We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Buckhead Atlanta

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Buckhead Atlanta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Buckhead Atlanta
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3315 Peachtree Rd NE, Atlanta, GA 30326 (Buckhead)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 188 hotels in Atlanta
GreenLeadersGold level
Asheville, N.C.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

In April of this year I had opportunity to travel with friends to Atlanta for a weekend. I was looking for lodging in the Buckhead area because it was convenient to the activity we were attending. I chose the Intercontinental primarily because of its TA reviews, as well as cost and convenience. I was not disappointed.

The hotel was immaculately clean, and well appointed. The furnishings were nice, and the beds were extremely comfortable. Our room had a great view of the city, both day and night. The bathroom would have suited any five-star hotel, with a large soaking tub and a walk in tile shower. The room decor was not opulent, but was on the high side of "very nice". The front desk staff was helpful and attentive to our questions. The cleaning staff did a great job, while remaining totally unobtrusive.

The main downside was paying for parking, but in Atlanta that is to be expected. The hotel did offer optional self-park in an underground garage, and ease of access was great.

Overall, a great value for the money. Next time I travel to Atlanta I will certainly be staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room on the downtown side of the building. The view of the city is great. Also bein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKilmartin, General Manager at InterContinental Buckhead Atlanta, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hello, BilyU. Thank you for taking the time to submit such a thorough review! As a AAA Five Diamond hotel, we most definitely do not want a guest to be disappointed in any aspect of their stay, so I’m very happy to hear that you will be back to see us again when your travels bring you back to Atlanta. Maybe next time you’ll be able to try our restaurant, Southern Art, and bar, Bourbon Bar! Save travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    736
    241
    65
    40
    27
See reviews for
154
312
80
361
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I was actually staying a few minutes away at the JW Marriott, another glorious hotel in Atlanta. Our group booked diner for 7 at the restaurant in the hotel (I don't remember the name, unfortunately.) It's unique feature is a "ham bar," which looks for ll the world like a butcher shop in any large city's Italian market area. The food was inventive, exquisitely prepared and presented. Service was just a tiny bit subpar and I was surprised that they engaged in what I call "auctioning the meal," when the runners from the kitchen arrive and auction off each dinner: "Who has the crabs?" In a first-class restaurant, this is a major blunder. But all in all, we had a wonderful time and the food was excellent. We saw only the lobby area and bar in addition but we all said, "Let's book our next business event here." It looked and felt like a tropical resort.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKilmartin, General Manager at InterContinental Buckhead Atlanta, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Theprguy, thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our restaurant, Southern Art. I’m thrilled to hear you enjoyed the cuisine; after all, Chef Art Smith’s Southern cuisine is innovative, modern and fresh! I appreciate your feedback regarding your service experience and I will personally discuss this matter with our restaurant staff. I certainly hope that you’ll visit us again, whether it be a luncheon at Southern Art or your next business event at one of our many meeting spaces in the hotel! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

There is only one restaurant (small for size of hotel) and trh concierge had to use her influence to get us a table on the night we arrived. Not many places to eat nearby either- most were fully booked on Saturday night. Hotel's raison d'etre is functions and conferences.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKilmartin, General Manager at InterContinental Buckhead Atlanta, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, 4wheelsonmywagon. I am happy to hear that you found the hotel to be lovely, but I do want to apologize that Southern Art was unable to accommodate your party for dinner on the night of your stay. I hope that you give both the hotel and Southern Art another opportunity next time your travels bring you to Atlanta. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The InterContinental Buckhead never disappoints. The staff is always pleasant and helpful. Whether I'm staying on business or a family weekend getaway I can depend on this hotel for a good stay. Convenient to good restaurants and great shopping. The beds are the most comfortable ever. The Olympic drawback is paying for parking! $22 self park and $32 valet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKilmartin, General Manager at InterContinental Buckhead Atlanta, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Welcome home, Lynn M! Seriously, I cannot think of a greater compliment than a guest of ours feeling “right at home”. Thank you. Have you had a chance to dine with us at Southern Art? While we’re on the subject of “homey”, Chef Art Smith has some of the most delicious – and comfortable – reimagined Southern cuisine around. Do give it a try next time – perhaps the boneless buttermilk fried chicken? We’re looking forward to welcoming you back, [uhem] home, again soon! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice Hotel, Very Clean with courteous folks! However, have stayed at Hilton's that were just as nice. Nothing spectacular. Close to the mall. The front desk will try to talk you into an upgrade, we did it and it was not really worth it. Cocktail hour and a few snacks is what it boils down too.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKilmartin, General Manager at InterContinental Buckhead Atlanta, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review, DGMCCULL. I know that you had a handful of other hotels in the area to choose from, so we’re happy you chose us! Although not for everyone, some guests find value in the Club Level upgrade option, which includes access to the Club Lounge with an on-site Guest Relations Manager, daily Continental breakfast, light snacks, evening cocktail hour with hors d'oeuvres, as well as complimentary beverages throughout the day. I hope that you come back to Atlanta and visit with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The very moment the staff answers the phone, you WANT to stay at InterContinental. Their charisma and charm echo through the phone. "Southern charm" you say? Perhaps! They were understanding of our very special request ;) and willing to go out of their way to make it happen. They really seemed to share our excitement for the special request being granted and we are so very excited to join them on our first ever trip to ATL (and Georgia!). Will write again during/after our stay. :)

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKilmartin, General Manager at InterContinental Buckhead Atlanta, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Wow, what a kind “pre-stay review”, great03mustang! Absolutely, Southern charm is definitely a factor, but, really and truly, our staff thrives off of going that extra mile, adding that extra touch to enhance the experience of each and every one of our guests. This makes me so proud to hear that Casey was able accommodate and assist with your very special request! We’re looking forward to welcoming you to Atlanta – be sure to inquire with Richard Lara, our Chef Concierge, so that he can assist you in seeing our beautiful city. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is luxurious and upscale. It is geared for adults and business. I wouldn't bring my kids - but it was perfect for a business conference or a girl's weekend. It has great meeting facilities, an onsite restaurant / bar and is walking distance to upscale shopping and dining / bars. It is ~ 30 minutes from ATL via taxi ($50) or MARTA ($3).

Buckhead is beautiful suburb of Atlanta. It has a skyrise business district in the middle of a treed residential area.

MARTA** If you are adventuresome and want to save $$ - take the rail system. There is a terminal in the airport at the Delta baggage claim, use your credit card to buy a Breeze card and take the Red Line (North Springs) to the Buckhead stop. There will be several stops along the way - but it only takes 30 - 45 minutes total. From the Buckhead stop, walk 1 block and the Intercontinental is on your left. MARTA is safe and full of local flavor (like most public transportation). :)

Room Tip: 1522 had a beautiful view of the Atlanta skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKilmartin, General Manager at InterContinental Buckhead Atlanta, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to review our beautiful hotel, smonti. As a AAA Five Diamond property, I take great pride in hearing that you enjoyed your time with us during your stay. Indeed, Buckhead is a fabulous Atlanta district, with the perfect balance of history (tree-lined streets fronting pre-War homes) and future (ever-growing, distinct skyline). I have to agree with you; MARTA is an excellent choice for getting to and from the majority of Atlanta’s must-see attractions, on the cheap! Plus, as you mentioned, for the ultimate convenience, we’re located just steps from MARTA’s Buckhead station. Safe travels and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Buckhead Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Buckhead Atlanta

Address: 3315 Peachtree Rd NE, Atlanta, GA 30326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Buckhead
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#4 Spa Hotel in Atlanta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#10 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#13 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Buckhead Atlanta 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Buckhead sets new standards of luxury with international flair and southern elegance. A Peachtree Road address puts you close to Buckhead s thriving business and shopping districts and provides easy access to attractions such as the Georgia Aquarium, the High Museum of Art, the New World of Coca-Cola and the CNN Studio Tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Buckhead Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Buckhead Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Intercontinental Atlanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Buckhead Atlanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.