We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT THIS Wingate by Wyndham's. We've experienced better!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Atlanta Galleria Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham Atlanta Galleria Center to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Atlanta Galleria Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2762 Cobb Parkway SE, Atlanta, GA 30339 (Cumberland)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #82 of 190 Hotels in Atlanta
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“NOT THIS Wingate by Wyndham's. We've experienced better!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We are in this hotel as I write this review.

1. One door key was not programmed properly. When we got back to the room after a business meeting, we had to knock for my son to let us in.

2. While leaving for dinner, we stopped by the front desk to have the key issue corrected. There were men outside the front entrance with guns. They were dressed in dirty jeans, blue t-shirts, and baseball caps, so I asked the front desk clerk if they were police officers. She said, "usually when someone has a gun, they are police officers." She appeared to have a problem with me noticing men with guns outside the entrance of the hotel. Because my family had just walked out the front entrance, I let her know that all people with guns are not police officers. I wanted to know if my family or I were in danger and I had every right to know.

3. When we came back from dinner, smokers were gathered outside the front entrance. It was like walking through a haze of fog in London.

4. As we walked towards the elevator, several people were standing and blocking the entrance of the elevator hall (this is not usually the case in an upper scale Wyndham’s location).

5. We were in an executive suite. Well—the suite has one television. When my son was ready for bed, he pulled out the sleeper sofa, and there was no cover on it. There are no extra bed covers in the closet. I called the front desk, and was told that we would need to come down to the front desk to get the sheets and cover for the sleeper sofa. My son came back and said they did not have any more pillows.

If you like the experiences I've outlined above, then this is the place for you. We've had better experiences with Wyndham's.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    220
    102
    44
    32
See reviews for
208
93
37
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hattiesburg, MS
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Be careful when entering the hotel from the street. The hotel sits at a busy intersection. I was not impressed by the service or the quality at this property. I would say within the next two years, if the hotel does not step up their game Wyndham will pull their banner from this property.
1. Bed mattress is too soft
2. Carpet was dirty and old in room and hallway
3. Furniture in room was dusty
4. Maid service did not empty garbage cans every day.
5. Maid service did not leave face towels, called front desk and they did not deliver any. The only explanation given by the maid in the hallway was "we don't have any". She had no desire to make it better.
6. I was there on business, on Friday afternoon a group checked in for a family reunion. The noise from the family was so loud it was unbearable. Got no sleep for two nights. Front desk did not seem to care.
7. The hotel states that they have a satisfaction guarantee, but I really did not get the feeling that it was a policy like "Hampton - you are not satisfied with the service, then you don't pay. "
8. The TV was nice
I expressed my concerns upon departure, the front desk clerk just looked at me and said nothing.

Room Tip: I understand the suites may be nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

I'm writing this while I'm still at the hotel I'm so upset. The room left us 2 towels so I have to watch how many times I have to take a shower with 2 people in the room. I sent my daughter downstairs to ask for more towels and he said that he didn't have any. I called downstairs it's 10pm at night and he tells me that they have no more towels, I said get one out of an empty room he said we're booked there are no empty rooms, I said you're by giving me 2 towels for a 2 person room is telling me I can only take a shower once per person. So now that I've taken a shower tonight, my daughter has taken a towel tonight we'll have to wait to take a shower until you service my room when every you feel like tomorrow AFTER I CHECK OUT?

The walls are thin you can hear all the noise in the hall way plus when people slammed doors at 5am in the morning. You would think with a name like Wyndham they would have sound proof rooms. The breakfast is better at most gas stations I've ever hit on my travel.

BS I travel all over the country annually for business. I've already gone through and changed any future hotel reservation I have that says Wyndham. I expected more but got WAY WAY less, never again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

This place is not being maintained and is poorly-run. Plenty of mildew in the shower, light bulbs burned out in the room. The thermostat is falling off the wall and its connection to the heating- cooling unit across the room is intermittent, so you have to jiggle it just right to make it work at all. The breakfast is paltry with tasteless eggs. Yogurt was available just two days our of our four-day stay.
There are several other better hotels in the neighborhood at comparable prices.
The wi-fi is so sluggish it is nearly unusable.
Skip this one.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruita, Colorado
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

I had reserved a 2-room suite over the phone because I was traveling with extended family. When we got to the suite it turned into a shocker - the 2nd bedroom was a dark, windowless room with a sofa in it instead of a bed. When I went down to the front desk and said I must have been given the wrong room, I was told all their 2-room suites were like that. I wasn't about to sleep on a sofa bed so I asked for a regular room and when I went into that room the beds were sagging and looked worn out so didn't even bring suitcases into it and asked for a refund. Since I never book any other way than through the hotel itself (no 3rd party where there's no chance for a refund) I did get the refund. We went across the street a little way to a Hampton Inn that was slightly more expensive but tons cleaner and the beds so very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

Request non smoking and the hallway smelt like smoke which made us sick. Staff not friendly or helpful. TV had terrible reception - could get about 3 channels. Breakfast was good. Great location for Six Flags, World of Coke and downtown. Smoking was allowed outside the front door so had to walk through it everytime entered hotel. Room was clean.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 1 week of business meetings at a nearby company.
I do not normally create a review about the hotels I stay in, but this hotel with its great staff is definitely worth a review.

The one thing I like best about this hotel are the people at the reception desk. They always greet you with a smile and they even greet you by your name. And they make sure that you get to your location safely and picked up by a taxi, if the shuttle is unavailable.
They have a complimentary shuttle which can take you within 3 miles of the hotel, which makes it very convenient especially if you are not familiar with the area. The shuttle drivers are very courteous and very informative about the surrounding area.
The room I was occupying was big enough to accommodate 4 people. There is a safe, coffeemaker, microwave and small refrigerator in the room. However, my one complaint was that the room was not being vacuumed daily and the floor was a bit dirty.
There is a complimentary breakfast at this hotel that has a limited but just right selection. they have waffles (make your own), eggs, sausage or bacon, bread, yogurt, pastries, fruits and coffee/juice.
The wireless internet was just ok, there is also a cable connection, which is a bit faster than the wifi.
I also tried the fitness center, pool and whirlpool. The whirlpool/pool is indoor and heated, which feels great after a days work.
I would definitely stay at this hotel on my next visit to Atlanta.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Atlanta Galleria Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Atlanta Galleria Center

Address: 2762 Cobb Parkway SE, Atlanta, GA 30339
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Cumberland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Atlanta Galleria Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• A great value, the Wingate by Wyndham is a highly bundled product that offers a great value for every dollar spent. • A hotel that recognizes each guest as a valued customer. • Our rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated comfortable and exudes a welcoming atmosphere. • Spacious suites offering privacy with separate living and sleeping areas. • Each room comes fully equipped with refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. • Iron, Ironing board, & safe. • Remote controlled televisions & on demand movies. • Free High - Speed Internet access in every room and suite, and Wireless internet throughout the building • Two phones with voice mail. • Free local calls. • Daily complimentary Hot Breakfast to start your day. • Complimentary USA today news paper delivered to your room every morning. • Recreational options featuring indoor swimming and hot tub and exercise room. • On site laundry facility at this location. • 24 – Hour Business center, equipped with Telephone, Computer, Fax machine and Copier. • Earn Points or Miles with Wyndham rewards. • Complimentary Shuttle service within a 3 mile radius. • Meeting facilities ideal for groups up to 160 people at this location. • Guest satisfaction guaranteed with our unconditional Assurance Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Atlanta Galleria Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Atlanta Galleria Hotel Atlanta
Wingate Atlanta Galleria Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Atlanta Galleria Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.