We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bummer...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Atlanta Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Atlanta Downtown to your Saves list
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Spring Street NW, Atlanta, GA 30308   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #125 of 188 Hotels in Atlanta
toledo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bummer...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The employees are really nice, however they are working with what little ownership supplies. The best part about this place is the greeting at the front desk.

Two nights in a row (so far) the accommodations have unfortunately been below par. This is a great place to stay if you're not planning on drinking or eating. If you are beer connoisseur, run! Even as little as delicious Bud Light can be expected to be out of stock for multiple days in a row.

Hopefully things will turn around. We are here for 3 more days.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    29
    24
    10
    8
See reviews for
21
14
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at Aloft Atlanta downtown on Christmas eve, as there wasn't enough room at a nearby relative's house to stay for the holiday. I chose Aloft because they are a pet-friendly hotel (they have a floor of the hotel where pets can stay so others aren't inconvenienced) and small dogs can stay for free.

The staff was extremely warm and accommodating. They were ready for pets and provided a doggie bed and bowls. I did have to sign a waiver stating that I would be responsible for any damage or injuries caused, which is fair and normal. I crated my dog in the room during the time I was asleep so he wasn't roaming and he was quiet and there were absolutely no issues or problems.

Although I chose Aloft for the pet policy, I was extremely impressed by the quality of the hotel and the location. Christmas morning we walked to Centennial park, which is near the Georgia Aquarium and the World of Coke. I had no idea it was so close and walkable to those areas.

I stayed at this location years ago when it was a run-down Days Inn, and I'm happy to see that the lot was redeveloped for a better quality hotel. I was happy with my stay and if I ever have to stay in downtown Atlanta again I would consider it, especially since it is very reasonably priced. If you don't need the full-service experience of the W and you are a Starwood fan, I would definitely recommend Aloft Atlanta downtown.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel itself wasn't terrible and the location was great! I don't plan to stay again, as there were multiple issues.

The room was not cleaned well. My reservation was prepaid, yet there were 6 (yes, 6) seperate authorizations from $25 - $270 made on my card. Luckily, I wasn't planning to use that card during my visit. I was charged for two nights of parking, although I only parked one night. I confirmed the one night of parking with the person who checked me out and he said not to worry he would make sure I was billed correctly (as the parking gate was not working so they were charging guests based on the length of stay). He also said he would email my receipt...he didn't do either!

If you're looking for a great location (as we were) and you can get this hotel for a great deal, then go for it. Just be prepared for shenanigans!

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear TopTierTiff,
We are very sorry to hear you were dissatisfied with your recent stay at our hotel. We understand your frustration and apologize for the inconveniences you encountered with billing in addition to the cleanliness of your room. It’s our team’s goal to provide an outstanding experience to our guests, and although we are happy you loved our location, we are sorry we failed to deliver the great experience so many of our guests love. Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us, and we hope we will have the opportunity to better impress you in the future. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

We were there for the SEC game.. And this place was not worth the services we received. The taxes were 16%. NO free parking n NO free breakfast.. Also the refrigerator was in the bathroom. . NO microwave, had to go to lobby.. Entirely to much money and not worth the stay.. Thank GOD for Louisiana....

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, December 9, 2014
Dear Miccaramel,
We regret to hear you were not pleased with our offered amenities and services. While we understand our hotel may not be for everyone, we do expect to deliver exceptional service and a memorable guest experience. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay, and we hope the rest of your trip to Atlanta for the game was a good one. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Valley, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

I had a two night stay just before Thanksgiving. This is a very typical Aloft Hotel, and that familiarity is a good thing.

Here is what I liked:

1) Quiet, clean room.
2) Good Price
3) Low Cost Parking ($20/night BUT the other hotels are close to $30)
4) Very Friendly Staff
5) Close to Phillips Arena, World of Coke, etc.
6) Parking Lot / Dog Walking area is fenced in.

I did not bring a dog but they do take dogs. They same some softscape areas for the dogs and they do have doggie cleanup bag dispensers. They also had bowls with water waiting for the dogs when they come back in.

What could be better:

1) The rooms at night could use more light
2) Beds are a bit stiff
3) A another set of towels (only 2 sets) would be nice.

Still, price, value, location, and quality of stay make this a nice choice.

Room Tip: High Floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

For the location (few min walk from park/MARTA stations), you cannot beat the price. The room is pretty clean and the hotel offered a comfortabl stay. However, I guess this is part of the desging scheme but there were no drawers in my room (there are number of shelves you can put your stuff on) and the lighting in the room was pretty sparce. So if you do not mind sprwling your stuff in the rom without storing them away in drawers, you would love this place!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, December 4, 2014
Dear yk303705,
We are pleased to hear you find our hotel to be a great value and enjoy your experience while staying with us. We appreciate you sharing your review with us, and hope to see you again soon. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

This hotel is hip and cool with city vibe sophistication in the heart of Downtown Atlanta. It is nestled a block from famous Peachtree St. in close proximity to Olympic Park, CNN studios and many more attractions. The swanky XYZ lounge is housed in it’s lobby.

As you drive up to the lobby, you can park under the porte-cochere for quick check in or park in one of the many reserved spots in front of the hotel, or back parking lot. I’m sure the hotel will fix your parking ticket. After check in you are directed to the back parking lot accessible with your room key. Just waving the room key in front of the sensor will not get you in. I seen many cars do this. So did I, on the first try. Put the key close to the sensor almost touching it, then it will work. Be careful pulling up the machine, it is a close fit. Once in, there is ample parking. A back entrance gives direct access to the elevator or a single flight of stairs put you in the lobby.

The elevator’s floor is funky. I can imagine how this would look after a few adult beverages. Might be some head spinning. The dimly lit hall ways with dramatic long wand like light fixtures guide you to the rooms. The bed was soft and comfortable. Pillows were a little too soft for my likeness. A single thick blanket was sandwiched between flat sheets with a fitted sheet on the bottom. Air conditioning vent is pointed upwards in front of one window, which takes away from sitting by the window. A desk/workstation anchored one window. These long windows allow light and gave spectacular views of Atlanta Skyline. Bedside lights are very powerful. Laying directly under the fixture tends to get hot really fast.

The bath room is wrapped in black modern rectangular tile with black grout. It appears as one huge slab of stone. Linear shower drain offset to the corner allows for bathers to stand on slightly pitched tile for a comfortable shower experience. Glass enclosure prevents water from splashing onto the toilet. The toilet is a suction type that guarantees everything goes down. The above-counter round porcelain sink makes for mess free usage. Ceiling to counter height mirror creates a sense of infinity. Although, the hair dryer occupied a single hook; no other place to hang face towels. A ceiling to floor mirror hang off a barn style sliding door that closes off the bathroom and toilet from the vanity area for privacy. Very thoughtful and modern construction.

I did not visit the XYZ lounge, but this place rocks. The music can be heard throughout the hotel. I’m sure there are quiet times or as they say, when in Rome or Atlanta, join in. Very hip, cool, modern hotel with friendly and accommodating staff.

Room Tip: Be as far as possible from XYZ lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Atlanta Downtown

Address: 300 Spring Street NW, Atlanta, GA 30308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 188 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Atlanta Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city, Aloft Atlanta Downtown is directly across the street from AmericasMart. Youll be steps away from the World of Coca-Cola Museum, Georgia Aquarium, Georgia Dome, Centennial Olympic Park, and Georgia World Congress Center. Rise and shine in our bright and modern Aloft rooms, featuring plush platform beds, walk-in showers, custom amenities by Bliss® Spa and more. Recharge all your gadgets with the plug & play docking station, which also links your laptop or tunes to the 42 LCD TV. Meet and mingle at our w xyz(SM) bar, grab a snack at the 24/7 re:fuel by Aloft(SM) gourmet pantry, or work and play at our re:mix(SM) lounge. Plenty of perks include fast + free hotel-wide Wi-Fi, our always-open re:charge(SM) gym, reviving splash pool, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aloft Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Atlanta Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.