We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something Rather Special!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ponce de Leon Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Atlanta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ponce de Leon Place
Save
You added Ponce de Leon Place to your Saves list
929 Ponce de Leon Place, Atlanta, GA 30306 (Virginia Highland)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 21 Atlanta B&B and Inns
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Something Rather Special!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

We were in Atlanta on our honeymoon for two nights and booked in at Ponce De Leon on the back of reading the reviews on Tripadvisor.

From the very first moment in the B&B, where we were given some wine, to the very last goodbye the service and the overall experience at Ponce De Leon was just amazing.

We stayed in the "The City Suite" which was not only clean and beautiful but spacious and self contained (bathroom and kitchen inc fridge / oven / hob).

Wi-Fi is in the rooms and we found the connection to be fast and reliable.

The B&B is located in the beautiful Virginia Highlands neighborhood which is packed with stunning homes and tree lined streets. Around 15 mins walk from the B&B you can find restaurants and bars and shops.

It's worth noting that this B&B isn't downtown and a taxi is needed to get from the Greyhound Station to the B&B. We didn't try to get into the downtown area - We hung out in the local neighborhood for our 3 days and loved every minute.

One last comment - The breakfast is served in your room and is lovely!

A truly special find!

  • Liked — The service and the beautiful room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
23
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2008

A really comfortable room, very homey...loved the wine that was waiting in the fridge and the soft music playing when I entered the room. The neighborhood is great too...a wonderful way to make Atlanta feel less frenetic! I will stay here every time I come for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2008

I stayed there this past summer. (Better late than never!)

Ponce de Leon B&B is a very nice and comfortable inn and Lana is an excellent host. I made my reservations for three nights at the last minute and she advised me that she could accomodate me if I didn't mind switching rooms after the first night. Not a problem at all. (she even moved my luggage for me!)

Breakfast was delicious and the overall feel of the place was like visiting a friend. The City Suite and the Cottage Suite are both roomy and spotlessly clean. They each have a private bath, great linens, and all the privacy you could ask for.

If you are visiting Atlanta and want to stay in the very cool Virginia Highlands neighborhood, this is the one.

  • Liked — Comfort, location, host
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2007

I've traveled to Atlanta on business every month for the last 9 years. I discovered Ponce de Leon Place about 4 years ago and have stayed there every month since. It is my home away from home, and I would rather be there than the Ritz. All the suites are beautiful, comfy, and clean, there's free parking, breakfasts are delicious, and Lana, the innkeeper, includes many nice little touches to make your stay comfortable and relaxed. I wouldn't go anywhere else!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2007

We stayed with Lana in the City Suite last October. It is indeed a nice alternative to a hotel. The room is small but efficient with all the comforts of home. There is even a kitchenette which was handy since we had an infant with us and needed a place to keep food, warm dishes up, etc. The location is also very convienient to all that Atlanta has to offer. We had a wonderful time. Lana has a lovely home.

  • Liked — Convienient location, facilities included a kitchenette, kid friendly (one infant)
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2007

We recently had a quick last minute overnight visit to Atlanta, and found this lovely B&B via a pet-friendly website. We had to leave early on Sunday, and Lana was nice enough to prepare a continental breakfast and stocked the fridge with yogurt and OJ the night before. It was convenient to Peidmont Park where we spend a part of the day with our Italian Greyhound. (there is a restuarant at the SE corner that is very good and lets you eat outside with your dog) The room was very comfortable - next time we'll stay longer and participate with the full breakfast which smelled wonderful as we hit the road. It really worked out perfectily for us.

  • Liked — cONVENIENCE, REASONABLE PRICING, QUIET NEIGHBORHOOD
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2006

In a need for a homey place to stay with a great location and personal service? Look no further than Ponce De Leon Place Bed and Breakfast Atlanta, GA.

This Bed and Breakfast is conveniently located in Downtown Atlanta near all the major attractions (i.e. Piedmont Park, Virgina Highlands shopping District, Georgia Aquarium, Olympic Centennial Park, The CNN Center, The High Museum, etc.).

The Inn features four rooms, individually decorated for a different experience. Visit Lana's website to view each room. Our room, the City Suite, had all the touches of home. Lana, the innkeeper, seems to have thought of everything in hosting our visit to the Atlanta area. Our room...cozy and clean. And breakfast...every detail was thought of. Needless to say we enjoyed the bed and breakfast and our time in Atlanta. Would visit again and recommend her establishment to anyone visiting the Atlanta area.

Only recommendation for Inn: Add or keep board/table games on hand for guest to past the time as an alternative to what is currently offered.

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location
  • Disliked — Add or keep board/table games on hand as an alternative to past the time.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ponce de Leon Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponce de Leon Place

Address: 929 Ponce de Leon Place, Atlanta, GA 30306
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Virginia Highland
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Atlanta
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Ponce De Leon Place Hotel Atlanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponce de Leon Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.