We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it from crab night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Highlander

The Highlander
931 Monroe Dr NE, Ste C101, Atlanta, GA 30308-1778 (Midtown)
404-872-0060
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #603 of 3,465 Restaurants in Atlanta
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Midtown
Huntersville, United States
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Worth it from crab night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Tuesday night is all you can eat snow-crab night which I like to find in every city I visit for the week. The great thing about here is that they start it at lunch and go until they run out. They use a spice with the leg, I believe it is cumin, and they honestly were the best snow crab legs I have eaten and the service was great. So why 3 stars? Horribly dirty and a little gross inside, bathrooms are nasty.....BUT, this is more of a bar with an indie scene then a fine restaurant. Definitely not my style, but I will go back just for the crab legs, but would never go within 100 feet of the place otherwise.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    17
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING PASTA WRAPPED MOZZARELLA STICKS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

the food was amazing!!! Went there because it was on the Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives show.. Definitely worth it. And decently priced menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good, but expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I dined at The Highlander over Memorial Day weekend. We wanted to try it because it was on Diners, Drive-ins and Dives the TV show. It is a 21 and up only bar that features a full menu, no children allowed. We are not big drinkers so we only had lunch. The mozzarella and pesto panini was a adequate and served with fries. The fries were better than the sandwich. The Nashville Chicken was the special and was spicy with good flavor. Maybe my expectations were too high, but The Highlander just missed the mark.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A drunken night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Me and a friend ended up in Atlanta on a hot Sunday afternoon with very few places open we found out way into an Irish bar. After about ten minutes my friend and I were told we didn't really belong there (in a friendly way) and sent us here. We loved it much friendlier

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Still a bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

The food was really good (seafood Mac and cheese), but it is definitely a bar. Lunch may have a different atmosphere, though. The food was worth it, though!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Highlander also viewed

 

Been to The Highlander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Highlander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.