We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   275 Baker Street, NW, Atlanta, GA 30313   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Awesome Aquarium Packages
Ranked #33 of 189 hotels in Atlanta
Chicagoland, IL
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I recently stayed here for an event that was taking place at the GWCC. While not as convenient as the Omni that is practically attached to the GWCC, the HGI is a great alternative (and a HHonors property). The Embassy Suites is a couple blocks closer, but I see no reason to pay the extra to stay there when the HGI provides great accommodations, a wonderful cooked-to-order breakfast, and (from part of the hotel) great views of the city.

Easy couple blocks from Centennial Olympic Park, Aquarium, World of Coke, CNN, and plenty to do within walking distance.

If I had a complaint, it would be with the lack of decent airport transportation. The only three options are MARTA (cheap and easy, but quite a walk to the nearest MARTA stop if you've got luggage and/or are traveling super late night or early morning); Shuttle service (Which costs money, but stops running at 9:30pm); or Cab (which is way overpriced, but our only option given late arrival time from ATL).

Also take note that if walking to the GWCC, it can seem a little uncomfortable late at night. Marietta St isn't the warmest of environments. I expect this to improve a fair amount when the College Football Hall of Fame construction is complete.

If back at the GWCC again, I'd most likely stay here if I can get a more affordable transportation option squared away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Luckie St. You'll see the backside of the Aquarium (not too impressiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harman H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of our hotel. Your thoughts are airport transportation were well presented and will be helpful to other travellers. Should your travels bring you back to Atlanta, and you anticipate arriving late, please feel free to call us at the hotel and we'll be happy to search out the most efficient and cost effective mode of transporation from the airport for you. Thank you again for staying with us.

Safe Travels,

Harman Hall, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    323
    249
    67
    39
    20
See reviews for
241
139
33
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

POSITIVES:
Great location; decent size room; hotel was very clean; and there was a lovely, big, outdoor pool.

Staff were very friendly and professional.

NEGATIVES:
Couple of issues with the wi-fi cutting out. But at least it was free.

Mattress sagged quite a bit, but wasn't uncomfortable.

Shame that the bathroom only had a shower - not a dual shower/bath. Not the end of the world, but it's nice to have the choice.

Sound proofing wasn't great. Could hear a baby crying upstairs and people in the hallway and the rooms next door. Not objecting in any way to the baby crying - it's what they do, and as parents, we've all been there. Just surprising that some hotels still skimp so much on sound proofing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harman H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts about our property. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

In Service,

Harman Hall, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for our conference 2 weeks ago. Upon our arrival we were met by the front desk mgr Mike that was a little less than pleasant and is lacking in respect and communication skills. We were charged $50 per night per person for incidentals. Yes $1000 for the 4 of us to stay in the room. We did not plan to watch movies or call room service at anytime. It took him at least a half hour to explain a credit card would hold this fee for us where as a debit card which we all had would freeze the money until 72 hours after checkout. We could not afford to have $250 a piece to be frozen while we were in Atlanta. We finally had to call to get pre approval for one of the girls to use their company credit card. We were lied to and told that it was all of the Hiltons which I called downtown and they verified it was $50 a night per room not per person. Also said he was only stating what was contracted by our company. Again a lie because our company only booked w them not set any incidentals. The other front desk folks and security were precious but thanks to Mikes rudeness and the threat to cancel our reservation and call our company on us 4 women..... Never again will we stay there

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harman H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We're disappointed that your interaction with one of our team members wasn't on par with your expectations. I completely understand how frustrating unanticipated financial challenges can be when travelling. I can assure you that guest satisfaction is very important to us; as such, we take all feedback constructively. Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. Given the opportunity to serve you again, we will work to make your experience flawless.

Regards,

Harman Hall, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn on Baxter in Atlanta provides a level of service that is far above normal. The attentiveness, condition of facilities, and quality of food and beverages was superior. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harman H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are humbled by the wonderful review you've given us. Thank you for taking time to share your enthusiasm about your experience at our home away from home. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Harman Hall, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The staff was unbelievable. They greeted me by my first name... let me check in a few hours early. Extremely classy and professional. Location was perfect for all of my meetings (CNN Center, Omni, etc) and the room was very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harman H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about our team. They take great pride in providing a welcoming environment for our guests. We hope to have an opportunity to see you again in the future.

In Service,

Harman Hall, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I spent 4 nights at this hotel in Feb. 2013. The location is very good, front desk works fine, small business center but efficient. Rooms are pleasant, have a great view over town, are spacious, good support for work, and are clean. Wired internet in room works fine. Breakfast is good, health center is fine and effective in equipment. Small indoor pool is nice and, in the summer, the outdoor pools and jacuzzi seem to work very well. Good restaurants near by. The hotel is beside the Georgia Aquarium, which can work both ways. The downside of that for me, was that the hotel (and, in particular, my floor) was full of teenagers on group visit to the aquarium and the noise was awful: this was a working trip for me and I was fighting with jet lag, thus kids screaming in the hallway and in beside rooms was a nightmare. I had to call front desk and knock at a few doors, but usually couldn't sleep until 1am (having to wake up at 6 for work). For me, this weighted a lot unfortunately. But as I noted, else, the hotel is very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harman H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We appreciate you posting such a thorough account of your experience! The details provided will be helpful to future guests of the hotel.

I'm sorry to hear that your rest was disturbed by noisy neighbors. Our security and front desk teams try to minimize noise from guests after hours; we know that while some guests are here for play, others are here for work and need a restful environment to charge up for their day. Given another opportunity to serve you, we'll be happy to try to assign you a guest room in a quiet corner of the property.

Safe Travels,

Harman, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I attended a conference in Atlanta, and was delighted to stay here at the Garden Inn. The bed was so comfortable, and I slept like a baby. Had a great view over the city, and the whole hotel was very neat and clean, as well as nicely decorated. The outdoor pool on the seventh floor was a pleasant surprise! I would absolutely stay here again on future trips.

Room Tip: I stayed in the pent house (13 th floor) From what I could tell, the rooms were the same 1-13. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harman H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for allowing us to serve you during your visit. We're pleased to know that you enjoyed our pool and other facilities, as we put a lot of effort into keeping everything clean and well-maintained. Should your travels, bring you back to our area, we'd love to host you again.

In Service,

Harman, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown

Address: 275 Baker Street, NW, Atlanta, GA 30313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#29 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#43 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary interior design with stunning aquatic murals in the hotel's guest room corridors. Enjoy our many services and features such as complimentary weekday USA Today, complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, Pavilion Pantry sundry and convenience mart, complimentary business center, in-room dining, valet service, ADA accommodations, safety deposit boxes, in-room safes, self and valet parking.Heated indoor and outdoor pool, game room, laundry room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
Hilton Atlanta
Atlanta Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;