We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern beautiful comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ellis Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ellis Hotel to your Saves list
Ellis Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   176 Peachtree Street NE, Atlanta, GA   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #42 of 188 Hotels in Atlanta
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Aiken, South Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Modern beautiful comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

We stayed here one night to treat ourselves. It was gorgeous and very convenient for us, since we were going to walk downtown the next day and visit the Aquarium. The bed was super-comfortable and posh. Room was small but still very elegant and comfortable.

The thing I liked the most was that they carry Molton Brown lotions, haircare and soaps in the bathroom. They smelled incredible!!

There is a diner around the corner where you can get late-night food, and also a dunkin donuts around the corner if you want early-morning coffee. All in all it was a great place to stay and I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    222
    92
    29
    22
See reviews for
83
304
96
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

This hotel is excellent. I've never stayed at a hotel where they try so hard. They also take a keen interest in trip adviser and are really pleased that they rank so well! In the evenings they have candles (not real but look really good) decorating the stair case. A wine tasting in the lounge at 5.30. The rooms are lovely, clean, comfortable beds, flat screen TVs, coffee making facilities. Everything you could want. The best thing is the staff. Roland on the front desk made us feel so welcome. We had a really good laugh! And my Sound of Music duet with lady who checked us out was a triumph. Would definitely recommend to anyone. Was sorry to leave! Atlanta does not feel like the safest city in the US. But the security in this hotel was very good and we felt very safe here.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

Well located. Great staff. Very clean. No frills. Newspaper daily.
Super comfortable bed. We hear the noise from the car but it is not major.
We will definetly choose this hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

I had a great experience at the Ellis hotel in Atlanta. The location is ideal - a short walk to the Georgia Aquarium and World of Coca Cola. The entire staff was friendly and helpful from the front desk staff to the valets. The room was nice. My only complaint was that the AC was rather loud.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Centrally located to Mid-town Atlanta, the Ellis was a very clean and modern hotel. It is located near the standard corporate restaurants (Hard Rock, Hooters, ...) but also near some very good locally owned restaurants and bars. A metra station is located next to the hotel too.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

Husband and I stayed at Ellis Oct. 5 & 6 while in Atlanta for U2 concert at the Georgia Dome. Originally had reservations at the W Midtown but cancelled and booked with the Ellis based on tripadvisor reviews and much better rate. So glad we did! Can't imagine the W would have been better!
Everyone at Ellis friendly and helpful from valet, bellman, concierge, front desk. All smiles and "what can we do for you today?"
Location is perfect! Walking distance (about 10 minutes) to GA Aquarium/World of Coca Cola, Centennial Park. Next door to MARTA station, which we took to the GA Dome for the concert.
We had a king room - smallish, but what I would call cozy. Clean and nicely appointed. Bed is EXTREMELY comfy! Kind of noisy at night - we were on the 7th floor, but what we heard were city noises that we aren't used to. No fault of Ellis.
Used valet parking $22, but never used our car until we checked out because of great location. Did not eat at restaurant but have heard good things about it.
Looking forward to another stay at the Ellis sometime!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

This hotel is a good choice for downtown. It has some nice touches the larger chain hotels do not have. It is a much more intimate setting and you will feel wecome by the Ellis staff.

The fitness room is tiny, but apparently if you ask at the desk they give you free access to a large gym down the block. The bed was extremely comfortable, however make sure you get a room on a higher floor. I was on the 3rd floor (the lowest) and the street noise was very loud in the morning (idling buses, garbage trucks, etc.).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ellis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellis Hotel

Address: 176 Peachtree Street NE, Atlanta, GA
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 188 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ellis Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, boutique, hip downtown Atlanta hotel with 4 star service at affordable prices. Everything from our contemporary decor to our quietly attentive staff has been thoughtfully designed for the definitive indulgent experience. Following an impressive $28 million restoration, our hotel rooms blend sleek design and down home southern comforts with unmatched access to the heart of downtown … within walking distance of restaurants, corporations, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Ellis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ellis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.