We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Ellis Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ellis Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ellis Hotel to your Saves list
Ellis Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   176 Peachtree Street NE, Atlanta, GA   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #42 of 188 Hotels in Atlanta
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Loved the Ellis Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

A bride reserved a block at the Ellis Hotel for her NYE event. It was wonderful. From check in to check out, the staff could not have been more attentive. The location is convenient (across the street from a subway station). The valet, Antwon, was really funny and interesting. We'll definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — The Molton Brown products.
  • Disliked — The street noise.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    221
    92
    29
    22
See reviews for
82
304
96
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middle Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

We stayed overnight at the Ellis a few days after Christmas for an anniversary getaway. It was fabulous. The staff was very proessional and helpful. The room was spotless. The bed had six pillows of all different types and you could request more of whichever you prefered. The bed itself was firm with a thick soft mattress pad and luxe cotton sheets. We had the corner room on the top floor and it had a great view with windows on two sides of the room and beautiful room darkening shades...we slept until nearly ten! The bathrom was perfectly lovely. There were lots of bath towels and a hairdryer - no need to request. An iron and ironing board in the room was also very considerate. We had no problem with the wireless connection in the room - woked great.
There are lots of restaurants on Peachtree within walking distance bt we were tired and decided to just eat spper at the in house restaurant, the estreet grille. The restaurant was suprisingly great. We knew it would be high and it was :) but no higher than anywhere else on Peachtree. My husband and I both ate for a little over 30 bucks. And Tony sent us a free drink since we were there for our anniversary. The food was really excellent - selection was limited but the service was impecable. We actually had the place to ourselves and our server was there the second we needed anything without interrupting us or hovering. We ordered room service the next morning and it was also quite good and very nicely served.
Overall we were very impressed. I especially appreciated that they went above and beyond fulilling my requests. It was a great night and we can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — very sophisticated and soothing
  • Disliked — the receptionist at checkout was tad bit curt - the checkin experience with the front desk was excellent though
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretna Green, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2008

We stayed at The Ellis for 3 days in October & thoroughly enjoyed our stay here ,from the minute we arrived to when we left all the staff were extremely welcoming ,friendly & could'nt be more helpful with advice & even loaning us umbrellas for a trip out.
The rooms are very well appointed with all the usual facilities & very clean.
We cannot recommend this hotel more highly.

  • Liked — spacious rooms
  • Disliked — no tea for machine in room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2008

I stayed at The Ellis last week when I was in town on business. Getting there from the airport was very easy as the hotel sits directly atop the Peachtree Street MARTA station. A $4.00 roundtrip ticket will get you from the airport and back.

The front desk staff and doormen were very welcoming on check-in and the lobby was very nice and contemporary in style. Since I was alone in town on business, I decided to stay on the women's only floor. The room itself was very nice with a large bed, plenty of pillows, a wall of windows with both sheer and heavy curtains to block out the light, a flat-screen TV, and work desk with chair. Overall, the room was very comfortable and very clean.
The bathroom was on the small side but had modern fixtures and was impeccably clean as well. The shower had very nice tile with one of those big shower heads. Also in the bathroom were an included hair dryer, flat iron, curling iron, and robe. Maybe this was a "women's only floor" kind of thing, but it was certainly a nice touch.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay very much. The hotel was very nice, modern, clean, and the staff were very helpful with all requests. I would definitely stay here again.

TIP: just down the street about 1-2 blocks is the Landmark Diner open 24 hours. Great NYC type of place with good food and desserts at great prices.

  • Liked — very clean
  • Disliked — smallish bathroom
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2008

In a world of chain hotels, I always try to stay at the independent places. I'm not all that interested in Reward points or Honor points, or whatever. More I like to see something that's not generic.

The Ellis is definitely a nice place if a bit small. Modern design and decor, super nice staff, central location would be all the plusses.

If you fly into Atlanta, are looking to stay downtown, and trying to get away without a car rental (tough to do in Atlanta), the Ellis is a good choice. A MARTA stop is literally across the street. And the hotel is positioned within walking distance to various restaurants downtown.

There was no wireless internet, but a fairly capable hardwired connection in my junior suite.

The beds were comfortable. Everything was very clean. The thermostat in the room was a bit of pain to figure out but eventually got it working.

All in all, it's a safe, if not unspectacular, place to stay in downtown Atlanta.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2008

We (family of 4 with 2 children ages 5 and 8) stayed at the Ellis Nov 8 to 11 for a convention. We chose the hotel because of its proximity to the convention center and the reviews on tripadvisor. The hotel is right next to the MARTA subway station which we took from/to the airport. It was about a 10 minute walk to the convention center so we didn't have to use the bus service that was provided. The hotel did not disappoint us. The staff was very friendly. The beds were comfortable, and the room was recently renovated with an upscale contemporary theme. The luxurious bathrooms had perfumed Zegna shampoo and soap. Only complaint is that there was some street noise from the buses that we heard at night even though we were on the 14th floor.

Being downtown, the restaurant choices were limited. We ate breakfast from Dunkin Donuts and the Corner Bakery, and Pittypat's Porch was a few blocks away. Also the area was a little seedy at night but they appeared to beef up the police presence due to the convention and a game at the Arena. Note the hotel is right across the street from the Ritz Carlton.

The hotel was about a 10 minute walk from the Aquarium (fantastic), World of Coca Cola ( tried all 60+ flavors) and the Children's Museum (ok). We had to take a cab to the Fernbank Museum (impressive 84 ft dinosaur) and the Zoo (pandas and naked mole rat playgound were the favorites).

Overall our trip to Atlanta surpassed our expectations and much of this was due to the hotel. It is so nice to look forward to going back to the hotel and relax after spending hours at the convention center or seeing the sights. If we hadn't attended the convention I'm not sure we would have stayed in the downtown area.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — street noise
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

My wife and I spent an enjoyable week at the Ellis in October 2008.

We had booked a Junior Suite as we wanted a bit of extra space and the increase in price over the double doubles wasn't too much. The room was certainly big enough, but fairly small for a junior suite. It was very nicely decorated and well equipped. It was perfectly clean when we arrived and remained that way while we were there. All the rooms have wireless but we hadn't brought a laptop with us so we used the computers in the business centre instead.

The staff were polite and attentive at all times so no problems in that area.

We only used the restaurant on one occasion and we found the food to be fine, but the service was pretty slow.

The hotel is right beside the Peachtree stop of the MARTA which was really handy, both for getting to and from the airport, but also for getting around Atlanta.

I wasn't a big fan of the local area. A large number of the nearby eating places were fast food and, more importantly, closed very early in the evening. Local shopping was also limited. If I was staying in Atlanta again, then I think I would choose the Buckhead area.

Of the local attractions, we enjoyed the Aquarium and the Zoo most, but also enjoyed the Botanics, the Martin Luther King Centre, the Atlanta History Centre and the World of Coca Cola,

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ellis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellis Hotel

Address: 176 Peachtree Street NE, Atlanta, GA
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 188 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ellis Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, boutique, hip downtown Atlanta hotel with 4 star service at affordable prices. Everything from our contemporary decor to our quietly attentive staff has been thoughtfully designed for the definitive indulgent experience. Following an impressive $28 million restoration, our hotel rooms blend sleek design and down home southern comforts with unmatched access to the heart of downtown … within walking distance of restaurants, corporations, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ellis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ellis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.