We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lakewood Concert” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aaron's Amphitheatre at Lakewood

Aaron's Amphitheatre at Lakewood
2002 Lakewood Way, Atlanta, GA 30315 (Formerly Coca-Cola Lakewood Amphitheatre)
404 249 6400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 327 things to do in Atlanta
Attraction details
Valdosta, Georgia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lakewood Concert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Lakewood Amphitheater is a great place for a concert! There are no 'bad' seats. I think the $9 and $14 for a beer or frozen drink, is a little steep, but they are rather large drinks. There are plenty of restrooms and very little waiting even when crowded. We were there to see The Band Perry and Rascal Flatts and the place was rocking! The concert was not sold out and the staff allowed you to move forward into the empty seats...providing you didn't have a 'lawn' ticket. The only negative, and it's been this way for years, is when you leave the venue, you are directed AWAY from 1-75! You had better make sure you know your way around this area of Atlanta!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    35
    16
    13
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Anderson,SC
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Intimate venue but so hot!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I attended the Pitbull concert here. I love the venue itself. They had plenty of vendors for drinks ( even frozen margaritas). Beer was 9.00 and frozen drinks 14.00. This sounds expensive but they were huge. It was like getting 2 drinks for that price. They had plenty of bathrooms, never had to wait.
The arena seats 19,000 people. We sat near the front of the covered part of the arena. Thank goodness because a huge down pour happened and many people on the grassy hill got soaked. ( Evening thunderstorms are common in the ATL area in the summer). However, being inside the covered area made it so hot. They had fans mounted above but the fans are so high they provide very little relief. They need to mount fans lower that ventilate the area side to side, not just above. We were literally sticking to our seats with sweat before the show ever started. In spite of that, I still recommend purchasing tickets for the covered part of the arena. Make sure you purchase tickets for the areas directly squared in front of the stage though. This place is set up on angle and if you pick seats either left or right of center stage- you will be seeing equipment not the artist/show.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“AmericanaramA festival at Lakewood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a nice, typical amphitheatre. Arrived about two hours before showtime to see Bob Weir, My Morning Jacket, Wilco, Bob Dylan's AmericanaramA tour. Lots of tailgating in the parking lot. Not a lot of people lined up at the gates. Policies about entries and different types of tickets/entry were not posted. At first we got conflicting instructions from several members of the staff, but they sorted it out in plenty of time, and bag check and ticketless entry were flawless. Nice to find that the pit area is covered, very nice if you are there in the summer for an early show. There was not a big rush to the rail at this show. Security was very strict about enforcing the no smoking policy, and the no photos policy that was specific to this tour, and that was appreciated. There was one skirmish during the show which security could have been quicker to handle, but at the time they were helping attend to a patron who needed medical attention.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a fun time on a sunday night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I was leery of going to a sunday night concert outdoors and had tickets in the far left area of section 103. I still had a good view of the performer and a better view of the big screen as long as people were seated. My biggest complaint is that I sure could have used one of those overhead fans nearer to my section.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signal Mountain, TN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Too hard to get too but always a great concert”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This place is in a bad location. It is hard to get to. There is a line that goes on forever to get in. No idea why they make people stand in a long line and shuttle them like cattle through a few turnstiles. Beer/alcohol is so overpriced. I will go to Nashville for shows from now on.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aaron's Amphitheatre at Lakewood also viewed

 

Been to Aaron's Amphitheatre at Lakewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aaron's Amphitheatre at Lakewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.