We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Mexican, Nice Balcony Seating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jalapeno Charlie's

Jalapeno Charlie's
218 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303 (Downtown)
(404) 581-0884
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #919 of 3,460 Restaurants in Atlanta
Cuisines: Latin, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Average Mexican, Nice Balcony Seating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were looking for a place to have a lunch with friends before leaving Atlanta. There were 3 in our party. Service was ok, but friendly. The waiter forgot my friend's Sangria, but apologized, and did not charge her for it. Balcony seating is what originally attracted us and it was very pleasant dining al fresco.

Food was average, but I've had better at other Mexican restaurants throughout the city (this was no La Parilla or Los Bravos!). I ordered a pork tamale- came out hot, and was enjoyable- especially liked the delicate little grains of yellow rice on the side. Hubby got some exotic tacos with mango salsa that he enjoyed, friend got empanadas- but didn't get the correct filling that she ordered.

Was an average meal and probably had more character than the Hard Rock across the street. Probably wouldn't go back unless we had to, but good if you're in the area and have limited options.

Tips:
- Sit on the upstairs balcony for atmosphere and view.
- Avoid the guacamole- it is merely onion chunks stirred into a bit of what appeared to be store-bought avocado spread.
- No free chips and salsa, but if you order chips, ask for the salsa. It was pretty good. Chunky with a bit of a spicy kick.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    41
    48
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, AZ
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Surprisingly an excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I sat at the bar and ordered the chicken enchiladas. The service was fast and polite. The food came out very hot and was a good portion. It tasted excellent and was good quality. The prices were very reasonable especially in the city. I would eat here again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardy, Arkansas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Overall good - server Veronika excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Sometimes the service can make up for an otherwise average experience. We ate at Jalapeno Charlie's on our way back to the Marriott Marquis after a busy day sight-seeing on Friday. It is just around the corner from the hotel, and across the street from Hard Rock, so we had checked out the menu earlier in the week. They were not very busy but it was fairly early - around 6pm. We opted to eat inside rather than on the deck because it was a little too hot for us. But, the deck would be awesome - on the corner and overlooking the street with HR across the street. Our server Veronika was very nice and checked on us often. She took the time to visit with us, which was nice, and I don't think we took her away from other tables since they weren't that busy, and there appeared to be plenty of staff on duty. Anyway, we really liked the chips and salsa. We shared an order of flautas, and overall really enjoyed the food. We would go back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zama, Japan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average Mexican food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

It was nice to sit outside and overlook the busy street, and our giant margarita with the Coronita in it was good, but that's about it. The chicken flautas had not much flavor, and the enchiladas were about the same. The service was also not great-servers came and went outside to help other people, but ours and 2 other tables got ignored for about 20 min-we finally had to go inside and ask for someone to help us. Probably other good Mexican places downtown for you to go

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Tex Mex”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great food for the price. Make sure you get the sampler with the 3 different kind of salsas! Perfect! Very relaxed atmosphere. Tv's everywhere and a little loud, but that is ok.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jalapeno Charlie's also viewed

 

Been to Jalapeno Charlie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jalapeno Charlie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.