reoccurrences.

We apologize that a guest has left our property less than satisfied and hope that we are given the opportunity to redeem ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

Stayed here on the way back from Fla. to Cinti. Right off I-75, 1 exit N. of I-285. It was a very pleasant stay, clean comfortable rooms, 32" LCD TV, with digital cable, coffee maker, work desk, with desk chair. Also had a lounge chair in room. You are close (1/4-1.5 miles) to many restaurants. They have a lounge/bar and a full service restaurant, and a full breakfast buffet (with made to order eggs/omelet's) Had buffet it was very good. Hotel has plenty of lighted parking close to lobby. It was also very quiet. Booked room on priceline for $60 +tax. Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

Me and my husband stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in November, 2008. We booked this hotel and Hertz rental car (Economy car for 3 days) for $252.00 through Hotwire. Awesome deal. Outside view of the hotel was so-so. Typical beige looking Marriott hotel you can see any where. But lobby area was nice. Modern looking, more spacious lobby area than many other hotels I've been to. Nicely decorated with plenty of chairs to sit and relax. Complementary ginger cookie are offered in the afternoon.

In general, you can tell that the building was renovated pretty recently but there were plenty of traces of building being pretty old. Like many coatings of paint on the doors, out dated heating/AC unit in the room and etc.

Room: Nice LG flat-panel TV. Complementary wireless internet. They do have Ethernet hook up (Ethernet cable not provided) but we weren't able to get it to work. I'm not sure if wireless is your only option or it was just problem in my room. But wireless worked fine for us so no complaints. No fridge or microwave. Furnitures seemed pretty new. Renovated bathroom.

Pool/Gym: Work out area had several treadmills, ellipticals, medicine balls, and even free weights. All the equipments had little TV monitor attached to it (you need earphone to listen it and you need to bring your own). They do have indoor and outdoor (seasonal) pools. There was a hot tub next to indoor pool.

We found more than few discrepancies in Guest Services Directory. It probably was printed years ago and was never updated. We went down to the restaurant by the lobby for breakfast around 6:15 AM (because Guest Services Directory said that the breakfast is served from 6 AM). Wrong information. They don't open 'til 6:30 AM. We had to wait there for 15 min. Also, there were several wrong admission prices listed in this book for Points of Interest. CNN Center (Adult price listed $10, it's actually $12), World of Coca-Cola (Adult prices listed $6, it's actually it's $15).

By the way, breakfast buffet was $13.95 with coffee and juice included. Selections were not the greatest but it was good enough. Choice of breads, yogurt, oatmeal, potato, scrambled egg, 2 different type of sausages, bacon, 5-6 different fresh fruits, pureed strawberry (they had this in shot glass), omelet station, waffle station, and choice of cereals.

Overall, I was satisfied with hotel especially since we got a great deal from Hotwire. The location of the hotel was very nice also. Nice, safe area. Plenty of shoppings and restaurants are just a few miles away.

  • Liked — Good rate we got from Hotwire
  • Disliked — No sauna.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2008

We drove to Atlanta from northern Virginia to deal with a family emergency and drove around looking for a place to stay. Nothing looked safe enough until we got to this property. Yes, it's old on the outside but they've updated the inside and the area seems safe. However, walking in off the street cost us $199+ per night for a weekday rate. I wish we could have paid more like $99 or less because it's not worth more. No fridge or microwave, small bathroom, bed too soft. Cleanliness is critical for us, and the room passed that test. Though, we got there at 5:30pm there were used room service trays lining the hallways that hadn't been picked up yet (yuk). We had dinner at Houston's around the corner, which was excellent. Hotel is very convenient to I-75; so convenient in fact, that we heard the interstate traffic all night.

Hotel is just average for what we paid. Would have been great for less than $100.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlanta Marriott Northwest at Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlanta Marriott Northwest at Galleria

Address: 200 Interstate North Parkway, Atlanta, GA 30339
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlanta Marriott Northwest at Galleria 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across from the Cobb-Galleria Convention Center, Atlanta Marriott Northwest offers luxurious accommodations and exceptional service to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Atlanta Marriott Northwest at Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlanta Marriott Northwest Hotel Atlanta
Marriott Atlanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlanta Marriott Northwest at Galleria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.