We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, little peace” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ellis Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ellis Hotel to your Saves list
Ellis Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   176 Peachtree Street NE, Atlanta, GA   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #35 of 188 Hotels in Atlanta
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Atlanta
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, little peace”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Booked this hotel to get my wife out of the house have a good meal and get some piece and quiet. All happened but the latter.
First I would like say the rooms are small but updated and clean, very comfortable bed, and a decent size bathroom with shower only. The hotel is small so the bar, lobby and restaurant are small. The staff was ok with the exception of the bellman who was great and should be given a managers position for his courtesey and professionalism.
Now the bad... and I will say it is not all the hotels fault. They are doing street construction outside and have laid down metal plates. Everytime a car goes over it it sounds like 2 gunshots. We were on the 8th floor and it sounded like it was just outside. if i had been on a lower floor I would have asked for my money back.The HVAC system is very loud so I turned it to auto(big mistake as it at least is loud white noise and may have masked other noise) Besides the construction and the cab driver fight at 4 am the plumbing was very loud. Everytime a toilet flushed around us it woke us up. Also the shower which has a nice shower head and pressure leaked out on the bath floor and in gallons (bad door seal). Like I said nice hotel with some noise issues. The windows should have more noise proofing.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the front side of the building until street constuction is complete. Keep the HAVC sy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olya R, Front Office Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear rwsdsc1 ,
Thank you for your recent stay and for the kind words about our staff and rooms. We're also unhappy about the construction and all the noise that comes with it; however we're glad to be a part of Atlanta's success and are being patient as the city is undergoing the Street Car project.
I see that your experience was not as peaceful as it should have been and I would like to correct that. We would like to invite you back when construction is completed to enjoy the true Ellis experience-all about relaxation and good sleep! Please contact me next time you're planning a trip to Atlanta.
Sincerely,
Olya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    218
    88
    28
    19
See reviews for
80
294
96
333
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My boyfriend, my mom, her boyfriend, and myself attended the Beer, bourbon, and BBQ festival in Atlantic Station and living in the suburbs we decided to book a hotel to stay in that night. The Ellis staff greeted us with a million smiles and watched our luggage even though we couldn't check in until after the festival was over. Marta was so close that it was easy to get around Atlanta without having to drive and there are a million restaurants and things to do within walking distance. We stayed in a sectioned off area so each couple had their own room but then we could shut off those two rooms from the hallway. It was incredibly convenient and safe feeling. The room was spacious with very comfy beds. I would absolutely stay again because the service was amazing and the rooms are beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olya R, Front Office Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Samantha A,
I'm glad you had a great time at the BBQ festival and were able to get around town with ease. I agree-the Premium Double and the King room combo is a great option when traveling in groups. Thank you very much for the kind words about our staff-we will be glad to have you back soon!
Sincerely,
Olya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Wonderful experience at the Ellis. Room was comfortable, clean, and nicely decorated. A bit on the smaller size but you are staying in the city. The staff members were wonderful to interact with. We asked directions to the arena and the valet actually walked a block with us to be sure we were heading in the right direction. I hope the Ellis maintains the good rates. I will be able to talk my husband into coming back here if so. If not, he will want to stay at the CNN Center or the Omni.

Room Tip: I asked to stay on a high floor due to the construction. I still heard the noise even on the 16th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olya R, Front Office Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear jinpink ,
I was delighted to hear you and your husband had a great stay. We will be glad to have you back soon: our website always offers the best available rates, guaranteed room type, as well as additional amenities you can arrange for that I'm sure your husband will enjoy:)
Thank you for the kind words and for your recent stay with us.
Sincerely,
Olya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

we stayed here for a weekend while in town for a concert. i booked directly through the hotel and chose it because of it's downtown location and proximity to phillips arena. i just wish that when i booked it, they had advised me of the construction going on right outside the hotel on the street below. when we got there, one of the lanes in front of the hotel was closed for the road work going on. it made it confusing for us to figure out how to valet park. there is no front door "pull in" to park, check in and hand the car over to the valet nor did we see any signage. So, we parked in the garage ourselves and made the walk to the hotel. It would have been nice to have the hotel pay for the parking garage. The worst part is that we were woken up in the wee hours of the morning on a saturday to a jackhammer and all kinds of beeping sounds from equipment. then at 4 a.m. on Sunday morning, the cabbies wanted to get into a horn blowing, yelling argument because one of them was blocking the one lane that was open. on top of all of this, the AC/heating unit sounded like a freight train coming through every time it kicked on. this was a birthday weekend for my husband and he made the comment to me on the way home that this was one of his least favorite hotel experiences. we didn't sleep very much at all and ended our trip early to come on home because we were so tired. it made me feel awful for him.

another problem for us was that the walls were super thin. we heard the people in the adjacent room like they were standing in our bathroom.

on a positive note, the staff at this hotel was above and beyond and exuded southern hospitality. when we checked in, they wished my husband a happy birthday and one of the employees sang to him. they were all very helpful. when we called to ask if we could change rooms to the other side of the hotel, they were willing to accomodate, but the rooms on the other side were all king rooms and we needed a double room due to another guest being with us. i will also say that this hotel is very clean.

we realize that the road work and the noise outside is out of this hotel's control, but I do think they could have given us a heads up when booking so that we could have decided if we wanted to come back another time or offered to knock something off of the rate because of not informing us.

if you are going for a special occasion, i would definitely call and ask if the road work is done before you book.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olya R, Front Office Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear lindsay5402 ,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your husband's birthday and please accept my apologies that he did not enjoy his hotel experience. We are patiently awaiting for Atlanta street car project to be completed as well, and gladly this stage of construction work on Ellis street is complete. We would love to have you back so that you can experience the Ellis the way so many do-all about good sleep and rest. Please let us know when you're planning your next trip to Atlanta.
Sincerely,
Olya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Came for a quick anniversary getaway with the husband, no other downtown hotel has better price, this location alone is amazing, we were able to valet park and move around with out having to touch our car all weekend, Marta station is near by and is very easy to get a cab. Had a wonderful time here, and by the way, my DOG KATIE too, she had a very relaxing experience, with the money we save here we were able to do much more here in our time in ATL.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olya R, Front Office Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Indy1823, thank you for your recent stay, I'm so glad you enjoyed your experience and congratulations on your anniversary! It was great to hear you enjoyed the convenience of our location. We hope to see you and Katie back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Ellis Hotel it´s a place that joint price and service. The rooms are good and comfortable. The bar-restaurante is nice. The people tries to give you a nice service. The Marta is at 10 meters from the front door and you can go where you want with it, airport included. Nickole at the front desk is very helpfull. If i have the ocation,I´ll return. Julio Ponieman

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olya R, Front Office Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Julioponi,
Thank you so much for the kind words about Nickole-she was delighted to hear your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the nearest future.
Sincerely,
Olya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel was very nice. Room was great and roomy. I had read online about rooms being small but our room was a double room with a small desk and a sleeper sofa. Very comfortable for my family of 4. Loved the windows could watch traffic. Downside of all the windows is lots of street noise. We were on 3rd floor so quite noisy but did not wake up my kids at all. Hotel was very clean and beds were very comfy. Since this is an older building it is small. The lobby is small and the hallways are also. We did not valet and parked in parking deck behind hotel. 12 bucks for 2 days is cheaper than 25 for valet. Walked to Georgia Dome and was not bad at all maybe 15 min walk. Thanks for the nice stay.

Room Tip: higher floor would be quieter. did see a king room on 12th floor and it was quite smaller than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olya R, Front Office Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear ja r,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Atlanta-I must agree Premiun Double rooms are my favorite as well:) We will be glad to put you on a higher floor next time you're in Atlanta. We hope to see you back soon.
Sincerely,
Olya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ellis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellis Hotel

Address: 176 Peachtree Street NE, Atlanta, GA
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 188 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ellis Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, boutique, hip downtown Atlanta hotel with 4 star service at affordable prices. Everything from our contemporary decor to our quietly attentive staff has been thoughtfully designed for the definitive indulgent experience. Following an impressive $28 million restoration, our hotel rooms blend sleek design and down home southern comforts with unmatched access to the heart of downtown … within walking distance of restaurants, corporations, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ellis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ellis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.