We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pub Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gibney's Pub

Gibney's Pub
231 Peachtree St NE, Ste A07, Atlanta, GA 30303-1603 (Downtown)
404-688-0928
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #491 of 3,465 Restaurants in Atlanta
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Pub
Neighborhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Pub Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

If you are staying at the Atlanta Hilton or the Atlanta Marriott Marquis Gibney's Pub is a good option for meal outside the hotel. They are known for their burgers but I chose the fish and chips. I also had the french onion soup which was very good. Good atmosphere, nothing exceptional but I would go back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    26
    10
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spearfish, SD
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Confused”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We come from a rural area so whenever my husband and I go to a city, we always love to go to local pubs. We were staying at the Marriott Marquis and we came across Gibney's less than a block from our hotel. The bartender was friendly and we sat up at the bar to order a local brew and eat an appetizer. The atmosphere was low key and pretty quiet...people just visiting and enjoying a beer with light music in the background. We stayed for quite a while and made plans to come back each night for the rest of our 4 days in Atlanta. Much to our disappointment the next night was much different. We sat up at the bar and ordered our 'usual' and within 15 minutes, the waitress was over at the jukebox picking out hard rock music and turned up the horrid music so loud you couldn't have a conversation with the person next to you! We left within 20 minutes and never went back. This little pub could be the gem of the city if the owner wanted it to be. What a shame they don't take advice from other pubs and make it a place to come and have a drink with friends and not have your ears blasted out by music that doesn't even fit the pub scene. So disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great food and drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

First time in Atlanta and we stopped here for a beer and pulled pork sandwiches. It was awesome and the food was so good! Will be returning when in ATL again!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Identity Confusion”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

After running the gauntlet of homeless people to get into Gibney's, I found a staff that was woefully inadequate & a bar that didn't know if it wanted to be an urban dance club or a rockabilly dive bar.

5 minute wait times to get a draught beer when the tap is in front of me & there are only 3 other people at the bar is unacceptable. When a fellow patron is continuously served after she says she is "half wasted" is unacceptable. And changing Johnny Cash's "A Boy Named Sue" mid-song to a thumping dubstep track that would easily fit on the "Fast & Furious" soundtrack is almost downright criminal.

There are much better options in the area.

Life pro tip: Homeless people back off quickly when you adopt a deep Russian accent & call them "bro".

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Something Different for Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Gibney's has an upstairs entrance in the Peachtree Center Mall that is easy to overlook. Had lunch with a business associate who suggested it. He was disappointed that they did not have Shepherds Pie that day, but I ordered the Chicken Pot Pie and was very happy with it. Was expecting to order at our table, but for lunch they have a serving line. You can either wait for your food to cook or come back and check to see if it is ready and then carry it to your table on a tray. Much more casual than I expected. The Chicken Pot Pie is cooked in a long flat bowl and then topped by a pastry that looks like a loaf of bread, but is flaky and delicious.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gibney's Pub also viewed

 

Been to Gibney's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gibney's Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.