We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but needs wi-fi in every room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ellis Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ellis Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ellis Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   176 Peachtree Street NE, Atlanta, GA   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #36 of 189 hotels in Atlanta
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Fulton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but needs wi-fi in every room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We recently spent two nights at the Ellis Hotel in Atlanta. The hotel is located on Peachtree St. right near the Peachtree Center mall and directly opposite the Ritz-Carlton and the Peachtree Center MARTA station.

We found the hotel staff very friendly and accommodating. The hotel rooms are a bit on the small side, but very comfortable with a really nice bathroom (which included a great glass-door shower). The king-size bed was very comfortable. The flat screen TV had lots of channel choices, many of which were in HD. The hotel is an easy 10-minute walk to the Georgia World Convention Center and the CNN Center. It's a few minutes walk farther to the Georgia Aquarium and the new World of Coca-Cola. We parked our car with the valet, and did not need it for the two days we spent in Atlanta (though we did have to pay $25 per night for the valet parking). There is no self-parking option.

Our only complaint was that the hotel did not have wi-fi access in all the rooms. Only a few "deluxe" king-size rooms had wi-fi. The other rooms (including ours) had only wired internet access. Unfortunately, we had only iPads and a MacBook Air, neither of which have an ethernet port. So our only option was to head downstairs to the lounge or lobby. We occasionally were able to pick up the wireless signal from a nearby deluxe room, but it was spotty and unreliable. We were not aware of this until we arrived.

We liked the hotel very much, and it was a much less expensive and nicer option than the Westin (just up the street). I would have given it five stars, but the internet problems cost it that last star.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor to avoid the nighttime noise from traffic on Peachtree St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your valuable comment regarding Wi-Fi connections. The hotel has a wired internet connection in each guest room but we also feel that our guests need a wireless conection; therefore we will be making every room wireless sometime within the first quarter of the 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    500
    211
    85
    28
    19
See reviews for
79
290
95
328
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Checking into this hotel was fairly quick and Neckole was very helpful with questions my husband and I had. Valet was 25 dollars, but that was to be expected. I read the reviews on this hotel before hand so I knew to expect a small room. The room (King room) was very nice with a view of Peachtree Street. The bathroom was nice with all Kohler products; i loved the shower. However, the curtains were filled with lots of stains. There were pink and red stains; maybe lipstick I would guess. The bed was very disappointing. My husband and I always look forward to sleeping in a nice king sized bed. But this bed didnt sleep well at all. The sheets weren't soft and the bed was HARD. We ordered room service for breakast which was 41 dollars. Was it worth 41 dollars....absolutely not. And we did not order a large breakfast. The hotel was not terrible but it would not be my top ten pick hotels in Atlanta

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your valuable feed back. I was truly sorry to hear that you had an issue with noise during your stay with us. I would like to show you that this not a common occurrence at the Ellis and would welcome you back for a future stay at our cost. I may be reached directly at 678-651-2760 to arrange for you future quite stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed in a small, but beautiful room on the 14th floor and tried my hardest to interact with the ghosts! No such luck. BUT! The warm, friendly, helpful staff made up for this. From check-in to check-out, everyone I encountered on staff was professional and efficient. My room was well appointed, clean, and comfortable. Having the MARTA station right around the corner was perfect

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and great review of our hotel. Glad to hear that our warm & friendly staff made up for the no ghost sightings! I look forward to welcoming you back to the Ellis again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I was disappointed by this hotel. They're in the process of doing major renovations so half of it is closed off and there were a bunch of other technical problems which I was told would be addressed by the renovations. My key card became deactivated several times a day it so I had to go back down to the front desk to get a new key card every single time I wanted to enter my room. They don't have wi-fi available in the rooms nor are there in-room safes. The wait for the elevator was very long and we usually had to share it with several staff or maintenance people. On the bright side, the staff was very nice and apologetic about the problems I encountered and seemed to feel they'll be resolved when the renovations are completed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olya R, Front Office Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Misris, thank you for your recent stay with us and for your valuable feedback.
We recently completed the remodeling of our extended lobby area into Terrace Bistro. It is now open for business and many of our guests are enjoying the new space. Thank you for your patience and cooperation during your stay.
I am also pleased to inform you that we are starting the process of converting all of our rooms to wireless. We're hopeful it will be completed by the end of the 1st quarter. We are very excited about it and hope that you will be back to have a completely different experience.
Thank you for the kind words about our staff!
Sincerely,
Olya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

The Ellis is not a huge hotel, and neither are the rooms. But it is beautifully remodeled and very cozy. They manage to fit everything you need into the room. As nice as the rooms are, the service was just as good. We had a small business meeting at the Ellis and were treated very well. Highly recommended if you need to stay downtown.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for the great recommendation and very glad to hear your stay and business meeting was a sucessful one. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Ellis again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I have to say I was disappointed with this hotel, since I chose it based on Tripadvisor rating. The rooms are very nice, and very clean. However, the street noise was annoying, and the air conditioning unit sounded like a vacuum cleaner, even when it was on the "low" setting! Good location though, and cheaper than other hotels nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
I was glad to hear your thought your room was very nice and clean and that you felt we were a value compared to the surrounding hotel. I was extremely disappointed that you had issues with street noise and your air conditioner during your stay. I am currently looking into the fan noise issue and I am hopeful to come up with a corrective solution. Regarding the street noise issue, being located Downtown on Peachtree Street is a little more structural in nature; we do have rooms in other locations of our building that do not over look Peachtree Street and are less prone to street noise. Should you find your way to stay with us again you can simply contact me at 678-651-2760 and I will personally pick the room and discount your future stay. We truly want all of our guests to be repeat guests and the way to do this is to care and correct issues that may arise. I truly apologize that we did not do this during your first stay with us, and hopefully I can prove this and make it up to you in the future. Thank you for your important feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Ellis hotel was beautiful. I stayed here to celbrate my fiance' birthday and the attention to detailfrom the staff was amazing. They were very pleasant, professional, and welcoming. He had a great time and we will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer great views of the Atlanta sky line
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Glad to hear that your stay to celebrate your Fiancé birthday was a great one! Our Staff does pride themselves on trying to make each guests stay exceptional. I am happy to hear they succeeded for you. Thank you for being a loyal guest & friend of the Ellis Hotel. I will look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ellis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellis Hotel

Address: 176 Peachtree Street NE, Atlanta, GA
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 189 hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ellis Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, boutique, hip downtown Atlanta hotel with 4 star service at affordable prices. Everything from our contemporary decor to our quietly attentive staff has been thoughtfully designed for the definitive indulgent experience. Following an impressive $28 million restoration, our hotel rooms blend sleek design and down home southern comforts with unmatched access to the heart of downtown … within walking distance of restaurants, corporations, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ellis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ellis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.